ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

FIFA Football / Soccer

Updated on October 6, 2010


FIFA is the acronym for the Fédération Internationale de Football Association or International Federation of Association Football, the organization that governs football, or soccer, worldwide.

FIFA History

FIFA was founded in Paris, France in 1904 in response to the growing popularity of football in Europe.  The founding members were the national football associations of France, Holland, Denmark, Belgium and Germany as well as the Madrid Football Club. Within a decade the organization expanded to include members outside of Europe, including South Africa and the United States, Chile, Canada and Argentina in the Americas. 

FIFA Today

 Today FIFA recognizes more than 200 men’s national teams and close to 130 women’s national teams. Its headquarters are located in Zurich, Switzerland. 


In addition, there are six continental confederations:




North, Central American and Caribbean

Oceania and

South American

World Cup

Every four years since 1930, save for the WWII era years of 1942 and 1946, FIFA has organized a world cup competition.  Today there are competition’s for both men’s and women’s soccer.  In the World Cup competition the top 32 national teams in the Federation play against one another until one team is deemed the winner.

2010 World Cup

 The FIFA 2010 Football / Soccer World Cup took place in South Africa.  Spain wound up winning the games, with the Netherlands taking second, Germany third and Uruguay turning in a surprise 4th place finish.  From its first World Cup match with the 2006 2nd place winners France, Uruguay declared it was a force to be reckoned with.  One newsworthy component of the 2010 World Cup was the use of the vuvuzuela, a local instrument that led to a constant lougd buzzing noise in the stadium, which many fans and players found distracting.

World Cup 2006

The FIFA 2006 World Cup was hosted by Germany.  First place honors went to Italy, followed by France, Germany in third place and Portugal fourth.

World Cup 2002

The FIFA 2002 World Cup games took place in Korea and Japan.  In first was Brazil, the only team that has qualified for every World Cup since its inception.  Germany came in second, followed by Turkey and Korea.

World Cup 2014

The next FIFA World Cup will be held in 2014 inBrazil.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)