ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

Arsenal FC

Updated on May 22, 2013

Location of Arsenal F.C.

A markerHighbury House 75 Drayton Park London N5 1BU, England -
75 Drayton Park, Islington, London Tower N5 1, United Kingdom
get directions

Location of the stadium of Arsenal F.C.

Club Kits

Click thumbnail to view full-size

Official Name: Arsenal FC

Chairman: Peter Hill-Wood

Secretary: Michael O'brien

Coach: Arsène Wenger

Address: Highbury House 75 Drayton Park London N5 1BU, England

Telephone: (+44) 20 77044000

Fax: (+44) 207 704 4091

Alternative uniform: Yellow

Uniform: Red/ White

UEFA Cup Winners' Cup winner: 1994

Inter-Cities Fairs Cups winner: 1970

Charity Shield and Community Shields winner: 1930, 1931, 1933, 1934, 1938, 1948, 1953, 1991, 1998, 1999, 2002, 2004

League Cup winner: 1987, 1993

FA Cup winner: 1930, 1936, 1950, 1971, 1979, 1993, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2005

Division One/Premier League winner: 1931, 1933, 1934, 1935, 1938, 1948, 1951, 1971, 1989, 1991, 1998, 2002, 2004

1886: Foundation of Dial Square (as a workers' team of Royal Arsenal, an armaments factory in Woolwich, south east London), December 11: First game, New Name: Royal Arsenal, First home ground: Plumstead Common

1888: New home ground: Manor Ground

1889: Entered (for first time) the FA Cup 

1890: New home ground: Invicta Ground

1891: New name: Woolwich Arsenal, Became professional instead of amateur

1893: Joined Football League (Division Two), New home ground (return to) Manor Ground (because was cheaper to rent)

1897: New manager: Thomas Mitchell

1898: New manager: George Elcoat

1899: New manager: Harry Bradshaw

1904: New manager: Phil Kelso, Promoted to Division One

1908: New manager: George Morrell

1910: Initiation of voluntary liquidation due to bankruptcy, but purchased by Sir Henry Norris (also owned Fulham)

1913: Relegated to Division Two, First competitive game at new Arsenal Stadium in Highbury ( as Woolwich Arsenal)

1914: April: New name: Arsenal (from Woolwich Arsenal)

1915: New manager: James McEwen New manager: Leslie Knighton

1919: Promoted to Division One

1925: New manager: Herbert Chapman (from HuddersfieldTown)

1927: FA Cup finalist (for first time) 

1928: August: added numbers to players' jerseys

1930: Community Shields winner, League winner

1931: Community Shields winner

1932: FA Cup finalist 

1933: New Club colors: red/white (what is used today), Community Shields winner, Division One winner

1934: New manager: Joe Shaw (replacing Herbert Chapman who died of pnemonia in January), New manager (appointed during summer): George Allison (former director of the club), Community Shields winner, Division One winner

1935: Division One winner

1936: Arsenal Stadium expanded

1938: Community Shields winner, Division One winner

1939: First class football suspended (Due to World War II)

1947: New manager: Tom Whittaker 

1948: Community Shields winner, Division One winner

1949: New crest

1951: Division One winner

1953: Community Shields winner

1956: New manager: Jack Clayston

1958: New manager: George Swindin

1962: New manager: Billy Wright

1962: New manager: Billy Wright

1966: New manager: Bertie Mee

1968: FA Cup finalist

1969: FA cup finalist

1970: Inter-Cities Fairs Cups winner

1971: Division One winner

1976: New manager: Terry Neill

1978: FA Cup finalist

1980: UEFA Cup Winners'Cup finalist, FA cup finalist

1983: New manager: Don Howe

1986: New manager: Stee Burtenshaw, New manager: George Graham

1987: League Cup winner

1989: Division One winner

1991: Community Shields winner, Division One winner

1993: League Cup winner

1994: New manager: Stewart Houston, UEFA Cup Winners' Cup winner

1995: New manager: Stewart Houston, New manager: Bruce Rioch

1996: August: New manager: Stewart Houston (temporarily),  New manager: Pat Rice (caretaker manager) September: New manager Arsène Wenger (from France)

1998: Community Shields winner, Premier League winner

1999: Community Shields winner

2000: UEFA Cup finalist

2002: New crest, Community Shields winner, Premier League winner

2004: Community Shields winner, Premier League winner

2005: FA Cup winner

2006: UEFA Champions' League Finalist (lost against Barcelona FC)

Selected Products for Arsenal F.C. Fans


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.