ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Olympics

Medals won by India in Olympics 2012

Updated on November 6, 2012

The 2012 Summer Olympics was held in London. It is a mile stone for Indian sports enthusiasts. It is the first time in the Summer Olympic history for India to bag six medals. In the Inauguration ceremony - 'Isles of Wonder', Sushil Kumar was the flag bearer for India. India was represented by 83 talented sports persons and took part in 13 events including badminton, boxing and freestyle wrestling.

Gagan Narang opened the medal count to India by winning a bronze medal in the 10 metre air rifle on 30th July 2012.

The second medal to India in the Olympics’12 was bagged by Vijay Kumar for the men’s 25m rapid fire pistol event on 3rd august 2012. It also accounts for the third Silver medal won by India in the history of Summer Olympics.

On 4th of august, Saina succeeded in grabbing a bronze medal in the Women’s Singles in Badminton. With this, Saina becomes the first Indian to win a medal in the badminton event.

Mary Kom won bronze medal in the Women’s boxing Flyweight category on 8th august 2012. It is the fourth medal for India in the 2012 Olympics. She is the third Indian woman to win medal in Olympics.

The fifth medal to India in the Olympics’12 was snapped by Yogeshwar Dutt in 60 Kg freestyle wrestling. Dutt is the third Indian to win medal in the Wrestling event.

The final (sixth) medal count to India 2012 Summer Olympics was won by Sushil Kumar on 12th august 2012. He was able to grab a silver medal in the 66 Kg freestyle wrestling event.

In the closing ceremony Mary Kom was the flag pleader for India.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.