ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

If America Had Remained British: A Timeline - 1880 to 1890

Updated on May 31, 2009

1880: Borneo, Brunei, Hong Kong / Macao, and Egypt are brought into the British American orbit as Collaborative Nations. Singapore is named the capital of British South Asia. Mexican Emperor Maximilian I launches a massive invasion of the Arizona and New Mexico territories, repeating the attempt from almost eight decades earlier to cut the United States Of America in two. His plan calls for Salt Lake City to be taken and used as a logistical hub to take military control of all the territory to the north as far as central British Columbia.

1881: Mexican forces have seized all the territory between Fort Yuma in California and Fort Stockton in Texas. Their control extends as far north as Fort Boise in Idaho, and Fort Laramie in Wyoming. Maximilian shrewdly offers most of the area surrounding the Great Salt Lake to the Mormon community as the fully autonomous nation of Deseret. At the signing ceremony in Salt Lake City, Brigham Young, Jr. declares Mormon loyalty to the British Crown and shoots the Emperor. Federation forces move swiftly to isolate the Mexican invasion force and steadily retake the southern flank of the invading army's territory, starting from Fort Stockton. The Mexicans make one last desperate stand to keep from being sealed off at the Battle of Fort Apache, but their invasion collapses. The Prisoners of War are housed in a massive prison camp in the Manitoba Territory, where most do not survive the first winter.

1882: The Mexican army in tatters, Federation forces push south, annexing the Mexican states of Coahuila, Chihuahua, Sonora and Baja California. The British Americans also manage to take Tamaulipas, but cannot eradicate the Mexicans from Nuevo Leon, which remains a stronghold from which countless guerilla attacks are launched against the Federation forces for the next two years.

1884: The Berlin Conference establishes the permanent boundaries of various disputed nations around the world. Mexico cedes Nuevo Leon as part of the treaty of peace which ends the Mexican American War. The Federation returns the Basque country, Gibraltar and the Channel Islands to Spain and France. Italy is granted the eastern Adriatic coastline all the way south to Ragusa (Dubrovnik), which it names the province of Dalmatia. British Honduras is extended to encompass San Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras. Gran Colombia is given Costa Rica, leaving Nicaragua as the only autonomous, non British nation between the Yucatan and Brazil. However, some unresolved questions remain, such as Germany's refusal to return Alsace-Lorraine, and Austria's steadfast control of Slavic Zagreb.

1885: The Seoul Massacre escalates the 100 Year Asian War to envelop Korea as Russian forces based in Vladivostok invade Hokkaido. Singapore falls to the Chinese navy. The Federation allies itself with the Russians to hem in Japan and China, keeping them fighting with each other and limit spillover into Russian and British territories.

1886: The British navy retakes Singapore, but the retreating Chinese burn it to the ground. The Russians fortify Hokkaido and take all Korean territory as far south as Pyongyang. Siam (Thailand) and Annam (Vietnam) ally themselves with the British and declare war on China. The Philippines fall to the Japanese, but they are retaken by the Federation in a move north which also establishes British control of Formosa.

1887: To celebrate Queen Victoria's Golden Jubilee more than a dozen cities throughout the Federation are renamed Victoria (causing a fair amount of future confusion). At the Treaty Of Fiume (Rijeka), Austria gains much of Croatia, Serbia, Kosovo, and Montenegro. Albania is granted to Italy, while northern Macedonia is given to Greece. A short lived rebellion from the French-speaking western half of Hispaniola Island is swiftly crushed by the British Americans. Annam annexes China's Hainan Island.

1888: The borders of South Asia solidify. The Russians have gained firm command of the Sino-Russian border and also control Hokkaido and northern Korea. Bordering China, the British have the Philippines, Formosa, and a swath of the coastal mainland from Hong Kong / Macao north to Amoy. On their southern land borders, the Chinese are hemmed in by British India, Nepal and Burma, and by British allied Siam and Annam. Thus surrounded, China and Japan turn their entire military attention to each other. Shanghai and Nagasaki are burned. Thousands of sailors and dozens of battleships from both sides are lost in the Battle Of Quelpaert (Cheju / Jeju) Island. Wilhelm II is named emperor of Germany and he announces that his goal is to unify Europe against the threat of British hegemony.

1889: With military and financial support from Germany, Italy invades Ethiopia and Somalia.

Continued in
If America Had Remained British: A Timeline - 1890 to 1920

Read The Entire Timeline From 1773 to Today

If America Had Remained British: A Timeline - 1773 to 1785
If America Had Remained British: A Timeline - 1785 to 1800
If America Had Remained British: A Timeline - 1800 to 1825
If America Had Remained British: A Timeline - 1825 to 1850
If America Had Remained British: A Timeline - 1850 to 1880
If America Had Remained British: A Timeline - 1880 to 1890
If America Had Remained British: A Timeline - 1890 to 1920
If America Had Remained British: A Timeline - 1920 to 1950
If America Had Remained British: A Timeline - 1950 to 1975
If America Had Remained British: A Timeline - 1975 to Today


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.