ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Extraordinary Uses For Ordinary Things

Updated on September 9, 2014

Best book ever - delivers promised: 2,317 ways to save money and time!

When I first stumbled upon this book, I was trying to remove mould stains from my baby's push-chair (I was crazy enough to put it into an old, unused refrigerator - like it's going to be in dry place there - what a mistake!!!). I heard lots of advices and tried lots of them but they didn't work. Then one of my friends said she has this book and that it would be good to look inside for something else.

And I found a tip that worked for me! I used borax!

I read this book from cover to cover in three days and couldn't believe the ways of cleverly using common things. I heard of some and used some in past, those that my mother, grandmother or friends passed on to me, but there were so many tips I didn't know of!

So, after about a month I returned my friend her copy of book and bought my own. I realized that I'm using it so often that it's worth buying!

This book promises 2,317 ways to save money and time by using products you already have in your household but don't know what they can be used for.

It's time to find out!

Really worth every dime! - This book contains household, gardening, DIY, outdoors and many other ideas and tips.

Extraordinary Uses for Ordinary Things: 2,317 Ways to Save Money and Time
Extraordinary Uses for Ordinary Things: 2,317 Ways to Save Money and Time

This book delivers promised! I was amazed that there were so many products that I could use for a whole host of purposes, including bread, dental floss, mayonnaise, oatmeal, sandpaper, and straws.

On of uses of vinegar: To clean your microwave, place a glass bowl filled with 1/4 cup vinegar in 1 cup water inside, and zap the mixture for five minutes on the highest setting. Once the liquid cools, dip a cloth into it and wipe off stains and splatters.

What an idea. What a book!

 

Did you know?

Reader's Digest description of this book:

Did you know that a kiddy drink can clean your dishwasher? Or that ketchup can make your silver sparkle? Or that a banana peel could double as a shoeshine? With a bow to our resourceful forebears, this ingenious book that's anything but ordinary shows you how to uncap the "secret powers" of dozens of everyday items. From that jar of petroleum jelly to a roll of aluminum foil, that tube of toothpaste to a carton of milk.

Did you know that bread slice can be used to remove greasy stains of the wall?

This would make a very interesting gift for anyone. It isn't just cleaning tips but there are beauty tips, solutions for burned foods, organizing and first aid advice. This book is like a "jack of trades" when it comes to truly ordinary items.

More exceptional uses for common, everyday items! - Hardcover copy of this remarkable book

Did you know that tea can hide gray hair? Or that aspirin can revive a dead car battery? How about the power of table salt to make panty hose last longer? Or that shaving cream can remove rug stains?

Yes, there's a treasure trove hidden in your pantry, medicine cabinet, garage, and basement. This remarkable book shares amazing secrets to save you time, money and shelf space in the process.

Extraordinary Uses for Ordinary Things: 2, 209 Ways to Save Money and Time
Extraordinary Uses for Ordinary Things: 2, 209 Ways to Save Money and Time

Fully illustrated and written in a clear, down-to-earth style, this practical guide contains over 2,300 handy tips about using more than 200 common household items like aluminum foil and dental floss in exciting new ways. Don't spend your hard-earned money on expensive storebought products.

 

What people that bought this book said?

Costumer reviews!

'This book is fantastic. I saved probably $50 and have only had it a month... instead of painter's Blue Tape alone saved me a lot of money.'

'This is an excellent book for those (like me) who are rather unimaginative when it comes to making/fixing/cleaning things. I was quite impressed with many of the ideas.'

'You know, I paid $30.00 for this book and I have absolutely no regrets. There are so many useful tips in that book. I have read and re-read this book several times. I always refer back to it for something because I forget what to use for certain issues. Good thing they have that glossary in the back. Just look it up and you'll be directed to the page.'

'My favorite tip, as a gardener:

Instead of buying miniature greenhouse kits to start plants, use rolls from toilet paper, paper towels, gift wrap, and other items. Cut them down to size, fill with dirt and when you're ready to plant, simply cut down the sides and put the whole thing in the ground. Simple and inexpensive.'

'I never thought I would enjoy this book as much as I have been. It is 400 pages of fun facts with all those things you would find in your home and all the normal problems you would run in to. For example, onions remove rust stains from silverware, use bananas as a face mask, nail polish to remove warts, vinegar for carpet stains and to defrost windshields, beer and salt to make windows frosty for the Christmas holidays, use a vacuum nozzle with a pair of pantyhose to find that valuable object on the floor without sucking it up, etc.. I love this book! =)'

I recommend it because:

I think it's worth the money spent on it!

I already saved more money then I paid for this book by cleverly using a common household items!

Books I found useful in organizing/cleaning household - Solving many everyday problems and saving money in process.

