ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Religion and Philosophy»
  • The Role of Religion in History & Society

Feet of Clay on Solid Ground, Book Review

Updated on December 23, 2017
PegCole17 profile image

Peg Cole is a self-published author who writes true and fiction stories and book reviews, along with nostalgia and how-to articles.

United Methodist Church, Indiana

Source

Resignation

Former National Council of Churches President, James Armstrong resigned his post as Bishop over North and South Dakota on December 31, 1983. The sudden, unexpected move away from his leadership position caught many of his peers and congregation by surprise. In his book, he details the circumstances and events leading up to the decision.

Feet of Clay on Solid Ground, James Armstrong
Feet of Clay on Solid Ground, James Armstrong

Reflections

If we are to learn anything from our past we must examine our actions and reflect on those things we did well and upon those areas where we could have done better. The memoirs of former Bishop James Armstrong reflect upon the life struggles of the youngest man elected to the office of United Methodist Bishops. At age forty-three, he was once called “the most influential religious leader in the United States.” (Christian Century)

In his book, Feet of Clay on Solid Ground, Dr. Armstrong takes the reader on a journey that travels the back roads of decisions leading him first into the ministry and later to preside over the largest Methodist church in the state of Indiana where he ministered to a congregation of three thousand-three hundred (3,300) members during the late fifties and early sixties. His triumphs in the racially explosive era of the birth of Civil Rights, his participation in the Paris Peace Talks of the sixties and his contributions as mediator in the American Indian Movement in the seventies speak to the nature of his social and community involvement.

By Nyttend (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
By Nyttend (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

James Armstrong was born into an ecumenical family, the son of a minister, whose influence as a non-stereotypical preacher set the stage for a life of less than traditional performance from someone behind a pulpit. He preached sermons that were captivating, motivating and often controversial making frequent reference to racial issues, politics, First Amendment rights and civil liberties. He was a friend of politicians like Senator George McGovern, hosting the senator’s pre-Presidential candidacy debut soiree at then Bishop Armstrong’s winter home in Florida.

He speaks of his early messiah complex and his belief that “God had set (him) apart for special tasks” a feeling that many new ministers experience. He details his tribulations as a husband and father of five young children and his angst that pulled him in opposite directions: his dedication to minister to the masses while failing to “offer compassion, accountability and other-centered love to those closest to him.”

Sweet Surrender

As the Drama Unfolded

"I met (her) shortly after we arrived in Indianapolis. I had received her into the church baptized her baby, counseled with her during a bad marriage, a divorce and a series of later crises..."

"She was youthful and vivacious."

Dallas Morning News

James Armstrong . . . resigned as president of the National Council of Churches and as a United Methodist Bishop, Dec. 31, 1983
James Armstrong . . . resigned as president of the National Council of Churches and as a United Methodist Bishop, Dec. 31, 1983

During his Indianapolis ministry at the Broadway Methodist Church in the volatile days of the nineteen sixties, Dr. Armstrong was seen as controversial, although pastoral, digressing from the Lectionary to preach such topics as “In the Shadows Unafraid”, “For Those Who Try Too Hard,” and “On Being Fair To Ourselves.”

Over ten years, in a climate of racial unrest, he grew the Broadway Church to unprecedented numbers, while incorporating the dichotomy of a transitory neighborhood population now ninety percent (90%) African-American. Rather than abandon the membership in a tide of change, he embraced the evolving population of the neighborhood, welcoming African-Americans into the fold of this once all white congregation.

Bronson United Methodist Church

By Ebyabe (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
By Ebyabe (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

In 1968, he was elected to the episcopacy "during a decade of the civil rights movement, protest against an evil war in southeast Asia, the 'new politics' and the 'greening of America'". He was confident that in 'normal times' a more conventional type of minister would be elected.

News columnists pointed to his ministry as one who "uses the pulpit to speak of politics," who speaks "freely of current controversial issues" and one who "pridefully assists in placing African Americans on the official board and commissions of the church."

"The Reverend A. James Armstrong, who did all of these things as the senior minister of the Broadway United Methodist Church, has been elected a Bishop at age forty-three."

He served from 1968 to 1983 in that capacity before resigning.

It is one thing to botch up one's life as the world looks on. It is another thing to adjust to the consequences."

— Chapter VI, Page 85

The National Council of Churches (NCC) is seen as the nation's most influential ecumenical group. The meeting in San Francisco May 9-13, 1983, was to address issues after coming under under bitter attack from New Right fundamentalists and others for allegedly aiding worldwide revolutionary causes. The flames of controversy crackled under the leadership of then President, James Armstrong.

Dr. James Armstrong

Pictured here in 1969, James Armstrong, officiating at a wedding in Florida.
Pictured here in 1969, James Armstrong, officiating at a wedding in Florida. | Source

Consequences

Within the pages of this autobiography, James Armstrong recollects the early struggles he faced both financially and as a parent and husband.

He tells the story of his fall from the “crest of a wave of public recognition” that culminated in his surprising resignation from his Bishopric realm and from his Presidency of the National Council of Churches.

He talks about "stepping over the line" and the consequences that ensued when "integrity and credibility are rightly called into question."

