ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Politics and Social Issues»
  • Africa Political & Social Issues

Counties In Kenya

Updated on March 5, 2012

After the enactment of the new constitution on the 4th of august 2010 Kenya adopted new system of county governments. The country is divided into eight administrative provinces and each of them has a number of counties. The rift valley province has the highest number of counties at 15 while the country’s capital, Nairobi has the fewest of one county.

Previously under the old constitution the country’s resources were controlled and distributed from Nairobi but what happens now is that each county will have a devolved government of its own. Each county will be headed by a governor elected by the registered voters drawn from all the constituencies that make up the county. Each of the 47 counties in Kenya will also elect a senator that represents them in the senate that is to be based in Nairobi. Each of the constituencies that make up the counties will also elect a member of parliament (mp) to the country’s national assembly.

In this article I will list the 47 counties in Kenya grouped in terms of the province they are situated.

North eastern province counties

  1. Wajir County
  2. Garissa County
  3. Mandera county

Central province counties

  1. Kiambu county
  2. Kirinyaga county
  3. Muranga county
  4. Nyandarua county
  5. Nyeri county

Rift valley province counties

  1. Baringo county
  2. Bomet county
  3. Elgeyo Marakwet county
  4. Kericho county
  5. Laikipia county
  6. Nakuru county
  7. Samburu county
  8. Turkana county
  9. Nandi county
  10. Narok county
  11. Uasin Gishu county
  12. Marsabit county
  13. West pokot county
  14. Trans Nzoia county
  15. Kajiado county

Western province counties

  1. Busia county
  2. Vihiga county
  3. Bungoma county
  4. Kakamega county

Eastern province counties

  1. Embu county
  2. Isiolo county
  3. Machakos county
  4. Makueni county
  5. Marsabit county
  6. Meru county
  7. Tharaka Nithi county
  8. Kitui county

Coast province counties

  1. Kilifi county
  2. Kwale county
  3. Lamu county
  4. Mombasa county
  5. Taita Taveta county

Nyanza province counties

  1. Homa Bay county
  2. Kisumu county
  3. Siaya county
  4. Kisii county
  5. Migori county
  6. Nyamira county

Nairobi province counties

  1. Nairobi county


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Kip 4 years ago

      Marsabit in Rift Valley?????

    • profile image

      Aggrey 4 years ago

      Tana River county?

    • profile image 6 years ago


      47 Counties sounds good: Let's remember, We are one county First.