This is some of the books I can say that helped me in different problems solving. If you can recommend some more, go ahead and make a contribution.

I accept all of it! Critique, comments, kind words, etc. Just don't say nothing!

Have something to say? - Go ahead...

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • kjbranch77 profile image

      kjbranch77 6 years ago

      great ideas!

    • achraf lm profile image

      achraf lm 6 years ago

      great tips! thanks

    • Enigmaa8 profile image

      Enigmaa8 7 years ago

      Another great lens with sum useful tips that every household should know about. Will keep me eyes peeled for more lenses like this one.

    • EditPhotos profile image

      Edit Photos 7 years ago from Earth

      Another great lens and a great example of the "explore related pages" which led me here. Thanks for all you have done to inspire so many lensmasters! (signed with the security word - uberbug)

    • profile image

      Shashmy 7 years ago

      wow...this is really works...its awesome...squidoo u guys are great..=)

    • OhMe profile image

      Nancy Tate Hellams 7 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      Thanks for letting me know about this book. I need to keep a copy of Extraordinary Uses of Ordinary Things handy at all times. Great review.

    • mysticmama lm profile image

      Bambi Watson 7 years ago

      Awesome book review!

      Blessed!

    • JoyfulPamela2 profile image

      JoyfulPamela2 8 years ago from Pennsylvania, USA

      Awesome ~ this looks like such a helpful book. Thanks for recommending it!

    • Kiwisoutback profile image

      Kiwisoutback 8 years ago from Massachusetts

      Looks like a useful book that I might pick up. I'm sure it would come in handy on many occasions. Nice work Willow! Squid Angel blessed.

    • profile image

      caribvox 8 years ago

      I am looking around the squid for money saving ideas. This lens seems to be highly recommended. Everyone like to save money, and now is a good time to start.

    • profile image

      anonymous 8 years ago

      Educational and helpful. Thanks for the great ideas, your rock.

    • Ramkitten2000 profile image

      Deb Kingsbury 8 years ago from Flagstaff, Arizona

      I love this kinda stuff! My problem is, I never remember any of it. So that book is sounding good. Not to mention the tips in that plexo. I'm favoriting this one. What a handy reference. Thanks!

    • profile image

      anonymous 8 years ago

      wow this is great.. definitely a book i'l look into.

    • greenerme profile image

      greenerme 8 years ago

      Sounds like an interesting book! I might pick this one up soon. I'm lensrolling it to my "Go Green, Live Rich" lens. Welcome to the Million Ways to Go Green group!

    • profile image

      Oosquid 8 years ago

      Very interesting lens. Tea to hide the gray? I just might try that one ;0) 5 stars.

    • naturegirl7s profile image

      Yvonne L. B. 9 years ago from Covington, LA

      Welcome to the Naturally Native Squids group. Don't forget to add your lens links to the appropriate plexos and vote for them.

    • packetlog profile image

      packetlog 9 years ago

      thanks for this pointer.

    • LaraineRoses profile image

      Laraine Sims 9 years ago from Lake Country, B.C.

      Thanks for visiting my lens. I've enjoyed reading your lens. 5 stars, fan, favorite and for sure lensrolled this lens to my 'Out Damned Spot' lens.

    • profile image

      richard_wheeler 9 years ago

      I agree with Aquariann 5 star lens! I have heard in commercials people can use household materials in other ways as well. They can also use fruits, vegetables, and meats to help cure his or her sickness as well. Lemons and oranges can also be used to clean bathrooms-toilets, and the floors. They both have powerful oils and acids in them to clean dirty things with. I know I used to work as an custodian. You can use apples to freshen air with.

    • profile image

      Alban 9 years ago

      Your lenses are amazingly well designed. Well done.

    • RaintreeAnnie profile image

      RaintreeAnnie 9 years ago from UK

      Thankyou for the great info here, looks a very useful book. 5 stars!

    • aquariann profile image

      aquariann 9 years ago

      Wow! Neat, 5 star lens! It shares quite a few interesting tips that I certainly had never heard of. I may have to check that book out.

    • naturegirl7s profile image

      Yvonne L. B. 9 years ago from Covington, LA

      I'm going to have to check this book out. It looks like it has lots of great ideas.

    • beeobrien lm profile image

      beeobrien lm 9 years ago

      Looks like a fun and useful book. And I love to tell people that I used ***** to polish my shoes....and watch their reactions.

    • profile image

      youhavegottobekidding 9 years ago

      Wow this is really a Well Researched Lens. I was really amazed in the part where you said that banana peels could be use as a shoe shine. I can't wait to try it tonight.

      5 stars for you Very Helpful Lens.

