ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

FIBA Eurobasket

Updated on August 4, 2011


European basketball competition organised by FIBA is called Eurobasket or European Basketball Championship. It occurs every second year and is the most prominent competition in national team european contest.

Eurobasket take place since 1935. The most succesfull nation on Eurobasdket competition is former Soviet Union with 14 wins on this tournament, three second places and four bronzes.

Latest Eurobasket was in Poland and Ukraine in 2009 and Spain won in the final against Serbia, while Greece beat Slovenia in the game for third place.


Eurobasket 2011 - Lithuania

Next Eurobasket will be in 2011. It will be held in one of the baltic countrys in Lithuania. Lithiania is also the third most succesfull country on Eurobsaket with three gold medals, one silver and one bronze.

The teams, that are allready qulifiedare : Lithuania as host nation, France, Slovenia, Germany, Greece, Russia, Spain, Croatia, Serbia and Turkey as Participants of 2010 FIBA World Championship, Great Britain, Belgium, Macedonia, Montenegro and Israel from qualifying round and Bosnia and Herzegovina, Italy, Latvia, Bulgaria, Georgia, Ukraine and Poland with FIBA decision. Two more missing teams will try to qualify on tournament in August 2011, just before the start of Eurobasket 2011.

Eurobasket - basketball

Eurobasket 2013

Where will be Eurobasket in 2013. Slovenia is the only candidate.

FIBA will anounce organiser in december in 2010.

Eurobasket 2009 - Poland

Eurobasket 2009 was held in Poland in September 2009. Spain won this tournament and is so current champion. Pau Gasol, Espana team captain was also awarded as MVP - most valuabla plaxer- of the championship.

Second was Serbia, third was Greece and fourth was Slovenia.

As best players in the tournament Team were selected:

Vasileios Spanoulis - Grecce as Point guard
Miloš Teodosić - Serbia as shooting guard
Rudy Fernandez - Spain as small forward
Erazem Lorbek - Slovenia as Powerful forward
Pau Gasol (MVP) - Spain as Center

Eurobasket 2099 video

Eurobasket 2011 - Lithuania map

Will you follow Eurobasket?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • phdast7 profile image

      Theresa Ast 6 years ago from Atlanta, Georgia

      Very interesting. I was unaware of FIBA Eurobasket. Good Hub.