ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports»
  • American Football

SEC Football Dominance

Updated on April 21, 2012

The last time a SEC team didn't win a national title.

The last time a SEC school didn't win a national title was seven years ago during the 2005 college football season. That year the Big 12 won the bcs title as Texas beat USC in the Rose Bowl in a epic game going done to the wire as Texas quarterback Vince Young led the Longhorns to there first national title since 1969 with a 41-38 victory. USC had won the title in 2004 (now vacated due to NCAA sanctions) and the media had pegged that 2005 USC team as the best ever with back to back heisman trophy winners quarterback Matt Leinart in '04 and running back Reggie Bush in '05. That year Georgia won the SEC title beating LSU in the SEC Championship Game 34-14 to finish with a 10-2 record. The Bulldogs upset the Tigers that year as LSU came into the game ranked 3rd in the country. The lost knocked LSU out of a bcs bowl appearance and sent Georgia to face West Virginia in the Sugar Bowl where the Bulldogs were upset by West Virginia led by quarterback Pat White and running back Steve Slaton by a score of 38-35. LSU went on to destroy Miami(Fl) in the Peach Bowl 40-3. Also Auburn who finished with a 9-2 regular season record and 7-1 in SEC play with there only conference lost coming by the hands of LSU in overtime 20-17 which kept Auburn from repeating as SEC West champs as they had won the SEC in 2004 going undefeated in conference play and regular season play but were screwed as they didn't win a share of the national title although they were undefeated after defeating Virginia Tech in the Sugar Bowl for the 2004 college football season. Alabama bounce back in 2005 as well as they got up to #4 in the country but loss to LSU and Auburn back to back to knock them out of the top 10. But the Crimson Tide finished the 2005 season with 11-2 record as they defeated Texas Tech in the Cotton Bowl 13-10 as there in state rival Auburn lost there bowl game that year to Wisconsin in the Capital One Bowl 24-10. Another SEC school that had a come back year in 2005 was Florida who finished with a 9-3 regular season record and 5-3 in SEC play as they went on to defeat Iowa in the Outback Bowl 31-24.

That was the last time a SEC school didn't win the bcs title and then from 2006 to 2011 they have wheeled off six straight. And to go a little further the SEC have won 8 bcs titles in the 14-year history of the bcs and if you throw in a 2004 snubbed of a undefeated Auburn team it is 9 bcs titles depending on who you ask. Last season was the ultimate dominance of the SEC as they got two teams playing each other in bcs championship game when Alabama shutout LSU 21-0. The 2011 season final rankings had three SEC schools in the top 5! And to further they were in the same division, the SEC West now that is dominating your competition.

What SEC school will win this year? Will Alabama become the first repeat national championship since Nebraska did it in the 1994 & 1995 seasons. Can LSU get back to the national title game and redeem itself as they were beat down by Bama in New Orleans. Arkansas will they finally get over the hump even though they will be going into the season with a new head coach. Or will a SEC East team rise and win it all. Who knows but I do know this and that is SEC looks like it isn't going any where.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.