ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

You're Entitled to Your Opinion

Updated on December 12, 2010

You know when people say you are entitled to your own opinion but what they really mean is you are entitled to their opinion.  I am probably guilty of this as well.  Today I was having a conversation with someone who I  have known for about 4 years about the abortion stand.  I have to say I am totally against abortion even in rape situations.  Why? Bluntly I think it is murder and rape being a horrible thing I know actually first hand, yet who gives us the right to do away with a human life.  Anyway while I was talking with this person I said the all too common words, " You are entitled to your opinion", I really meant I will keep talking until you see my point. I clearly explained that I think adoption is a better option. 

My point is people including myself don't like when people don't agree with them.  It is human nature.  Usually if I don't agree with someone about a major topic it means I am not like minded and I don't want to get to know them anymore than I have.  Maybe this wrong or maybe this is childish I don't know.  Although some things are just trivial to me and I still like them.  

I must say though that anyone who has had an abortion or been apart of encouraging someone to have one that I don't judge you.  Most people that I have spoken too who have had one regret it and the act often haunts them. Not all, but most. I also talked to a person whose mother was just about to have an abortion, she was prepped and on the table and changed her mind and jumped off the table. He was the almost abortion. He now has five children.

Life choices are hard no one said they were easy, but they can be right. When I was sixteen I thought I was pregnant and my grandmother who raised me said "that's OK you will have an abortion".  Thankfully, I wasn't pregnant but I would have done what my Grandma said at the time.  So no I don't judge, I just state what I believe now.  And no I can't change the beliefs of anyone but maybe I can make someone think about it before making that decision.  We are all titled to our own opinions but will be judged for our choices.






Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Sky321 profile imageAUTHOR

      Sky321 

      7 years ago from Canada

      Thanks for all your sincere comments.

    • lambservant profile image

      Lori Colbo 

      7 years ago from Pacific Northwest

      May our good Lord bring you healing from your trauma. Been there, done that. It's hard. As for your opinion, you are right, it is our human nature. When I say or hear someone else say you are entitled your opinion I interpret it as "You are entitled to your opinion even though it is wrong and you are bad for thinking that way." I am ashamed to say sometimes I feel superior or more together than the other person when I say it. God be merciful to me a sinner, eh? What is really humbling or even humiliating sometimes is when you find out the other person was right all along. I agree earnestly with you on the abortion issue. Right on sister.

    • fred allen profile image

      fred allen 

      7 years ago from Myrtle Beach SC

      You are blessed among a people who live under a curse. You see the value of life. You understand the wrong in taking a life just to make your own life easier. I am proud to call you sister. I will open myself to ridicule for my belief without fear or regret. I applaud you for your honesty and letting yourself be vulnerable because of your view. I stand with you!

    • allpurposeguru profile image

      David Guion 

      7 years ago from North Carolina

      "You're entitled to your opinion" usually means, "You're completely wrong of course, but I'll be magnanimous and grant you the right to be wrong."

      By the way, you're the first rape victim I've ever encountered who opposes abortion even in the case of rape! I wonder if your friend thinks you're entitled to your opinion!

    • lifegate profile image

      William Kovacic 

      7 years ago from Pleasant Gap, PA

      Sky,

      You're certainly entitled to your opinion. I just happen to agree with you.

    • Dave Mathews profile image

      Dave Mathews 

      7 years ago from NORTH YORK,ONTARIO,CANADA

      There are times when we must agree to disagree and swallow our pridefulness.

    • Vladimir Uhri profile image

      Vladimir Uhri 

      7 years ago from HubPages, FB

      I do appreciate your Hub very much. Any spilled blood will hunt the person sooner or later. The blood has the voice.

      Without trying to judge the worse crime is when someone murder her or his own innocent "blood".

      But God is merciful for those who did it.

      Any opinion may be wrong, but being on the side of Word of God is best.

    • bagnmoreblessings profile image

      bagnmoreblessings 

      7 years ago from Rocky Mountains

      Great wisdom my friend. Thank you for all your hubs, what a blessing they have been.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)