ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

Houston Rockets Career Point Scoring Leaders

Updated on December 10, 2009

Hakeem Olajuwon

Calvin Murphy

The Houston Rockets became an NBA team in 1967 as the San Diego Rockets, and moved to Houston in 1971.  The Rockets have 26 playoff appearances, one with San Diego and 25 with Houston, and won two NBA titles (1993-94 and 1994-95).  They always seem to be a good team and the Rockets, not surprisingly, have put some great offensive players on the court over the years.  Here is a short list of the Rockets’ all-time leading scorers to date;

Hakeem Olajuwon (26,511)—Seven-foot center Hakeem Olajuwon is one of the NBA’s greatest players of all-time, and he played almost his entire career in Houston, from 1984 to 2001.  Olajuwon ranks first in Rockets’ history with 26,511 points scored, and he had a career high 2184 points (27 per game) in 1993-94, the year the Rockets won their first championship.  Olajuwon had four seasons with over 2000 points, and he ranks tenth in NBA history in scoring. 

Calvin Murphy (17,949)—Guard Calvin Murphy played for the Rockets his entire career, beginning in San Diego in 1970 and running until 1983.  Murphy ranks second in franchise history with 17,949 points scored, and he had his best season in 1977-78, when he scored a career best 1949 points (26 points per game).

Rudy Tomjanovich (13,383)—Forward Rudy Tomjanovich played for the Rockets his entire career, from 1970 to 1981, and ranks third in the team’s history with 13,383 points.  Like Murphy, Tomjanovich played one season in San Diego before moving to Houston with the team.  He had his best season in 1973-74, when he scored a career high 1961 points (25 per game).

Elvin Hayes (11,762)—Forward/center Elvin Hayes played for the Rockets twice, from 1968 to 1972, and again from 1981 to 1984.  Hayes ranks fourth in franchise history with 11,762 total points, and while he had a career best 2350 points in 1970-71 (29 points per game), Hayes’ 2327 points in 1968-69 with San Diego led the NBA that season.

Moses Malone (11,119)—Center/forward Moses Malone was a journeyman of sorts, and played for the Rockets from 1976 to 1982.  He ranks fifth in the team’s history with 11,119 points, and his 29,580 career points ranks sixth in NBA history.  Malone had his best season in 1981-82 while playing for the Rockets, when he had a career high 2520 points (31 points per game) and he had four seasons, all with Houston, with more than 2000 points.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.