ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Horoscope Review: SpiritNow.com Psychic Hotline, "Guaranteed Accurate"

Updated on July 26, 2017
SylviaSky profile image

Sylvia Sky, M.A., is a widely published author of books and articles about astrology and occult and spiritual matters.

Browne in her final year made around $3 million. She'd predicted she'd die at 88, but she was 77.
Browne in her final year made around $3 million. She'd predicted she'd die at 88, but she was 77.

Worst U.S. Psychic Hid Her Name for Good Reason

Negative reviews of the late Sylvia Browne, media psychic and convict, span the Internet and she was notorious for false psychic readings, so while she was alive her online business venture SpiritNow.com wisely did not mention her. Now that she's dead the homepage features her name and photo, but the main illustration on the homepage is still a cheesy gypsy with a glowing crystal ball. Because of Browne's bad reputation and the YouTube video of her most disastrous reading, I couldn't resist the offer of a free 5-minute psychic reading for first-timers. So I entered my question, email address and birthdate, hoping for 5 minutes of fun.

The input generated a 1-888 phone number and an activation code for my free phone reading "with an amazing psychic who will answer your question honestly." It added, "As seen on Fox TV," and everybody knows what a fountain of truth and honesty Fox TV is! So I called.

Before I got to speak with anyone, the SpiritNow answering machine required me to "press 1" to agree to the Terms and Conditions posted on the website. You should always read Terms and Conditions, but to save you reading 5500 words of thorny legalese, I will summarize: You must agree never to bring a class-action lawsuit against SpiritNow's parent company Preston Media; must agree that the readings are for entertainment only and if you take the reading seriously, Preston Media is not responsible for what happens; and any comments you make on the site's blog or forums are theirs forever and so is their right to identify you.

After this I was not so eager to call again, but I called, pressed 1, and after 12 recorded "sorry to keep you waiting" cycles, the service rep answered. Before connecting me with a psychic he spent 7 minutes presenting me with reasons why this was not a con, never once mentioning the famous Sylvia Browne. He said SpiritNow employs 250 psychics, all thoroughly tested. "We guarantee you'll get an accurate reading," were his actual words. He added that SpiritNow is accredited by the Better Business Bureau. Unfortunately that is untrue, as it is not in the Bureau's database and its parent company Preston Media is unrated.

Dig Her Manicure

Browne performing at the Route 66 Casino.
Browne performing at the Route 66 Casino. | Source

My Free Five-Minute Reading

I'd sent my question via the Web so I thought the service rep would have it already, but he made me repeat it and then gave me the extension for Patsy, a "third-generation psychic" and "clairvoyant channel" who could contact my spirit guide. If Patsy's extension was busy, I should try Maria Christina, a very "down-to-earth" and honest psychic who was "not going to sugarcoat anything." Both are 5-star psychics with many satisfied clients, he said.

I said I was ready for my free 5-minute reading. He said I could get it, but if I was "like most people" I would want to listen beyond the 5-minute signal, and each minute after that cost a whopping $6.99. "That could really add up," he said, and did the math: 20 minutes at $6.99 is $140. But as a special offer he could knock off $100 and I'd get a 20-minute reading for only $40. I said I wanted my promised free 5-minute reading.

Then the wicket got sticky. He said I must give my credit-card information in case I wanted to listen beyond the 5 free minutes. I replied that I fully intended to hang up at the 5-minute mark. He said I couldn't have the 5 minutes unless I first gave my credit-card information. Because only shady businesses offer a freebie and then try to coerce the customer into giving credit-card information for something she doesn't want or intend to buy, I finally said, "Thanks, but no thanks," and hung up.

Eleven minutes had gone by...and no free reading! For my efforts, all I got was Browne's weekly horoscope in my email and two identical "free psychic Tarot readings" although I had entered two different birth dates. Since 1974, Browne, a U.S. resident who died in 2013, had carved for herself a dark niche in the Hall of Shame, telling parents their missing children were dead when they weren't, or doing appalling "readings" as Las Vegas and cruise line stage entertainment. The spirit of her business SpiritNow.com is just as unsavory.

Sylvia Sky, experienced astrologer, monitors online horoscope and psychic sites for quality and accuracy. See her review of Psychic Power Network. Copyright 2013 by Sylvia Sky. Sylvia does not select or endorse the ads appearing on her pages.

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • SylviaSky profile imageAUTHOR

    SylviaSky 

    3 years ago from USA

    Here's what I found: Montel Williams said on a radio show in Washington D.C., "I’ve said it clearly on my show a million times, I don’t believe in psychics. You know, I happen to believe that, that for, for whatever reason, this woman [Sylvia Browne] has a little bit more intuition than most people I know."

