ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

2010 Cy Young Award Winners

Updated on June 27, 2011

What is the Cy Young Award?

Denton True Young, better known as Cy Young, pitched in the American League from 1890 to 1911. In those 22 seasons, he compiled a MLB record 511 wins in 7,355 innings throughout 815 games. With five-man rotations and inning limits implemented in the MLB today, It is unlikely any of Young’s pitching records will ever be broken. After his death in 1955, The Cy Young Award was created in his name in order to honor the best pitcher from the league each season.

Today the award is presented to a pitcher from both the American League (AL) and the National League (NL).

Every year 60 members from the Baseball Writers Association of America (BWAA), comprised of two sports reporters from each team (28 in the AL and 32 in the NL), vote on the best pitcher in baseball by awarding first-place to fifth-place votes to the candidates. Each is weighted differently with seven points for a first-place vote, four for a second-place vote, three for a third-place vote, two for a fourth-place vote and one for a fifth-place vote.

Here are the 2010 MLB Cy Young Award Winners:

Roy Halladay


2010 NL Cy Young Award Winner

In what was termed “The Year of the Pitcher,” 2010 saw no better pitching performance than Roy Halladay in his May 29th Perfect Game against the Florida Marlins. That game was the shining moment in a season of highlight reels from the Philadelphia Phillies ace and the signature accomplishment that paved the way to his 2010 NL Cy Young Award victory.

When the season ended, Halladay did not. He would go on to throw a No-Hitter in the National League Division Series against the Cincinnati Reds. While that game did not factor in the Cy Young decision as the ballots are turned in prior to the playoffs, it is forever imprinted in the pages of baseball history.

During the regular season, Halladay posted a 21-10 win/loss record along with a 2.44 ERA and 219 Ks in his first season in the NL with the Phillies. Voters awarded his heroic efforts with a unanimous decision as the Cy Young Award winner.

Roy Halladay received all 32 first-place votes and a total of 224 points, making him only the 13th unanimous winner in the award’s history. Adam Wainwright of the St. Louis Cardinals finished in second place with 122 points while Ubaldo Jimenez of the Colorado Rockies rounded out the top three with 90 total points.

Felix Hernandez


2010 AL Cy Young Award Winner

Despite a paltry 13-12 record, Felix Hernandez of the Seattle Mariners defied traditional baseball logic and walked away with the 2010 AL Cy Young Award, the first of his career. His 13 wins in a full season marked the lowest total for a Cy Young winner in the history of the award. Last year’s repeat winner, Tim Lincecum of the San Francisco Giants, held the previous record low with 15 wins in 2009.

Because run support is typically out of a pitcher’s control, especially in the AL, voters looked past Hernandez’s dismal win/loss total and honed in on his absolute domination from the mound. In 2010, Felix Hernandez posted a Major League best 2.27 ERA and 232 Ks, providing further evidence that his poor record was directly related to run support or lack thereof.

The Seattle Mariners offense was one of the worst in baseball, and in Hernandez’s starts, the team averaged 3.09 runs per game, the lowest of any Cy Young eligible pitcher. In 15 of his starts, the Mariners scored 2 or less runs. You don’t have to be Good Will Hunting to see the numbers don’t add up to success.

In the end, “King Felix” received 21 of a possible 28 first-place votes and totaled 167 points to take the crown. David Price of the Tampa Bay Rays finished with 111 points and four first-placed votes followed by CC Sabathia of the New York Yankees who finished the season with 21 wins, but only received 102 points and three first-place votes for the Cy Young Award.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • bogerk profile image

      bogerk 7 years ago from Midwest

      Thanks for reading my baseball Hubs!

    • Powerful Pierre profile image

      Powerful Pierre 7 years ago from Abbotsford BC

      well done Bo enjoyed it a lot.

    • bogerk profile image

      bogerk 7 years ago from Midwest

      It will be interesting to see if this becomes the trend. Halladay was an obvious choice in the NL, but now the AL this season and both leagues last year have chosen pitchers without the best record for the Cy Young Award.

    • I am DB Cooper profile image

      I am DB Cooper 7 years ago from Whereabouts unknown at this time

      Hernandez certainly was an oddball candidate, but without a doubt he was the best pitcher in the American League this year. The Mariners offense should be embarrassed at how little support they gave him.