ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

Arizona Diamondbacks All-Time ERA Leaders

Updated on April 1, 2010

Randy Johnson

Curt Schilling

The Arizona Diamondbacks have been a major league franchise since 1998 and they even won a title soon after, in 2001 when they beat the Yankees in seven games.  The D-Backs were competitive almost overnight, and have remained mostly competitive just about every season.  One reason is they have had great pitching, and here is a short list of the D-Backs’ all-time ERA leaders to date:

Randy Johnson (2.83)—Randy Johnson, a.k.a. “The Big Unit,” was one of the game’s all-time great pitchers.  Johnson played for Arizona from 1999 to 2004 and again in 2007 and 2008.  He ranks first in Diamondbacks’ history with a 2.83 ERA, and Johnson won four straight NL Cy Young Awards while with the team.  Johnson had his career best 2.28 ERA with Seattle in 1997, but his best overall season may have been 2002.  That year, Johnson won the NL Cy Young by going 24-5 (career high in wins) with a 2.32 earned run average and 334 strikeouts.  The wins, ERA and strikeouts all led the National League that season. 

Curt Schilling (3.14)—Journeyman Curt Schilling pitched in Arizona from 2000 to 2003, and was part of the 2001 championship team.  You can see why, too, with a 1-2 punch of Johnson and Schilling anchoring the starting rotation.  Schilling ranks second in franchise history with a 3.14, and while his career best 2.35 ERA came with Philadelphia in 1992, Schilling had perhaps his best overall season with Arizona in 2001.  That year, he went 22-6 with a 2.98 ERA, and 293 strikeouts in 256 innings pitched.

Brandon Webb (3.27)—Brandon Webb has pitched in Arizona his entire career so far, from 2003 until now as I write this in 2010.  Webb won the NL Cy Young in 2006, and he ranks third in D-backs history with a 3.27 earned run average.  Webb had a career best 2.84 ERA in 2003, but his best overall season was probably 2008.  That year, Webb finished second in the Cy Young voting by going 22-7 with a 3.30 ERA and 183 strikeouts.

Miguel Batista (3.99)—Miguel Batista pitched for the Diamondbacks from 2001 to 2003 and again in 2006.  He ranks fourth in team history with a 3.99 ERA, and Batista’s best overall season was with Arizona in 2001.  That year, he went 11-8 with a career best 3.36 ERA, and 90 strikeouts.

Doug Davis (4.22)—Doug Davis has pitched for Arizona from 2007 until now as I write this in 2010.  Davis ranks fifth in franchise history with a 4.22 earned run average, and his career best 3.39 came with Milwaukee in 2004.  But Davis’ best season in Arizona was 2007, when he had a career high 13 wins (13-12) with a 4.25 ERA and 144 strikeouts.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Hello, hello, profile image

      Hello, hello, 7 years ago from London, UK

      Thank you for your all informtion about these great sportsmen.