    But -- and probably more important -- his show received "50,000 to 60,000 more phone calls" on the days Sylvia Browne was his guest.

  • SylviaSky profile imageAUTHOR

    SylviaSky 

    3 years ago from USA

    Eliza, that's a very good question and I think I'll locate Montel Williams and ask him.

  • profile image

    ELIZA 

    3 years ago

    WHY DID MONTEL WILLIAMS SWEAR BY SYLVIA BROWN

  • profile image

    Remy red 

    4 years ago

    This is totally not worth it I winded up with a charge for 120 dollars being in the negative with my bank account for information my 7 seven year old could've provided never again these was things I already knew nothing specific more like counseling very bad choice

  • profile image

    Lorie 

    5 years ago

    spirit Now, and your complaint department apparently don't talk. No correction on weekly horoscopes for Gemini and Cancer are still the same, happened last week with the daily forecast. Guess that proves it's all bunk anyway.

  • profile image

    Amy M. 

    6 years ago

    Watch out for BIG-TIME SCAMMERS/FRAUDS in Texas, namely Dallas......this so-called psychic Wanna-B's business is "Ann Newman & Associates" in Dallas on mockingbird lane. My mother-in-law was scammed for thousands of dollars as these dispicable vultures scared her into believing our family was jinxed and we needed to spend some big money to rid ourselves of dark family evil spirits that had been around for many generations. What a crock of bull this woman was. Please save your money and stay away from those psychic vultures. Good luck!

  • profile image

    Monica 

    6 years ago

    Slyvia Browne has been operating a scam for years in California. I once paid for a reading With her in person. When I got there she was "unavoidably detained " and her son did the reading instead. Not good!

  • SylviaSky profile imageAUTHOR

    SylviaSky 

    6 years ago from USA

    Dear Sweetsndimples: I wrote an article just for you, about how to get refunds from psychic scammers: http://sylviasky.hubpages.com/hub/Get-Refunds-from... If you live in the USA, call and make a report to your state Attorney General's office.

  • profile image

    sweetsndimples 

    6 years ago

    Unfortunately, I've fallen victim to the scam and now I'm having to fight with them and my bank over $300.00 in charges!!! If anyone has advice please help me.

  • Lilleyth profile image

    Suzanne Sheffield 

    6 years ago from Mid-Atlantic

    The first time I saw Sylvia Browne on television I "knew" she was a fake and could not believe people were taking her seriously. Come on Montel. Really?

  • profile image

    Eve 

    6 years ago

    Follow your heart. Do not give up your OWN POWER to anyone. Do not listen to others voice. You have your own voice to listen to. Each one of us has our own truth and has our own path to walk. Sylvia (the author) is walking her path but does not mean that everything she says is true or not true, or right or wrong. You are the only one that can tell if the information laid out to you is right or wrong FOR YOU. Use your own discernment and intuition, do not listen to what other people are saying. Listen to your heart to find YOUR TRUTH. Namaste

  • profile image

    Nikki 

    6 years ago

    Every bit of what you are sharing is soooo TRUE! I did the same thing before having the chance to read your article. There is always a catch.

  • Kelly Renee profile image

    Kelly Renee 

    7 years ago from Texas

    Thanks for all your reviews. They're really informative and you are quite funny! Sylvia Browne has always rubbed me the wrong way, and knowing she's a part of this scam doesn't help my opinion of her.

  • Jean Bakula profile image

    Jean Bakula 

    7 years ago from New Jersey

    Hi Sylvia,

    I know you wrote this in all seriousness to help people not get scammed, but I was laughing about some of the stuff they said. When I personally read tarot for people, I'm not even sure if I'm accurate. I read it as I see it, and hope for the best. Don't you have to say it's "for entertainment only?" I know sometimes you can get needy people with lots of issues, and they keep bugging you for readings, to try to make decisions in their life. If somebody is too immature to make their own choices, and instead goes against their instincts because of a tarot or astrology reading, it's not the fault of the reader. Readers have to distance themselves to a certain degree, or customers like I spoke about above get like leeches.

  • HattieMattieMae profile image

    HattieMattieMae 

    7 years ago from Limburg, Netherlands

    hmm... well interesting, but I would never call one of those lines anyway. Most of them are scams, and how do you know they aren't using her name and stuff without her permission. :)

  • MsDora profile image

    Dora Weithers 

    7 years ago from The Caribbean

    Good article with good information. It is clear that the "free" readings are not meant to be free. And why would "accurate readings" be for "entertainment only?" Seems like people are paying for lies. Thanks for the eye opener.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)