ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Fantasy Sports & Leagues

Exciting Twenty20 Cricket World Cup

Updated on May 23, 2015
T20 World Cup Champions 2014
T20 World Cup Champions 2014

Latest Addition to the International Cricket - Twenty20 Cricket

Here, I’m going to talk about the latest addition to the international cricket. It is twenty20 cricket (T20 cricket).  Cricket is a popular sport in some countries such as south Asia, Australia, England and south Africa and so on. The people who love cricket definitely concentrate in T20 cricket tournaments because it is taking less time to finish a one game and during both innings of a game playing two teams use their full strength to win the game and therefore it is more attractive than other forms of cricket.  In this format of cricket an inning is limited to 20 overs. Therefore after 40 overs  the game will over.

General Rules

Here are some of rules incorporated with T20 cricket.

  •  First six overs of an inning named as “power play” and during this time maximum allowed fielders outside the 30 yard cycle are 2. After the power play maximum of 5 fielders can be field outside the 30 yard cycle.
  • The maximum allowed fielders on the leg side is 5 at any time.    
  • If the bowler deliver a “NO ball” by overstepping the crease one run will be added to opposite team and bowler  has to ball an extra delivery and that delivery is called as “free hit” which circumstance the batsman can only be dismissed through a run out, hitting the ball twice, obstructing the field or handling the ball.
  • Each bowler can be bowl a maximum of 4 overs.
  • If the fielding team does not start to bowl their 20th over within 75 minutes, the batting side is credited an extra six runs for every whole over bowled after the 75 minutes.

ICC T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup is the major event of T20 international cricket. This is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) which is the main authority of international cricket. This series consists of 16 teams and all the ICC Full Members are automatically qualified to the T20 world cup 2012, remaining six spots will be chosen through ICC World Cup Twenty20 Qualifier matches. The inaugural event, the 2007 T20 world cup, was held in South Africa in September 2007 and the tournament was won by the team India defeating Pakistan team as becoming the first T20 world cup champions. Unlike 50 overs Cricket World cup, this event is held in every two years due the high popularity of the event.

Following table shows the statics of T20 world cup history.

Runners Up
South Africa
Sri Lanka
West Indies
Sri Lanka
West indies
Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka

ICC T20 World Cup 2014

ICC T20 World Cup 2014 held in Bangladesh from 16th march to 1st April. This is the 5th T20 world cup competition conducting by the ICC.

As usual the 10 ICC full members were automatically qualified to the T20 world cup 2014 and the other 6 teams chosen through the T20 qualifier matches. All together there were 16 teams to fight for the T20 world cup 2014.

The venues that host ICC T20 world cup 2014 were Dhaka, Chittagong, Sylhet.

Sri Lanka won T20 World Cup 2014 by beating India by 6 wickets.

ICC T20 World Cup 2016

ICC T20 World Cup 2016 will be held in India from 11th March 2016 to 3rd April 2016.

The ICC full members except Bangladesh and Zimbabwe are directly qualified for the super 10 round.

More details will be updated soon.


Who will win T20 Cricket World Cup 2014?

See results


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.