ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Religion and Philosophy»
  • Buddhism

Buddha Statues Mudras – Meanings of five different types of Dhyani Buddha Mudras

Updated on May 12, 2010

Five Dhyani Buddha Statues

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Vairochana Dhyani BuddhaAkshobhya Dhyani BuddhaRatnasambhava Dhayani BuddhaAmitabha Dhyani Buddha Amoghasiddhi Dhyani Buddha
Vairochana Dhyani Buddha
Vairochana Dhyani Buddha
Akshobhya Dhyani Buddha
Akshobhya Dhyani Buddha
Ratnasambhava Dhayani Buddha
Ratnasambhava Dhayani Buddha
Amitabha Dhyani Buddha
Amitabha Dhyani Buddha
Amoghasiddhi Dhyani Buddha
Amoghasiddhi Dhyani Buddha

Dhyani Buddha Mudras

Mudra, the Sanskrit word usually denotes a hand gestures and finger postures that are used in Buddhism. Such mudras are associated with the images of Buddhas and Bodhisattvas to represent different teachings and philosophy of Buddhism.

A statue or painting of buddha always illustrates Mudra. Among hundreds of mudras, the five transcendental Buddha’s also called "Dhyani Buddhas" or "Pancha Buddhas"  bear the most important mudras.

Five Mudras of Dhyani Buddhas and their meanings are as follows:

Dharmachakra Mudra - Vairochana:  Vairochana is regarded as the first Dhyani Buddha in Nepalese-Tibetan Buddhism. He represents the cosmic element of Rupa (form). His two hands are held against the chest with the tips of the thumbs and forefingers of each hand united. This mudra is called Dharmachakra Mudra which is the gesture of Teaching. Literally, Dharma means “Law” and Chakra means wheel and usually interpreted turning the Wheel of Law. It is also gesture of hands exhibited by Lord Buddha while preaching his first sermon at Sarnath.

Bhumisparsa mudra - Akshobhya: Akshobhya is regarded as the second Dhyani Buddha in Nepalese/Tibetan Buddhism. He represents the primodal cosmic element of Vijnana (consiouness). Buddha Akshobhya can be seen sometimes riding on an elephant symbolizing the steadfast nature of his Bodhisattva vows. His right hand displays the Bhumisparsa (earth-touching) mudra. This hand gesture is linked with the life of Shakyamuni Buddha. When Shakyamuni Buddha was on the verge of ultimate Enlightenment, he has to face both internal and external Maras. It is believed that Devaputra Mara questioned him on the validity of his attainment of Enlightenment and his perfection of Paramita. At that time, his only witness was the earth. Buddha Shakyamuni asked mother earth to bear witness to his attainment of Enlightenment. To indicate this, he touched the earth with his right hand as witness to his perfection. This gesture, called “touching the earth” (Bhumisparsa Mudra), became Buddha Akshobhya's Mudra.

Varada Mudra - Ratna Sambhava: Ratna Sambhava is regarded as the third Dhyani Buddha in order. He represents the cosmic element of vedana (sensation). His recognition symbol is the jewel and he exhibits the Varada Mudra. His right hand lies open near his right knee. His left hand is seen holding an alms bowl. In Sanskrit, Varada means 'granting a boon'. The gesture shows the right palm turned towards the receiver of boons, with the fingers pointed downwards.

Dhyana Mudra - Amitabha Buddha: Amitabha Buddha is the most ancient Buddha among the Dhyani Buddhas. He is said to reside in the Sukhabati heaven in peaceful meditation. He is seated in a meditating position. This Mudra is called 'Dhyanamudra'. His palms are joined together with the right on the left, two thumb fingers touching each other. An alms bowl is between his two palms. Here the meditating hand gesture represents the unity of wisdom and compassion.

Abhaya Mudra  - Amoghsiddhi :  Amoghsiddhi is the fifth Dhyani Buddha in order. He represents cosmic element of Samskar (Conformation). His left hand lies open on the lap and the right exhibits the Abhaya Mudra. The gesture of fearlessness and protection, usually shown as the left hand with palm turned outward and all fingers extended upwards. The symbolic meaning of the dispelling fear pose is an interpretation of the action of preaching. It is said that one gains fearlessness by following the Bodhisattva path.

Besides these major mudras there are hundreds of other mudras. Click on the following link if you want to know more details or find relevant buddha statues.

Online source for all things related to buddha statues


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      nandani 2 years ago

      Lovely description fact to dhyan and mudra and pancha buddha too

    • profile image

      dayu alit 3 years ago

      Thank you, with photo and very clear information it is informative.

    • profile image

      sadique sultan 5 years ago

      thanks for this very informative and clear article. keep on doing fine work. god bless you.

    • SidKemp profile image

      Sid Kemp 5 years ago from Boca Raton, Florida (near Miami and Palm Beach)

      Thanks very much. Voted up and interesting. It is noteworthy that dhyan- refers to a particular type of deep, silent meditation, and is pronounced Zen in Japan. Also, mudras are not only for statues. We can practice these mudras during meditation to receive the qualities of these Buddhas. And mudras are used in Hindu yoga practice, as well.

      The photos are great!

    • profile image

      dorjee tso 5 years ago

      thanks very much for clear introduction, about five dhyani buddha .

    • profile image

      Dr Kabindra Bajracharya 6 years ago

      Thanks for brief introduction on five mediatative Buddha

    • andydurling profile image

      andydurling 7 years ago from East Sussex, UK

      A very nice, concise, readable summary. Nice clear photos. Thanks.

    • Craig M profile image

      Craig M 7 years ago

      What a wonderfully informative description. I have some awareness of these five buddhas, but have not heard these descriptions of the mudras before. Thanks for this nice information!