ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The government of the Dominican Republic

Updated on May 2, 2016

The government of the Dominican Republic

The government of the Dominican Republic takes place within a framework of a representative democracy, by which the President of the Dominican Republic is both head of state and head of government and a multiparty system. The executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in the two chambers of the National Congress, which consists of two legislative chambers: the Senate, which is the body of territorial representation, has 32 seats, one for each of the thirty-one provinces and one representing National District; and the Chamber of Deputies, with 178 seats. The judiciary is independent of the executive and legislative branches.
Congressional, municipal and presidential elections are held every four years, although, according to the transitory provision twelfth of the Constitution of 2010, at the end of unifying the elections in one day (because previously the presidential were separated from other for a period of two years), elected municipal and legislative authorities in 2010 remain in office extraordinarily until 2016.
Under constitutional reforms set out after the 1994 elections, the 16 members of the Supreme Court are appointed by the National Judicial Council, made pursuant to Article 178 of the Constitution. The Supreme Court, whose functions are set out in Article 154 of the Constitution, has exclusive jurisdiction over criminal proceedings against the President of the Republic, members of his cabinet and lawmakers and to describe the use of Cassation on jurisdictional decisions or ultimately only.

The government of the Dominican Republic



    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.