City Methodist Church. main hall, Gary, Indiana, by Peter Fitzgerald
City Methodist Church. main hall, Gary, Indiana, by Peter Fitzgerald | Source

From his years of service on the National Council of Churches and his reign as the youngest and most activist Methodist Bishop, in this book, the reverend divulges the path that led him spiraling downward to his ultimate fall from grace, revealing his depth of loss, regret, sorrow, divorce and the new life that ultimately sprung from his experiences.

this man’s story is detailed in this detailed one hundred twenty-three page book in a way that keeps the reader captivated, entranced and astounded to discover the frailties and pitfalls of leadership in the church.

I first heard Jim Armstrong more than forty years ago and believe he has been one of the most effective preachers of our time."

— US Senator (retired) George McGovern

Just As I Am - Willie Nelson

I have never second-guessed my decision to resign. It was called for. ... My mind was a welter of conflicting emotions."

— James Armstrong, Page 75

Living and Dying with Purpose and Grace

James Armstrong is a professor of Ethics and Philosophy at Rollins College in Florida, continuing his lifelong pursuit of the dissemination of knowledge. He is a retired Christian minister with a graduate studies background and serves with the South Florida Center for Theological studies. He remains a revered figure and highly sought after speaker.

© 2011 Peg Cole

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Thanks for coming by to read this, Dianna. Dr. Armstrong remains an active, politically vibrant and influential person even into his nineties. I'm proud to know him.

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 6 months ago

      Thanks for the information on this amazing pastor. He was dedicated to helping others and stood his ground to become a role model of the faith.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 6 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello Mulberry1 - Thanks for stopping by to comment.

      Hi jderb52 - I've been looking on Google to find book review guidelines and found a good one. I'll add a capsule with a link in case you want to take a look. A few universities have sites with general guidelines and formats to use. I don't know of any requirement to get permission from the author to review a book or movie. Thanks for stopping in and good luck with your writing. Peg

    • jderb52 profile image

      jderb52 6 years ago from Oklahoma

      Peg, I am a fellow (not really, I'm female--so would it be fellowESS????) hubber and I was also wanting to do an article which is basically a book review. Do I need to get permission from the author or publisher? As long as I give credit where it is due, is it necessary to obtain permission before doing a review? Thanks!

    • mulberry1 profile image

      Christine Mulberry 7 years ago

      This does sound like an interesting read. You've certainly made me curious about what happens.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 7 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Jaspal, What a pleasure to see you once again! Thank you for dropping by and for the comments - Hope you find the book. I've put a link to Amazon in the text if you don't see it at the library. Cheers.

    • Jaspal profile image

      Jaspal 7 years ago from New Delhi, India

      Nice review of the book and a very interesting write up of the author, Dr James Armstrong. I had not heard about him - he is obviously not that well known here in India. But if I see the book in a book shop or the library, I am definitely going to pick it up.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 7 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Lynn, Your comment really struck home. We are all human and have frailties. Thanks for taking time to come by.

      A.A. Zavala, You are welcome and thank you for the comment.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 7 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      James, It's always nice to see you here. I hoped you would stop in to read about this great man. Your comments are much appreciated.

      BobbiRant, The library is a great source for books like this one. Hope you find a copy.

    • A.A. Zavala profile image

      Augustine A Zavala 7 years ago from Texas

      Thank you for the review, I will definitely check it out. Thanks you for sharing.

    • BobbiRant profile image

      BobbiRant 7 years ago from New York

      I've never read this book but I guess I will check it out of the local library now. If it's an e-book, I can download it, I will definitely have to check.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 7 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Thank you Mckbirdbks, so are you. Smiles your way.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 7 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Sunnie Day, You are so right about the frailties of people in leadership positions who are expected to maintain lives without any flaws or displays of weakness. I would hesitate to shine a bright spotlight on my own life, packed full of poor choices and mistakes.

      It is comforting to know this great man accepted responsibility for his actions and later persevered to continue in the ministry to which he dedicated so much of his life.

      Thank you for stopping in to read and for your kind comments.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 7 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      My friend, Lynda, Perhaps the shock value is diminished by the frequency with which we see great people fall from our expectations of their perfection. Thank you so much for your nice compliments on this book review. I'm honored.

    • profile image

      Lynn S. Murphy 7 years ago

      I enjoyed the article and it's a stark reminder that we are human with all the frailties that come with it.

    • James A Watkins profile image

      James A Watkins 7 years ago from Chicago

      Thank you for this great article about a great man. I enjoyed reading it very much. As a side note, my baby sister graduated from Rollins College. :D

    • mckbirdbks profile image

      mckbirdbks 7 years ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Well put together and informative. Thank you.

      Voted Up as always.

    • profile image

      Sunnie Day 7 years ago

      Dear Peg,

      Thank you Peg. Does sound like an interesting book. Not surprising of the frailties within church leadership. They are held in higher esteem than others, so when they fall hard..They fall hard!..Public scrutiny beyond belief. Fall from grace but restored..sounds like a good read.Thank you for a great breakdown on this book.

      Sunnie

    • lmmartin profile image

      lmmartin 7 years ago from Alberta and Florida

      Sounds like a fascinating read, though I doubt I'd be shocked as I see the churches of the world every bit as political as any other organization. Thanks for bringing this to my attention. I'll look for it. (You do such a good job!) Lynda

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)