ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

2012/13 Conference National Match-day One Review

Updated on August 17, 2012

On August 10 The Conference National kicked off their 2012/13 season. Hereford United earned a 2-1 win over Macclesfield Town. Sean Canham scored the first goal for this season in the 15th minute. Matthew Barnes-Homer scored in the 59th minute from the penalty spot to level score. Marlon Jackson scored in the 66th minute to give the home crowd something to cheer for. The match was played at Edgar Street Athletic Ground (Hereford, Hererfordshire) in front of 2,139 fans.

Saturday saw the rest of the clubs take to the field. Barrow and AFC Telford United played to a 0-0 draw in front of 1,041 fans. The match was played at Holker Street (Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria). Lincoln City defeated Kidderminster Harriers 1-0 behind a goal from Jamie Taylor in the 39th minute. 2,112 fans watched the match at Sincil Bank Stadium (Lincoln. Lincolnshire). Stockport County defeated Alfreton Town 1-0 behind a Danny Hattersley goal in 36th minute. 3,448 fans watched the match at Edgeley Park (Stockport, Greater Manchester).

Only 598 fans came out to see Braintree and HYDE play to a 2-2 draw at Cressing Road Stadium (Braintree, Essex). Scott Spencer scored two goals for HYDE. He hit one in 23rd minute then got another one in 36th minute from penalty spot. HYDE was up 2-0 when Andrew Pearson got a RED Card in 46th minute which changed match. Kaine Sheppard scored in 47th minute while Bradley Quinton got one in 90th minute to level score. Forest Green Rovers needed a late penalty from Yan Klukowski in 90th minute to salvage a 1-1 draw with Cambridge United. Cambridge got a goal from Tom Elliott in 33rd minute to take lead at The New Lawn (Nailsworth, Gloucestershire). Only 1,128 fans watched the match.

Luton Town got a goal from Stuart Fleetwood in 71st minute to earn a 2-2 draw against Gateshead. 6,743 fans jammed Kenilworth Road Stadium (Luton, Bedfordshire). Gateshead jumped ahead with goals from Liam Hatch in 25th minute and Yemi Odubade in 35th minute. Jon Shaw scored in 61st minute for Luton Town to cut lead to one. Fleetwood's goal evened up match. Simon Grand scored in 87th minute to give Southport a 1-1 draw against Grimsby Town. Over 1,700 fans at Haig Avenue (Southport, Merseyside). Craig Disley scored in 74th minute to give Grimsby Town the lead.

Wrexham gave their over 4,000 fans something to cheer for with a 3-1 win at Racecourse Ground (Wrexham(Wrescam)). Robert Ogleby scored in 18th minute while Dean Keales scored in 41st minute to give Wrexham a 2-0 lead over Woking at half. Bradley Bubb gave Woking something to cheer for but Mark Creighton scored in 74th minute to give Wrexham a 3-1 win. Tamworth went into Princes Park (Dartford, Kent) and shocked Dartford 3-2. Peter Till scored in 27th minute to take early lead. The 1,370 fans were shocked with that goal. They would get shocked more with Adam Cunnington's goal in 40th minute. Elliot Bradbrook scored in stoppage time of first half to close gap to 2-1. Cunnington scored again in 76th minute to take lead back to two. Harry Crawford scored in 79th minute to pull Dartford within one. They couldnt get any closer.

Newport County defeated Mansfield Town 4-3 at One Call Stadium (Mansfield, Nottinghamshire) shocking the 2,924 fans. Ismail Yakubu scored in 10th minute while Tony James scored in 13th minute to take a 2-0 road lead at half. Jake Carl Speight scored one of his two goals in 48th minute to close gap to 2-1. Matthew James Green scored two minutes later to even score at two. Aaron O'Connor put Newport back ahead in 56th minute while Jefferson Louis took lead back to two with goal in 66th minute. Speight scored in 89th minute to close scoring. Ebbsfleet United defeated Nuneaton Town 5-4 in front of 1,088 fans at The Triton Showers Community Arena. Andy Brown opened the scoring for the home crowd in eighth minute. Adam Walker added to lead in 17th minute putting Nuneaton up 2-0. Tom Phipp(20th), Nathan Elder(23rd) and Moses Ashikodi(31st) scored three goals very quickly giving Ebbsfleet a 3-2 half-time lead. Liam Enver-Marum scored in 50th minute to take lead to 4-2. Robert Thompson-Brown scored in 56th minute to cut lead to one. Tom Phipp scored his second goal of game in 88th minute for 5-3 lead. Andy Brown scored his second in stoppage time to finish scoring at end match at 5-4.

Top Table:

Wrexham 3 points 2
Ebbsfleet United 3 points 1
Newport County 3 points 1
Tamworth 3 points 1
Hereford United 3 points 1
Lincoln City 3 points 1
Stockport County 3 points 1

Five players lead league with two goals apiece. Second Matchday takes place on Tuesday.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.