ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Horoscope Review: AskNow.com, Most Pathetic Phone Psychic Reading Ever

Updated on July 14, 2017
SylviaSky profile image

Sylvia Sky, M.A., is a widely published author of books and articles about astrology and occult and spiritual matters.

No Thanks

Source

Fake Psychic Sylvia Browne Was a Co-Founder

After checking AskNow.com's list of psychics -- among them Sapphira, Selena, Starlight Rose, Shamana, the usual unlikely names -- and learning that their normal rates for phone or chat were $5.99 or $6.99 per minute, I phoned. The young customer service rep proudly told me that the co-founder of AskNow was the famous psychic Sylvia Browne. "She used to be on The Montel Williams Show," the rep said.

I was shocked. America's most disgraceful fake psychic, Sylvia Browne, owned the business and they brag about it? Browne's other network, SpiritNow.com, discreetly didn't mention Browne all until after she was safely dead. I listened as the rep recommended for me two of their 250 psychics, Miss Wanda and Psychic Master Nunu. The fee was 10 minutes for $70, or, for first-timers like me, a special: 20 minutes for $40, charged every month, with a one-time today-only deal for 20 more free minutes. That was $1 a minute. I said I wanted the free 5-minute reading that AskNow.com advertises, and persisted while the rep tried three more times to hard-sell me the $40 special. At last she put 5 free minutes in my account, warning that every extra minute cost $6.99 and that I might kick myself later. Give that girl a raise.

When I called their extensions Miss Wanda and Master Psychic Nunu were already occupied, although I could request a callback. Fearing how much a callback might cost, I listened to a recorded list of available psychics and selected the psychic Tarot reader “Miss Madison” at $5.99 a minute. Just before we connected, a taped voice reminded me, "For entertainment purposes only. You must be 18 years old."

Obviously reading from a script, the smoky-voiced woman told me she had “pre-shuffled” and cut the cards, face down, and told me to pick pile 1, 2 or 3. I chose, and she began to talk about how I do everything for everyone and yet no one has done much for me. This is untrue. I interrupted to ask, "What card are you reading?"

Instantly she got defensive and said that one card can have many meanings based on its placement. I said I just wanted to know which card. Without telling me, she said she never reads just one card; she felt the vibration of all the cards at once. She added, although I didn't ask, that she didn't do her readings by the book or use the classic Celtic layout, that she had her own card layout. I said, please continue reading. She launched into a spiel about how I always plan to save money but never manage to save even half of what I planned (who does?).

I got tired of her smokehouse voice -- so much like Sylvia Browne's! -- as she rattled on, probably unscripted (word for word):

"I do feel," she said, "that, well, you've gone through an awful lot of changes it seems, and opportunities, and there’s a lot more changes yet to happen, yet to take place. I feel you’ve changed a lot within the last — oh, I'm going to overestimate — I'd say within the last year. Oh, a little bit more than that. Well, I say a lot more has been brought to your attention in the last six months, give or take. I still feel that even though a lot of those changes, some of them, have done you some good, I still feel that a lot of them have also managed to confuse you. But I feel that your planets are coming back into alignment, therefore changes are being made. And you have quite a few of those changes happening and taking place --" [I hung up.].

I couldn't stand to listen for five minutes, even for free!

© 2012 SylviaSky

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • SylviaSky profile imageAUTHOR

    SylviaSky 

    2 years ago from USA

    Don't get so excited, Misty. The link is simply outdated; it was correct at the time I wrote the article, in 2012. I will update the information.

  • profile image

    Misty 

    2 years ago

    Your article above is a LIE. You say above that " AskNow.com is accredited by the Better Business Bureau, having resolved 42 consumer complaints reported to the BBB. The Bureau, however, noticed a pattern of complaints related to billing, 17 of them within the last 12 months, and requested that AskNow.com explain them. AskNow hasn't answered"

    I FOLLOWED THE LINK, THEY ARE NOT EVEN ACCREDITED WITH THE BBB! Why are you making up lies?!

  • SylviaSky profile imageAUTHOR

    SylviaSky 

    3 years ago from USA

    LisaC, I quoted the customer-service rep, who did not say "owner" but "co-founder." The rep might have been lying or ordered to lie. However, links can be made between AskNow.com and SpiritNow.com (the psychic service openly run by, and still celebrating, the late Sylvia Browne). For example, all ads on SpiritNow.com link to AskNow.com.

  • profile image

    LisaC 

    3 years ago

    What a crock of crap. Sylvia Sky says she is an astrologer? What are her credentials? I don't know a single accredited university that offers a degree in astrology. Sylvia Sky (I'm sure that is her real name...since she commented on the names of the psychics in her article) I just checked with AskNow and they said that at no time were they EVER owned by Silvia Brown. (A journalist should check his/her facts...shame on you!)

  • SylviaSky profile imageAUTHOR

    SylviaSky 

    5 years ago from USA

    The question then becomes, why did AskNow.com, which supposedly tests their psychics, hire a jokester psychic in the first place?

  • profile image

    truethat 

    5 years ago

    Hi Sylvia-

    I was looking up Psychic Nunu to get a reading from her and I noticed this article. I decided to check it out. Obviously, with your background you do know that there are bad apples who ruin it for the others. I suggest getting a reading from Nunu and see what you think. She really is a good!!!

    I don't think you can discount all the people working on the site bc you had a jokester give you a reading. I would love to read a follow-up to this story after a reading from Psychic Nunu. Take Care

  • SylviaSky profile imageAUTHOR

    SylviaSky 

    5 years ago from USA

    Dear Precy: If you buy online readings understanding they are for entertainment, that is wise, and it is good to stop before you spend more than $10. If you want a genuine reading you most likely will find it by meeting an astrologer or Tarot reader in person. To find a real one in your area, ask at your local health food store, occult-supply store, day spa, yoga place, or any older women you know. Most of us have had readings done.

  • precy anza profile image

    precy anza 

    5 years ago from USA

    There are times I do browse around psychic sites, but weary to try such sites. But then.... I don't know what got into me and I tried some on Ebay, I thought for fun, a dream interpretation and a tarot reading. But then, tarot reading didn't came true, not sure about the dream interpretation I got. Thanks for the AskNow review.

  • karthikkash profile image

    Karthik Kashyap 

    5 years ago from India

    thanks a lot :)

  • SylviaSky profile imageAUTHOR

    SylviaSky 

    5 years ago from USA

    Karthkikkash, Yes. The list I've compiled of fake psychics is at https://hubpages.com/religion-philosophy/Which-Psy...

  • karthikkash profile image

    Karthik Kashyap 

    5 years ago from India

    Sylvia, is there any of your hub which lists down the top fake psychics out there?

    - Thanks

  • DREAM ON profile image

    DREAM ON 

    5 years ago

    Thanx for the tip.I will have to just find one locally worth every penny.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)