    • profile image

      Joan4 9 years ago

      What a great book! Super lens, too!

    • profile image

      sparkyfun 9 years ago

      nice tips in this lens. I think i have to get this book. thanks for this nice topic. :D

    • Megal LM profile image

      Megal LM 9 years ago

      Looks like something my parents would like. Might be an interesting read.

      PS: Why waste kool-aid like that?

    • kerbev profile image

      kab 9 years ago from Upstate, NY

      Kool-Aid cleans the toilet well.

    • evelynsaenz1 profile image

      Evelyn Saenz 9 years ago from Royalton

      What a great use for Coca-cola! I love pouring it down the drain.

    • profile image

      julieannbrady 9 years ago

      I love practical books such as this one. I wonder what the most extraordinary use is ... ah, I'll need to get the book to find out. 5*****

    • TonyPayne profile image

      Tony Payne 9 years ago from Southampton, UK

      Cool lens, useful tips. Sometimes the old remedies work best and they are a lot cheaper too. 5*****

    • MargoPArrowsmith profile image

      MargoPArrowsmith 9 years ago

      You've sold me! Great product, great lens 5*

    • thisnthat2 lm profile image

      thisnthat2 lm 9 years ago

      This is an incredible lens! I love the one about tea and gray hair... 5*'s for you!

    • profile image

      beachbum_gabby 9 years ago

      wow~ another lesson learned. Thanks for the ideas and knowledge! 5*

    • TheInfamous7 profile image

      TheInfamous7 9 years ago

      Superb Book! Excellent Lens..

    • RuthCoffee profile image

      RuthCoffee 9 years ago

      Sounds like a very useful and interesting book. Need to add it to my list!

    • profile image

      TwoBrightHeads 9 years ago

      I can use some of the tips here. Thank You.

      big bright head

    • Lou165 profile image

      Lou165 9 years ago from Australia

      Great lens, I'm always amazed at what things work to remove stains. I do have a great little stain book, but I must look at that one too.

      Only last week my friend's 2 year old took a biro to a piece of wooden furniture, we looked it up and tried a non-acetone nail polish remover - it came up like new!!

    • GypsyOwl profile image

      Deb Bryan 9 years ago from Chico California

      5* Thank you for letting me know about this lens! It is awesome. I am lensrollin' you back. FAV. Yes! This is an extraordinary resource and I am so glad you have shared more about it here. Great job!

    • profile image

      dok 9 years ago

      I DO love tips re extraordinary uses for ordinary things...and the more natural the better! Good lens/good info.

    • religions7 profile image

      religions7 9 years ago

      Great tip :)

    • GypsyPirate LM profile image

      GypsyPirate LM 9 years ago

      Thanks for bringing this book to my attention - I hadn't heard of it, and now I'm pretty sure I can't live without it. Nicely done!

    • thisnthat2 lm profile image

      thisnthat2 lm 9 years ago

      Oh, my gosh! I just started to learn how to garden and I love your gardening tip. Thanks!

    • profile image

      richgerman 9 years ago

      nice lens... if we know the other uses of ordinary things we may know that this ordinary things has extraordinary uses... that's right, before i thought online is just for reading, communicating until i found out that in here you can earn too... its my Favorite.5stars

    • profile image

      enslavedbyfaeries 9 years ago

      Great lens! I am always interested about learning new and useful tips for saving money and re-using household items instead of tossing them in the trash.

    • Mihaela Vrban profile image
      Author

      Mihaela Vrban 9 years ago from Croatia

      The_Homeopath, when you get it, I expect a comment on it - are you satisfied and is it helpful. I plan on putting some more tips but haven't come to it yet!

    • The Homeopath profile image

      The Homeopath 9 years ago

      You've convinced me to buy it! What are some of the other tips that you've found useful personally?

    • Webcodes LM profile image

      Webcodes LM 9 years ago

      I'll gotta try some of these tips. My shoes need shining and I've got some banana peels. 5*.

    • ElizabethJeanAl profile image

      ElizabethJeanAl 9 years ago

      I'm always looking for simple things to do simple and not so simple jobs.

      Great lens!

      5* and favored

      Lizzy

    • TreasuresBrenda profile image

      Treasures By Brenda 9 years ago from Canada

      Interesting. I know there are a lot of similar books out there but having someone recommend one is great!

      Brenda

    • profile image

      InspiredWritingResearch 9 years ago

      Good book, good idea, good lens! Faved. I will pop back to check when one of the kids ruins something!

    • profile image

      Zee7 9 years ago

      wow this is great, i'd like to have one for myself and for one of my best friends who's getting married soon! I hope it's available in one of the bookstores here (im from the philippines). thanks for sharing this book with us!