ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Ava Anderson Non-Toxic (now Pure Haven Essentials) Cosmetics, Shampoo & Personal Care Product Review.

Updated on December 10, 2016

Ava Anderson Non-Toxic

Think it's green? Think again.
Think it's green? Think again. | Source

Rate this Review

5 stars for Product

Ava Anderson Non-Toxic: Hype or Quality?

I've been a cosmetics and drug store junkie since I was a teenager. I still recall the year that I was allowed to start wearing makeup. I still recall having my small (but fair) teen-sized allowance to spend at Rite-Aid. My first purchase was a palette of brown eye shadows, black eyeliner, and mascara that my older sister showed me how to use.

Fast forward 20+ years (yeah, I'm that old!) and you'll find that I've divorced my drug-store products. Years ago I read a book called Skinny Bitch that lit a flame inside me that would continue to grow. This flame is not about being a "skinny bitch" but more about decreasing the toxin load inside of my body, by way of clean eating and an awareness that everything we put on our skin is absorbed into the bloodstream. Avoiding GMOs, obesogens, and synthetic estrogenic compounds became goal #1. Now, my goal is to share and educate, to hopefully save you some time in your quest (as I assume you wouldn't be reading this if we weren't on a similar journey!)

Some chemicals are even known to break the blood/brain barrier. Pthalates (pronounced "Thal-ates") are everywhere as I learned in the book "Slow Death by Rubber Duck."

When introduced to such information it's really important to be discerning, to do further research. It's important to read, scour the internet, and find trustworthy resources like the Environmental Working Group's Cosmetics Database where one can go to look up individual products, ingredients, etc.

The database became like a bible to me. One weekend I took every product from my daily routine - including overpriced items labeled as organic. I looked up every item and put the rating on it. The Cosmetics Database gives a 0-10 rating, zero being non-toxic and 10 being highly toxic. It also gives detailed information about the chemicals, as well as access to case studies, research and more. It's a valuable research tool, and EWG has done a fine job.

After my research, I photographed my products and blogged about it (both on HubPages and at my personal blog Natural Nutrition Guru.). I was simply outraged. Labeling lies everywhere. Toxins and harmful chemicals in nearly every product I reviewed.

Greenwashing: Products claiming to be green.

Infographic created by Maria Colomy.
Infographic created by Maria Colomy. | Source

About Ava Anderson Non-Toxic

Who is Ava Anderson? She is a passionate, intelligent, driven, young woman who, after learning about chemical toxicity in everyday products went on a mission to find safe products for her family. After much frustration and finding many labeling lies, Ava decided to create her own product line in order to provide an option to people who are tired of second guessing their "organic" products found at Whole Foods (or Trader Joes, or Publix, or Walgreens.. you get the point!) - that are often anything but!

Ava Anderson Non-Toxic is committed to creating products that rate a 0-1 on the database. Not only are her products safe - they perform. I see customer reviews on a daily basis about every Ava Anderson product. I can also tell you that since using them, I felt no hesitation divorcing my old products.

I've heard people tell stories of their asthma symptoms disappearing after one week off of their old, toxic products. I've heard stories of psoriasis symptoms disappearing after years of seeing doctors with no relief (via Ava Anderson's Non-toxic Diaper Cream!). There's a reason that Ava Anderson Non-Toxic gives its customers a guarantee on every product. If you don't like it: return it. No questions asked.

Brands like Aveeno, Neutrogena, Simple (the new brand claiming to be safe), Origins all include toxic chemicals, hormone disruptors, and estrogenic compounds that disrupt hormone cycles in the body and cause damage to blood cells, organs, and the overall health of the people who use them.

The skin is the largest organ of the body, treat it well.

Hormone Disruptors, and 80,000 other chemicals that were NEVER TESTED FOR SAFETY

Reviews from real Ava Customers

‎"Ava, I love your sunscreen. It is the only thing I put on my family. It truly is the SAFEST sunscreen on the market. Thank you for continuing to educate … and of course for making awesome products! Your impact on this world will be immeasurable ... already is!" - Christy, OH

‎"The Ava shampoo & conditioner are the FIRST thing that has ever worked on my dandruff - I have tried everything and couldn't beat it until I tried Ava. After a month of using my skin feels better, doesn't itch, and my hair is in the best shape ever! So glad I made the switch!" - Liz, NH

"Hi, my wife an Ava Consultant and I just wanted to testify and brag a little about the avaHOME cleaners. I just spent about 30 min cleaning my crossbow scope. I have had this scope for a year or more and ever since I bought it it had this sticky BLACK STUFF on it and I tried everything all kinds of over the counter cleaners to get it off. Well, my wife asked me to try Ava's all purpose cleaner ... so tonight i did and man let me tell you my scope looks and feels brand new. Thanks Baby LUV U." - Victor

Chuck Norris gets it! ... "A difficult fact to confront is that quaternium-15 (formaldehyde-releasing preservative) is not the only toxic chemical or harmful pollutant being massaged into children’s scalps today."

