ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

Golden State Warriors Career Point Scoring Leaders

Updated on January 14, 2010

Wilt Chamberlain

Rick Barry

The Golden State Warriors have been an NBA franchise since 1947, as they began play in Philadelphia and then moved to California after 1962.  They were the San Francisco Warriors from 1963 to 1971, and then became the Golden State Warriors in 1972, though they still call the Bay Area home.  They had two championships while in Philly, and won one as Golden State in 1975, but none since.  Still, this team has had some great players over the years, and here is a short list of the Warriors’ all-time leading scorers. 

Wilt Chamberlain (17,783)—Center Wilt Chamberlain began his career with the Warriors in 1959 and played with both Philadelphia and San Francisco until 1965.  Chamberlain was easily the most dominant player of his time, and while with the Warriors he racked up 17,783 points to lead the franchise all-time.  In fact, Chamberlain had over 2700 points every season with the Warriors, and he had over 3000 points three times and over 4000 once.  That was in 1961-62, when he scored a career best 4029 points (an astounding 50 per game), which is also an NBA record for a single season that will likely never be broken.  In his seasons with the Warriors, Chamberlain led the NBA in almost every offensive category almost every year, and also led in rebounding four times.  The dude was just awesome. 

Rick Barry (16,447)—Forward Rick Barry played for the San Francisco Warriors for two seasons (1965-67) before joining the ABA and then returning to the NBA’s Golden State Warriors in 1972 and playing there until 1978.  Barry ranks second in Warriors’ history with 16,447 total points and he had four seasons there with over 2000 points.  Barry’s best season was with San Francisco in 1966-67, when he scored a career high 2775 points to lead the NBA (36 points per game).  He also led the NBA in field goals (1011) and free throws (753) that season.

Paul Arizin (16,266)—Forward/guard Paul Arizin played for the Philadelphia Warriors from 1950 to 1962, and ranks third in franchise history with 16,266 points.  Arizin scored over 1500 points eight times and led the NBA in points twice.  His best season was 1958-59, when Arizin scored a career high 1851 points (26 points per game). 

Chris Mullin (16,235)—Forward/guard Chris Mullin played for the Warriors most of his career, from 1985 to 1997 and again in 2000-01.  Mullin ranks fourth in team history with 16,235 points and he scored over 2000 points three times.  His best season was 1988-89, when Mullin scored a career best 2176 points (27 per game).

Nate Thurmond (13,191)—Center/forward Nate Thurmond played for the Warriors most of his career, from 1963 to 1974, and he ranks fifth in franchise history with 13,191 points.  Thurmond racked up over 1500 points three times, and his best season was 1971-72, when he scored a career high 1673 points (21 per game). 


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Brian Doolittle 7 years ago

      Not Rick Barry ... that is Mike Dunleavy Jr.