ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

Manchester United FC

Updated on May 29, 2013

Location of Manchester United Football Club

A markerSir Matt Busby Way Old Trafford, M16 0RA, Manchester, England -
Old Trafford, Sir Matt Busby Way, Urmston, Manchester, Trafford M16 0RA, United Kingdom
get directions

Location of the stadium of Manchester United F.C. (Old Trafford)

Club Kits

Click thumbnail to view full-size

Official Name: Manchester United FC

Chairman: Martin Edwards

Secretary: Ken Ramsden

Press Officier: Diana Law

Coach: Alex Fergusson

Address: Sir Matt Busby Way Old Trafford, M16 0RA, Manchester, England



Uniform: Red/ white

Alternate uniform: white/black

European Champions Club's Cup winner: 1968

UEFA Champions League winner: 1999, 2008

UEFA Cup Winners' Cup winner: 1991

UEFA Super Cup winner: 1991

Intercontinental Cup/FIFA Club World Cup winner: 1999, 2008

Division One/Premier League winner: 1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965, 1967, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009

FA Cup winner: 1909, 1948, 1963, 1977, 1983, 1985, 1990, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004

FA Charity Shield/Community Shield winner: 1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965, 1967, 1977, 1983, 1990, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2010

Football League Cup winner: 1992, 2006, 2009, 2010

Division Two winner: 1936, 1975

1878: Newton Heath LYR Football Club formed. (LYR: Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway)

1892: Foundation of Newton Heath LYR Football Club. First manager of Manchester United Football Club: Alfred Herbert Albut, Entered Football League

1900: New manager: James West

1902: New owner: John Henry Davies, New name (from April/May): Manchester United FC

1903: New secretary (also first manager): Ernest Mangnall (from September)

1906: Promoted to Division One

1908: Football League winner, stadium construction on Old Trafford site begins

1909: FA Cup winner

1910: Stadium construction begins, club moves to new stadium from Bank Street

1911: Divison One winner, FA Charity Shield winner

1912: New secretary (also manager): John Bentley

1914: December: secretery - manager role separated; first full time secretary: JJ Bentley, first full time manager: John Robson

1917: May: previous Manchester United player Sandy Turnbull killed in World War I. (a battle in France)

1921: New secretary- manager (both roles performed by): John Chapman

1922: Relegated to Division Two

1925: Promotion to Division One

1926: Manager John Chapman suspended by Football Association with immediate effect (reason never made public), new manager (a player-manager): Clarence Hilditch

1927 New manager (replacing Clarence Hilditch): Herbert Barnlett

1931: New manager: secretary Walter Crickmer

1932: New manager: Scott Duncan

1933: New Owner: James Gibson, New manager: Scott Duncan

1936: Division Two winner, promotion to Division One

1937: Relegation to Division Two, New manager: Walter Crickmer (for 2nd time)

1938: Promotion to Division One

1941: March 11: Old Trafford bombed by German bombers

1945: New manager: Matt Busby

1952: Division One winner

1948: FA Cup winner

1956: Division One winner

1957: Division One winner, FA Cup finalist

1958: February 6 in Munich, Germany: Manchester United airplane crash accident; 22 killed, including 7 players, 1 player dies 15 days later in a German hospital, FA Cup finalist

1959: Division One runner-up

1963: FA Cup winner

1965: Division One winner

1967: Division One winner

1968: European Champions Club's Cup winner

1969: New manager: Wilf McGuiness, World Club Championship finalist

1970: New manager (temporary): Sir Matt Busby

1971: June: New manager: Frank O'Farrell

1972: December: New manager: Tommy Docherty

1974: Relegation to Division Two

1975: Division Two winner, Promotion to Divison One

1976: FA Cup finalist

1977: New manager: Dave Sexton, FA Cup winner

1978: New manager: Dave Sexton

1979: FA Cup finalist

1981: New manager: Ron Atkinson

1983: FA Cup finalist, Milk (League) Cup finalist

1985: FA Cup winner

1986: New manager: Alex Ferguson

1990: FA Cup winner

1991: May: UEFA Cup Winners' Cup winner

1992: Football League Cup winner (March)

1993: Premier League winner

1994: FA Cup winner, Premier League winner

1995: FA Cup finalist

1996: FA Cup winner, Premier League winner

1997: May: Premier League winner

1999: Intercontinental Cup winner, UEFA Championship winner, FA Cup winner, Premier League winner

2001: Premier League winner

2000: April: Premier League winner

2003: May: Premier League winner, Community shield winner

2004: FA Cup winner

2005: FA Cup finalist

2006: Carling Cup winner

2007: Premier League winner, FA Cup finalist, Community shield winner

2008: FIFA Club World Cup winner, UEFA Champions League winner, Premier League winner, Community shield winner

2009: Premier League winner, Football League Cup winner

2010: Football League Cup winner, Community shield winner

Selected Products for Manchester United Fans


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.