ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Religion and Philosophy»
  • Astrology & Metaphysics

The Basics of Astrological Compatibility: Part 1

Updated on May 31, 2013
Interlaced Hearts  3
Interlaced Hearts 3 | Source
Astrological signs by J. D. Mylius
Astrological signs by J. D. Mylius | Source

When people think of Astrology compatibility comes up a lot. Do a quick Google search and stroll the page down until you see Searches related to astrology, and the terms, “astrology compatibility” and “astrology matches” comes up. So it’s pretty popular topic within the study of Astrology. Compatibility in Astrology is a loaded and controversial topic with a lot of things to consider. A lot of people think of love and relationships in terms of chance meetings, common interests and values, and proximity.

Yes this is all true but what if there is a hidden force at play, a pattern or logic behind all this. Astrology at first glance and especially to skeptics doesn’t seem to fit into that dynamic belief. Some people think using Astrology to figure out relationships is incredibility limiting and ridiculous. But what if it isn’t? You see what I’m driving at (the title gives it away too). Isn’t it worth taking a look at and see for yourself. Here’s your chance to take a look at some of the basics of what to look for and consider in compatibility and astrology. This is Part 1 of a three part series titled: The Basics of Astrological Compatibility.

 Birth of Venus by Noël-Nicolas Coypel
Birth of Venus by Noël-Nicolas Coypel | Source
Zodiac Wheel
Zodiac Wheel | Source

A Word on Zodiac Signs

Zodiac Signs or simply Sun Signs is the first basic step into looking at and comparing astrological compatibility. There are twelve sun signs, which are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. Within these twelve signs are then divided into elements, qualities, opposites, and masculine or feminine energy. For this article I will be talking about Elements and Qualities and comparing these factors into compatibility. Opposites and masculine and feminine energy will be saved for The Basics of Astrological Compatibility Part 2.

Four Elements in Astrology
Four Elements in Astrology | Source


There four elements in astrology, the elements are fire, earth, air, and water. The fire element represents passion and energy, the earth element represents practicality and stability, the water element is about emotion and receptivity, and the air element represent communication and intellect. The fire element contains the zodiac signs of Aries, Leo and Sagittarius. The earth element contains the zodiac signs of Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn. The air element contains the zodiac signs of Gemini, Libra and Aquarius. The water element contains the zodiac signs of Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces.

In compatibility elements offer the most basic and easiest approach to figuring out compatibility and love and relationship connections. Fire signs go well with other Fire Signs, Air signs go well with other Air Signs, Water goes well with other Water signs and Earth signs go well with other Earth signs. This is the case because they share the same essential nature and element. They also understand each other and their fundamental personality and character because they are similar. This connection is easy and not forced or challenging, it’s quite natural.

Four Elements
Four Elements | Source


The signs are then broken down into qualities, qualities representing the position of each signs in relation to the zodiac wheel and cycle as a whole. Qualities present the position each sign plays in the zodiac wheel and how they keep it going.

There are three qualities are Cardinal, fixed and Mutable in that order. Cardinal quality represents the start of the zodiac cycle and traits include boldness, and being known to initiate things and get things rolling. The Fixed quality represents perseverance and stability. The Mutable quality represents the end of the zodiac cycle and traits include adaptability and flexibility.

Cardinal quality signs are the self starters of the zodiac, fixed quality signs are there to implement and finish the tasks and goals cardinal signs started but didn’t finish and mutable signs are there to clean up, improve and replace systems and goals that don’t work anymore. The Cardinal quality signs are Aries, Libra, Capricorn and Cancer. The Fixed quality signs are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius. The Mutable quality signs are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces.

Qualities are like different meats, an example of kinds of meats is chicken, beef, turkey and duck. All these meats are different because they come from different animals but they are also alike because they are meat. In compatibility qualities offer much more options because they are not limited like in the case of elements. Qualities contain all four of the elements in its group.

An example will be the Mutable quality which contains the signs: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces, Gemini is air, Virgo is earth, Sagittarius is fire and Pisces is water. This quality represents and includes all four elements of astrology. This compatibility is less easy going and natural as the element compatibility but they can get along because they all share very similar positions within the zodiac wheel.

 Venere Anadiomene by Arnold Böcklin
Venere Anadiomene by Arnold Böcklin | Source

Here I just covered the Elements and Qualities of the Zodiac and how they fit into compatibility. I hope this was informative and helpful. If you have any questions comment below. Stay tuned for Part 2 of my series, “The Basics of Astrological Compatibility.”


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.