"I have neglected to clean the oven hood over my stove and the grease up there was SO gross, I thought 'this is going to take some elbow grease' ...Nope, just 2 sprays of avaHOME cleaner and it was gone, and it smells fresh and lovely. Years ago I would have used 100% bleach for such a thing. SO glad I don't do THAT anymore :) Thank you !" _Jeri, CA

Another HAPPY Ava customer, whose family went to Disney on Memorial Day Weekend. "my daughter is as white as a ghost and it was 92, hot and sunny. I used Ava Sunscreen on her and OMG ...... she did not get the slightest bit of a burn/tan. Didn't even get pink!!!!! That was at least 2-3 hours each day in the sun. Was totally impressed. I will continue to use it on her. My husband and I even used it :) Happy I bought 3 tubes!" Sue, MA

Okay, I'm dying to try it!

So are you dying to try it yet? Please visit www.safecleancosmetics.com for detailed product information and purchasing. but remember: Ava stands behind every purchase, and every product - and they are TRULY scrumptious.

Take a chance. Try something new. You will be absolutely stunned at the quality of the products, the size of the containers, and mostly the performance.

Ava Anderson Non-Toxic has expanded their product line to include such treats as: additional high-performance cosmetics, home care, an awesome men's line, avaBugs, and avaPets! To read a full review of every product I've tried please visit my blog: Ava Anderson Non-Toxic Review.

The information presented here is intended to make you aware of a very real issue. I hope this information encourages you to find safer personal care products. This battle can be irritating - but I can tell you now that I've discovered Ava I feel like I can stop worrying about it. I've found what works, and I'm sticking to it.

UPDATE: Oct. 2016

Ava Anderson Non-Toxic is now PureHaven Essentials.

You can find the site at the same place - and most of the product reviews and information above remains the same. Please visit their site for the most recent and thorough information.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • mecheshier profile image

      mecheshier 4 years ago

      Nice green Hub. Love the detailed history about how you started using non-toxic products. Thanks for sharing. Voted up for useful.

    • mariacolomy profile image
      Author

      Maria Colomy 4 years ago from Nashville, TN

      Thanks so much. Now that I've found Ava I feel like I can obsess just a little bit less!

    • profile image

      Sherril Johnson 4 years ago

      Nice article, but only 8 of Ava's products are actually on the Cosmetics Safety Database, http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/search.php?query=ava+a... And they're not all zeroes. AANT makes MANY more than 8 products but if you want to see how they rate you have to enter them yourself. I used to be a consultant and am finishing up the products I currently own. I am looking for a line that actually puts all of its products on the Database.

    • mariacolomy profile image
      Author

      Maria Colomy 4 years ago from Nashville, TN

      Thank you Sherril. The folks at EWG are somewhat understaffed, and are inundated with requests. As with any product that you can't find in the database, you may also put ingredients in to check them individually.

      I stand behind Ava products because Ava stands behind her products. And while she may have one product that rates as a 1 (Sunscreen) - I still find this to be a reputable company that I can trust. I've tried hundreds of organic (and so-called organic) products over the years and I find her quality to be second-to-none. I appreciate the comment. Thanks for reading.

    • mariacolomy profile image
      Author

      Maria Colomy 4 years ago from Nashville, TN

      Here's a photo of the ingredients in the shampoo, if anyone is curious :)

      https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=3649904102...

    • KristenJennA profile image

      Kristen 4 years ago

      Very nice review. Am thinking of joining Ava's team to be a distributor. I am tired of the chemicals out there and want to live simply too.

    • mariacolomy profile image
      Author

      Maria Colomy 4 years ago from Nashville, TN

      I hope you decide to join. Ava is a wonderful company, and their products are top notch. I will never go back!

      If you have any questions at all please let me know.

    • KristenJennA profile image

      Kristen 4 years ago

      Are you a consultant? Is it hard to make sales? I am involved in Vidacup Coffee right now. I also work full-time at my day job as a teacher. I have more of a passion for beauty than coffee. I am finding Vidacup to be completely a hard core sales gig which is not what I wanted. They have you pay monthly into the marketing for your site. Costing me $43 per month but so far; but I still don't see traffic to my site. I get more views by posting on Craigslist for free. For all I know, the monthly marketing could be going right into another person's bank account!! If anyone joins Vidacup--Do your own marketing. Do not pay anyone to do it for you!! This is my advice about any home business unless you have evidence from the company that you joined that they are marketing for you. I don't have that evidence. Am going to let it go one more month to be sure. Will be writing an article about this soon to inform others.

