ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

10 ways to lose your wicket - Cricket.

Updated on October 3, 2010

 I was thinking about many times i got out playing a silly shot this season, too many. I then started thinking about how i had been dismissed by the opposition. I worked out i had been dismissed in 4 different ways but, how many ways can you be dismissed?

The simple answer is ten, as the title of this Hub would suggest but, what are they?

  1. Bowled. This is when the bowler hits the stumps when he has bowled the Cricket ball.
  2. Caught. The batsman hits the ball into the air and the fielder catches the ball before it touches the ground.
  3. Run out. When either batsmen take a run and the bails are removed before they get into the batting crease.
  4. Stumped. The Wicket Keeper removes the bails when the batsman steps out of the batting crease, without having hit the ball. If he has hit the ball, it would be classed as a run out.
  5. LBW. Complicated but, a ball that hits the batsmans pads and would have gone on to hit the stumps. There are a few simple rules to follow when looking at LBW, it must hit the pad in the line if the stumps and be going on to hit the stumps. This is one where a lot of batsmen claim they were wrongly given out as it is down to one persons opinion against another. Apart from Professional Cricket, it cannot be proved.
  6. Hit Wicket. As it suggests, the batsman hit their own wicket.
  7. Timed out. When the outgoing batsman steps over the boundary rope, the incoming batsman has 2 minutes to get inside the field of play otherwise, he is timed out. Not that common.
  8. Double hit. This is where the Batter hits the ball twice. One exception is, the batter can hit the Cricket Ball away from the stumps, if he feels it might role onto them.
  9. Handled the ball. Again this dismissal is not too common. A batsman usually offers to pick the ball up if it is close to him, to return to the fielding side. If he fails to ask the opposing team for permission, they can appeal and the batter could be dismissed. Not the most gentlemanly of dismissals though.
  10. Obstructing the fielder. This is where a batter deliberately stops a fielder from taking a catch or obstructs a fielder from completing a run out. I have never seen this.

I was dismissed by being Bowled, Caught, Stumped and LBW although i could claim the LBW never was..........see above.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • SpiffyD profile image

      SpiffyD 6 years ago from The Caribbean

      Retired out is not a dismissal as it were, but it counts as one as far as tallying the batting average. Therefore, it is incorrect to suggest that a batsman can only be retired not-out. A batsman retires out if he did not have the permission of the umpire to retire and the opposing captain does not permit him to resume his innings. In that event, it would not count as a not out in the record books. It's easy to get confused though - cricket can be a little muddled with the nuances.

    • stwcar profile image

      stwcar 7 years ago

      Retired out isn't necessarily the end of your innings though as you have the option of returning to the crease if your team needs you to. Also that is a gentlemans agreement and not a dismissal as you are retired - not out.

    • profile image

      PPW 7 years ago

      You have missed Retired Out!!