ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Economies: Their similarities and Differences Australia and India

Updated on September 30, 2015

Australia political system is founded on a liberal democratic tradition which guarantees religious tolerance , freedom of speech and association. It is very similar to the Westminister system used in Great Britain and also reflects the North America’s political system. The Commonwealth of Australia which was created on January 1, 1901 by the unison of the six states of Australia is the current framework responsible for the Australian system of government. The Australia Constitution which is a set of valuable documents set out the rules and responsibilities of government and outlines the powers of its three branches which are legislative, executive and judicial. The legislative branch consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate which basically make laws. Next, is the executive branch of government who administers the laws made by the legislative branch and its role include appointing ministers and ambassadors. Lastly, the judicial branch allows for the establishment of the country’s courts of law and the appointment and removal of judges. Australia is also known as a constitutional monarchy, meaning that the queen or king of a country or anyone who is head of state powers are limited by a constitution in which Australia’s constitution can only be changed by a referendum. (A general vote or election) Australia operates as a two party system where voting is compulsory to Australian citizens aged 18 and over.

Unlike Australia whom the Prime Minister is in charge, the head of state in India is the President. Also, in Australia, federal elections are held at least every three years while India general elections are every five years. India’s lower house (Lok Sabha) is modelled on the British House of Commons but its federal system of government follows Australia. While Australia’s legislative branch consists of the House of Representatives and senate, India’s comprises of the lower house (Lok Sabha) and the upper house (Rajya Sabha). The two house both share legislative powers except when it comes to money where the Lower house have the upper hand. Similarly, India has a legislative, executive and judicial branch like Australia. The executive branch of India is led by the President while the head of the government is the Prime Minister who is appointed by the President on nomination of the majority from the Lower House. Subsequently, ministers are appointed by the President by recommendations of the Prime Minister and these ministers comprise of the Council of Ministers. In the judicial branch of India, the Supreme Court is the highest judicial authority in civil, criminal and constitutional cases. The Court consists of 26 judges whom serve only till the age of 65 unlike the High Court in Australia where the judges are prolonged to 70 years. Voting is not compulsory in India and is only done so at people will. Overall, after comparing the two different political structures, politics in India is much rougher and much more corrupt. However despite all its problems India manages to remain a vibrant and functional democracy just like Australia.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.