ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

Leeds United FC

Updated on May 25, 2013
A markerElland Road, Beeston, Leeds, LS11 0ES, England -
Elland Road, Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
get directions

Basic Information

Official Name: Leeds United A.F.C.

Chairman: Ken Bates

Secretary: I. Silvester

Coach: Simon Grayson

Address: Elland Road, Beeston, Leeds, LS11 0ES, England

Telephone: (+44) 0113 367 6000

Fax: (+44) 0113 367 6050


(write e-mail in form)


Uniform: White

Alternative uniform: Yellow


Inter-Cities Fairs Cups winner: 1968, 1971

Charity Shield winner: 1969, 1992

League Cup winner: 1968

League Championship winner: 1969, 1974

FA Cup winner: 1972

Division One winner: 1969, 1974, 1992

Division Two winner: 1924, 1964, 1990


1919: Foundation of Leeds United AFC (Association Football Club), First manager of the club: Dick Ray

1920: Club elected to Football League, New president: Hilton Crowther, New manager: Arthur Fairclough

1924: Division Two winner, Promoted to Division One

1927: New manager: Dick Ray, Relegated to Division Two

1934: New uniform: Blue and yellow, First badge

1935: New manager: Billy Hampson

1947: New manager: Willis Edwards, Relegated to Division Two

1948: New manager: Frank Buckley

1950: New uniform: yellow jersey with blue collar and sleeves, whit shorts

1953: New manager: Raich Carter

1955: New uniform: royal blue jersey with gold collar, white shorts

1956: Promoted to Division One

1958: New manager: Willis Edwards (as caretaker manager), New manager: Bill Lambton

1959: New manager: Jack Taylor

1960: Relegated to Division Two

1961: March: New manager: Don Revie

1964: New crest, Division Two winner, Promotion to Division One

1965: FA Cup finalist

1968: Inter-Cities Fairs Cups winner, League Cup winner

1967: Inter-Cities Fairs Cups finalist

1969: Charity Shield winner, League Championship winner, Division One winner

1970: FA Cup finalist

1971: Inter-Cities Fairs Cups winner, Inter-Cities Fairs Cups playoff finalist (game decided who kept trophy when UEFA Cup replaced Inter-Cities Fairs Cups)

1972: FA Cup winner

1973: UEFA Cup Winners' Cup finalist, FA Cup finalist

1974: New manager: Brian Clough, New manager: Maurice Lindley (as caretaker manager), New manager: Jimmy Armfield, League Championship winner

1975: UEFA Cup finalist (lost against Bayern M√ľnchen)

1978: New manager: Jock Stein, New manager: Maurice Lindley (as caretaker manager), New manager: Jimmy Adamson

1980: New manager: Maurice Lindley (as caretaker manager), New manager: David Merrington (as caretaker manager), New manager: Allan Clarke

1982: Relegated to Division Two, New manager: Eddie Gray

1985: New manager: Peter Gunby (as caretaker manager), New manager: Billy Bremner

1984: New badge

1988: New manager: Norman Hunter (as caretaker manager), New manager: Howard Wilkinson

1990: Division Two winner, Promoted to Division One

1992: Charity Shield winner, Division One winner

1996: League Cup finalist (lost against Aston Villa), New manager: George Graham, League Cup finalist

1998: New manager: David O'Leary

2002: New manager: Terry Venables

2003: New manager: Peter Reid, New manager: Eddie Gray (as caretaker manager),

2004: New owner Gerald Krasner, New manager: Kevin Blackwell, October: Elland Road Stadium sold with lease back agreement (due to debts of the club)

2005: January: New owner and chairman: Kenneth Bates

2006: New manager: John Carver (as caretaker manager), New manager: David Geddis (as caretaker manager), New manager: Dennis Wise

2007: Relegated to Division Two

2008: New manager: Gwyn Williams (as caretaker manager), Gary McAllister, New manager: Simon Grayson

Recomended Products for Fans


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.