ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

Perth Glory

Updated on October 8, 2009


Perth Glory are an Australian Soccer Team that compete in the A-League, the top level competition in Australia. Perth Glory competed in the National Soccer League, the precursor to the A-League for 8 seasons from 1996-97 to 2003-04. They then went on to become founding members of the A-League in 2005.


Formation and the NSL Years

The club was formed in 1996 when it joined the National Soccer League (NSL). They went on to become founder members of the A-League.

In 1995, another consortium led by Nick Tana bid for entry into the National Soccer League. Perth Glory were subsequently licensed for entry into the 1996/7 NSL season. From a relatively unheralded start, the club would develop beyond all expectations and establish the game in a state where Australian rules football dominated and Rugby league was about to fail.

Initially believed to be nothing more than a token participant, Perth surprised many by only just missing the cut for the finals; finishing 7th and 8th in 1996-97 and 1997-98 respectively and managed to attract a large and vocal support base.

In 1998-99 Glory participated in their first ever finals series after finishing 3rd but fell in the preliminary final against Sydney United. Glory then went even better in Season 1999-2000 winning the Championship at the end of the season but then after winning a nail-biting Semi-final against the Wollongong Wolves they then lost in the Final to the same team on penalties. 2000-01 season saw more consolidation with a 3rd place finish but a disappointing Final series.

In 2001/2, with a new manager, the team nearly went the entire season undefeated and ended up finishing 1st but then went on to lose to Sydney Olympic in the Grand Final. In 2002-03 with the NSL disintergrating around them, Glory and Olympic were the only two semi decent teams still left in the league to galvanise their midfield and fought it out for top spot all season with Glory eventually making amends for the season before and beating Olympic in the final.

In the final NSL season in 2003-04, Glory only had Parramatta Power as a huge threat, Parramatta beat the Glory at home 4-2 and then away 2-0 to host the final ever NSL Grand Final. Glory faced Parramatta at Parramatta Stadium in pouring rain This brought Parramatta down to the level of their opponents and scrapped for every ball in a match devoid of many chances before Glory won the match for Glory and their second NSL title.


Season 1 to 4

Perth Glory's time in the A-League has been anything but as successful as their NSL career with finishes of 5th in Season 1 followed by 7th place finishes in each of the next three Seasons in an 8 team competition. They are one of the few teams to have never made the Final Series. They have also been beset by Ownership changes after Nick Tana was relieved of the Franchise by the FFA after Season 1 (2005-06) and ownership was then passed on to new owners for Season 3 (2007-08). Crowds have also dwindled over the years from the heights of the late 90's to the current average crowd that is half of the glory years.

Perth Glory Home Kit 2009-10


Season 5

Perth Glory had a disappointing start to Season 5 in the A-League but since the early weeks have greatly improved. They lost their first two games 1-0 away to Adelaide United and 2-1 away to Wellington Phoenix to give the fans the sense that Season 5 was starting much the same as previous seasons. They have however followed these defeats up with two home wins in Rounds 3 and 4 2-0 against the Newcastle Jets and 2-1 against Melbourne Victory.

Perth Glorys rollercoaster season continued in Round 5 with a 2-1 away defeat to Central Coast Mariners. Perth have then followed this up in Round 6 by blowing a 2 goal lead against top of the table Gold Coast United and eventually settling for a 2-2 home draw. However Round 7 saw Perth Glory completely outplay Brisbane Roar and beat them 4-2 away from home.

Round 8 saw Perth beat the Newcastle Jets away from home 1-0 but then only manage a 0-0 home draw against bottom-dwellers North Queensland Fury.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.