ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Unpopular Opinion that Being Married is Actually as Awesome as Being Single

Updated on September 1, 2015

It’s a popular trend these days to debunk “traditional” lifestyles. People who are married before the age of thirty are chastised. It’s highly recommended to remain single throughout your twenties. There are even numerous articles explaining why people should embrace the single lifestyle. Having children is often seen as “selling out”. Those of us who bring life into the world are laughed at because we aren’t out traveling or embarking on some wild adventure. Or furthering our careers in the way society deems appropriate.

We see pictures like this:

And are told we can't be free if we tie ourselves to another human being.

As much as I believe that remaining single as long as you damn well please is incredibly important, I also believe society is giving marriage at a young an unfair shot. And, as much as I agree that no one should have children unless they truly want to be parents, I also believe that society is making parent life seem much less glamorous than it actually is.

I mean, if you look closely...

...this is actually pretty fabulous, too. (And not just because it's a picture of me and my daughter.)

Seeing as how there are so many people out there arguing for remaining single and childless, I thought I would spend a little time playing devil’s advocate and give a few reasons why the traditional, boring, “family life” is actually 100% equal to that single life everyone seems to hold in such high esteem.

Being married gives you a permanent #mcm or #wcw

Putting aside the fact that we all love hashtags (even if we won't admit it), it's just so nice to always know who your man/woman crush will be. No more terrible first dates. No more horrible kisses. Just the love of your life. It's forever. It's permanent. And it is amazing.

You always have someone around to hold your hair while you vomit into the toilet after a rough night out… And they’ll still love you in the morning.

I know I know, you guys are thinking, "I have friends for that," but tell the truth...we've all been silently (or not silently) judged by certain members of our friend groups when we got a little too shwasty face. Your spouse won't do that. They will hold your hair back. Kiss your forehead. Then tell you in the morning how disgusting you were with a smile on their face and the dooey gaze of love in their eyes.

Marriage puts an end to the search for sex. You want sex? Just roll over and the best sex you’ve ever had is laying right next to you.

Do I really need to explain this one?

Any awkward situations or obligatory events come with a built in buffer.

Even better than using your significant other as a buffer between you and those family members/friends you don't really like is using them as an excuse to miss the party entirely. "Oh, I'm so sorry I can't make it, so and so isn't feeling well." Works like a charm. It's even better when you have a kid to blame. No one questions the baby excuse.

Two incomes = twice the money

Again, does this need an explanation?

Having children is one of the most exciting adventures there is.

Everyone seems to be under the impression that the exciting moments in life stop when you become a parent. I can't explain how completely untrue that is. Traveling was so much fun before I had a baby, but now I look forward to all the places I'm going to take her. I have a list of cities and countries I want her to see one day. The idea of showing these things to her is already more exciting than I thought it would be.

Also, if you think adventures stop once you bring a baby into this world you have obviously never dealt with a blow out in the middle of checking out at the store on the one day you forgot to bring an extra onesie. Talk about adventure...

But seriously, the first time my child wrapped her hand around my finger and smiled at me was one of the most exhilarating and amazing moments of my life.

Imparting life lessons onto a little mini-you makes you feel like a total badass.

All of those stupid things you did in college are now stories. Every crazy, ridiculous, spontaneous moment is fuel on the fire that is your children's opinion of you. My daughter is an infant, so I haven't reached this point yet, but I have an 11 year old sister. It's amazing to watch her face light up when I impart some sort of wisdom onto her. Followed by an example from my own life. It sounds simple, but kids really do think you're a rockstar in those moments. It's great.

Being able to keep a human alive also makes you feel like a total badass.

Before I had my daughter my diet consisted of marshmallow puff and booze. Seriously, it feels like yesterday I was downing glass after glass of scotch in between cigarettes and now I'm caring for a living, breathing baby. And the crazy part is that she's totally healthy. She even smiles from time to time. And that's all because of me. Me.

Nothing can propel you headfirst into chasing your dreams like the desire to be able to tell your children you never gave up.

It's so easy to say "I have time" when you're only thinking of yourself, but when you have a tiny person there with you every day it's hard to forget all the little things you wish you could put off. And it's impossible to not have your life long dream shoved in your face when you look into those tiny little eyes and think, How am I supposed to teach him/her to dream when I keep giving up on my own? There is nothing more motivating or inspirational than the one person who believes you hang the moon.

Babies are really damn cute.

This one also speaks for itself.



It’s true that living your life with no one to answer to can be amazingly liberating. I wouldn’t dare suggest that it’s in any way better to be married with children. BUT it is equally amazing, so let’s all stop giving this “traditional” lifestyle a bad rap and start embracing whatever it is we want to do for ourselves. Fly to your own beat, little butterflies.

Why Babies are Awesome

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      2 years ago from Shelton

      what a wonderful hub .. the truth about being married..hmm enjoyed the read

    • Elyse Harper profile image

      Elyse Harper 

      2 years ago from Waukee, IA

      It does seem that marriage has gotten a bit of a bad rap in recent years. I believe that that is in part due to people having unrealistic expectations of marriage when they enter into it. Therefore, instead of enjoying "every day miracles", spouses are wondering why their life doesn't resemble a rom-com.

    • emilybee profile image

      emilybee 

      2 years ago

      Agreed! :D

    • Readmikenow profile image

      Readmikenow 

      2 years ago

      I've been married a few decades and it works for me. I have a friend who is older than me and never married. It wouldn't work for him. I suppose the main thing is to value being married and find someone who feels the same way. I don't know what works for anyone in a relationship, I just know what works for me. It's the same with marriage. I think my advice only works for me.

    • Paul Edmondson profile image

      Paul Edmondson 

      2 years ago from Burlingame, CA

      I got married at 23 and one advantage I had was I didn't spend time trying to find someone. For me, it was a huge time saver getting married early. Btw, still married:)

    • KaylaTaylor profile imageAUTHOR

      Kayla M Haranda 

      2 years ago from Houston, Texas

      I couldn't agree more

    • dashingscorpio profile image

      dashingscorpio 

      2 years ago

      I believe marriage status has nothing to do with one's happiness.

      There will always be single people who wish they were married and married people who wish they were single. Having what you want makes you happy.

      In the U.S. approximately 85-90% people get married at least once. Oftentimes people have been married multiple times which proves they haven't given up on the idea of it. They're willing to try, try, and try again!

      Ultimately happiness comes from knowing what it is (you) want out of life and living (your) dream. Life is a (personal) journey!:)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)