Ms Dee profile image 89

Do we really respect someone when we disagree with their different opinion?


God has made us all, but do we really respect them when we disagree and do not appreciate their opinion?

 

sort by best latest

profile image0

Best Answer Larry Wall says

You can help the HubPages community highlight top quality content by ranking this answer up or down.

5 years ago
 |  Comment
  • Ms Dee profile image

    Deidre Shelden (Ms Dee) 5 years ago

    You say so many good things here, Larry! I too often find wanting online 'respectful disagreement'. I too wonder how different it would be were it in person, face to face, rather than only in writing.

cat on a soapbox profile image96

Catherine Tally (cat on a soapbox) says

You can help the HubPages community highlight top quality content by ranking this answer up or down.

5 years ago
 |  Comment
  • Ms Dee profile image

    Deidre Shelden (Ms Dee) 5 years ago

    Great point, soapbox cat! Respect does not have to be dictated by what the other's opinion is.

CreatePerfection profile image80

CreatePerfection says

You can help the HubPages community highlight top quality content by ranking this answer up or down.

5 years ago
 |  Comment
  • Ms Dee profile image

    Deidre Shelden (Ms Dee) 5 years ago

    Good examples of some important points; behavior reflects moral commitments and agreeable opinions not lived out in one's behavior. Good point that two can respectfully agree to disagree--allowing the disagreement.

Logos831 profile image59

Logos831 says

You can help the HubPages community highlight top quality content by ranking this answer up or down.

5 years ago
 |  Comment
  • Ms Dee profile image

    Deidre Shelden (Ms Dee) 5 years ago

    Logos, it is so true that it takes careful listening and a seeking to accurately understand the opinion of another before responding. Interacting online adds to the difficulty of doing this, it seems, but so true, it is a way that would show respect.

lburmaster profile image82

lburmaster says

You can help the HubPages community highlight top quality content by ranking this answer up or down.

5 years ago
 |  Comment
  • Ms Dee profile image

    Deidre Shelden (Ms Dee) 5 years ago

    I believe so, too. We can be respectful of the other as a person and their right to their own opinion, but not agree with their opinion (or beliefs) and/or actions.