    • KristenJennA profile image

      Kristen 4 years ago

      Thanks for the comment. Interesting info.

    • mariacolomy profile image
      Author

      Maria Colomy 4 years ago from Nashville, TN

      I am a consultant. The fee is low (99) and you get more than double that in product. You need to make 300 in sales over a six month period, which for me, happened with no effort, and no parties. I share the message through a facebook page and a blog, plus here. I find it very easy to share the message, because I feel so passionately about it! If you're interested to learn more you can visit my page at www.safecleancosmetics.com (and yes, their site is free as part of your $99)

    • KristenJennA profile image

      Kristen 4 years ago

      Thanks for the specific details. I am working full time as a teacher. When my life slows down, I do want to try the opportunity.

    • profile image

      Jessica Petersen 3 years ago

      Just curious... When you become a consultant do you get a discount on the products?

    • profile image

      Leah H. 3 years ago

      I would love to do some research on this myself. If you could possibly recommend some other articles or books on the subject of daily harmful chemicals etc, I would really appreciate it. Thx

    • mariacolomy profile image
      Author

      Maria Colomy 3 years ago from Nashville, TN

      Yes, 20% - at first, that was the only reason I signed up!

    • mariacolomy profile image
      Author

      Maria Colomy 3 years ago from Nashville, TN

      try ewg - www.cosmeticsdatabase.com - you can research products and see scientific reports about research done. It's unbiased, great site!

    • profile image

      Mickey Mixon 3 years ago

      As people slowly become more aware of the harmful effects of the many toxic chemical products in our lives, they are turning to natural skin care products. Such personal care products use organic and non-toxic alternatives that are free of such potentially harmful substances such as alcohol and salicylic acid. Such natural skin products can

      produce far more effective and long-lasting effects.

    • profile image

      Stephcini 2 years ago

      Whole foods DOES have no questions asked return policy, you don't even need the receipt! You might want to change that in your post. Trader joes does as well

    • mariacolomy profile image
      Author

      Maria Colomy 2 years ago from Nashville, TN

      Great info! I will update. I appreciate the information. Thank you!

    • profile image

      Carrie 2 years ago

      Stephcini said exactly what I was going to....that whole foods does have a no questions asked guarantee. I saw in the comments that you noted this and were going to update the article but it hasn't been.

    • profile image

      Danna A Ledbetter 20 months ago

      I am a 56 year old woman that owes my mom who is suffering from Alzheimer's and dementia for waking new up to the harmful and deadly toxins that I have been ingesting and using on my body.

    • profile image

      Diane 20 months ago

      How can you be sure the products are really organic since they are not Certified Organic?

    • profile image

      Amy patrick 19 months ago

      You need to try Beautycounter. It's the only safe product on the market!!

    • profile image

      TBK 19 months ago

      I came across your page here while reviewing comments on AANT as I'm considering joining.... What is your response to Diane's question from 6wks ago? Thanks

    • profile image

      Lindsay 18 months ago

      I just became an Ava Anderson Non Toxic consultant and I have been doing some deeper research on the company and came across your blog. It truly is an amazing company that stands behind the fact that their products are toxin-free. ALL ingredients are listed for every product. I love all of the products that I have tried so far and I can't wait to share the message with others. My children are 9 and 7 and are loving the kids products as well!

    • profile image

      Jmarie 18 months ago

      Ava needs to get the organic certification. The CAN afford it. It's not redundant to get it like Reps claim. There are many small organic companies that are local with similar products that have the certification. I like there products be there are competitors out there with more products with the same ingredient s and the certification. Ava needsto step it up!

    • profile image

      Gigi 16 months ago

      Unfortunately AANT has now been proven to be just another Greenwasher. This is just a bit of the info. Many, many of their products are now being found to contain ingredients not listed and even worse, ingredients that are not Non Toxic! We can only trust Certified Organic Products!

      http://us11.campaign-archive2.com/?u=02c2be413ffa7...

    • mariacolomy profile image
      Author

      Maria Colomy 14 months ago from Nashville, TN

      Diane, that's a great question. "Certified Organic" is a qualification that is available for food products, not cosmetics. Our brand aims to use certified organic for our ingredients, whenever they're available. Ava Anderson Non-Toxic has recently been rebranded as Pure Haven Essentials - with an expanded product line, and even more organic products, you really should give them a try. www.safecleancosmetics.com

    • mariacolomy profile image
      Author

      Maria Colomy 14 months ago from Nashville, TN

      I plan to try them soon, I have a friend who is a rep - she's loved all of our products, too, but I love that they have more color cosmetics, where as Pure Haven Essentials is more skincare, home, etc. (some cosmetics, but really just the basics). Glad to hear you're having a great experience with them. What are your favorite products?

    Click to Rate This Article