ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Religion and Philosophy»
  • Hinduism

The 7 Major Chakras and Their Associated Emotions

Updated on November 14, 2017

This article will be discussing the emotions associated with each of the seven major chakras. There are three "lower" chakras, that are associated with our lower natures and basic animal instincts. There are also three higher chakras, associated with our intellect and things of a spiritual nature. The fourth chakra, which is in the center, balances the lower with the upper. The higher you go, the more you begin to deal with more complex emotions. I have ordered the chakras from the lowest to the highest.


This is the first and lowest chakra. It is commonly known as the base or root chakra.

It is associated with survival, and basic instincts that go along with survival needs.

Fear is the most common emotion associated with the root chakra. The reptilian part of our brains have only one emotion, and this is fear. It stems from the fight or flight response. This is an animal, reptilian emotion, based on survival needs. It may seem negative, but it is a necessary aspect of survival. Our fear response kicks in, and we immediately decide whether to engage with the enemy, or run away. If there was no fear, no animal would survive for long.


The second chakra is also known as the sacral chakra. It concerns sexual desire and reproduction. It is also one of the lower chakras.

The emotion I most associate with the sacral chakra is sensual pleasure. That is, pleasure from all of the five senses. Pleasure at this level is a base or instinctual emotion.

The pleasure you get from the taste of chocolate, a warm blanket, the smell of food cooking, these are all sensual pleasures. They draw us towards what is "good" on an instinctual level. It is the basis of reproduction when it involves sexual pleasure, and a necessary one for the sake of survival of any species.


The third chakra is also known as the solar plexus chakra. The last of the lower chakras, the solar plexus is the seat of our will, intention and personal power.

On the positive side, our personal power and will can invoke a sense of self-esteem. On the negative side, this can easily turn into greed if you aren't careful. All chakras have both a positive and negative side. It is how we use them that matters. The goal is to channel your emotions for higher purposes. Otherwise you will be stuck with negative emotions, with negative consequences for yourself and others.


The fourth and middle chakra is the heart chakra. It is neither an upper or lower chakra, it combines and balances the two.

Involving personal relationships, the heart chakra is associated with the emotions love and compassion. It is the last chakra to open, as you can't reach your full potential spiritually until and unless the upper and lower are balanced.

Only then can you be ruled by love and compassion, the highest state of emotion. Then you will truly put others before yourself.


The fifth chakra is known as the throat chakra. The fifth chakra is the first of the upper, spiritual chakras.

The throat chakra is associated with language, the voice, inner truth and the expression of that inner truth. The emotion associated with this is courage. Voicing your truth takes courage. Standing up for what is right can be a dangerous thing. This is a major step in spiritual growth, which is why it is concerned with the upper chakras.


The Ajna chakra is also known as the "third eye" chakra, and it is located on the forehead between the eyes.

This is the chakra that deals with intuition, or senses beyond the normal perceptions. You are beginning to realize you are connected to others,and the universe. You start to get a sense of responsibility beyond your own being. The Ajna chakra is also the seat of the emotion of trust.


The seventh and highest chakra is also known as the crown chakra. It is located at the top of the head, at the fontanel.

The crown chakra is the chakra of enlightenment. When it is opened, you can feel a state of spiritual bliss. You reach a state of higher consciousness. This is where wisdom is found. There is a sense of sacredness at this level.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Blond Logic profile image

      Mary Wickison 4 months ago from Brazil

      This is a clear and concise list of them. I had heard of the chakras before but never really understood them. Very useful.