ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Religion and Philosophy»
  • Astrology & Metaphysics

Understanding the Grand Cross / Square (Astrology)

Updated on February 25, 2012

Whereas having a Grand Trine in your natal chart indicates an area that will prove very easy for you master (with some effort), the Grand Cross / Grand Square indicates an area or areas that will prove challenging, and probably very much so. I happen to have both of these aspects in my chart, which is somewhat bittersweet, I have to say. If you've got a grand cross, you'll have it in one of three ways: Cardinal, Fixed, or Mutable, depending on which signs it is placed in. It's possible to have these challenges in one area, but given that there are four signs, it's also possible to have them in four areas at once! But fear not, if you step up to the plate and face your challenges head-on, you can overcome all of them. Remember, you are never given more than you can handle.


Cardinal Grand Cross

This is the one I've got in my own chart. What that means, is that the signs you cross is placed in, are the cardinal astrological signs -- Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn. One of the biggest issues with this particular grand cross is that the cardinal energy behind it drives the individual to try to take on everything at the same exact time, which can lead to spreading oneself too thin. This could result in something akin to chasing one's tail round and round, and not really getting the set goals accomplished. Those with this grand cross have got to learn to master organization skills and learn to pace themselves and prioritize things in an order that can be accomplished more easily.

Fixed Grand Cross

This grand square is made up of the signs at the end of each season. That means Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius. One of the biggest challenges for this aspect is the individual's issues with self. Lack of self-confidence or self-esteem can really get in the way of accomplishing tasks of both a personal and work nature. Those with this placement will really need to push themselves forward until the wheels are properly greased and inertia takes over, and once that happens, the ride will be far smoother. As will future trips down nearby paths. The skills are there, they just need to be focused properly.

Mutable Grand Cross

The mutable grand cross includes the signs right smack in the middle. They include Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces. One of the main challenges for this sign, is to face them directly and not sidestep them, as sidestepping them doesn't get rid of them, and those issues will only come full circle at a later date -- possibly after having snowballed considerably in size! Concerns, worries, fears, etc must be dealt with and expressed in order for help to be extended to those with this aspect in their chart. If they cannot communicate their needs, no one will ever know they are in need of assistance. Communication is key!


Submit a Comment

No comments yet.