ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

The First Winners of the ICC Cricket World Cup-The West Indies

Updated on June 5, 2012
Clive Lloyd with the first Cricket World Cup
Clive Lloyd with the first Cricket World Cup

Cricket World Cup 1975

The first ever ICC Cricket world cup was held in England in 1975,the competition was sponsored by Prudential and the matches were then contested with 60 overs for each side.Eight teams took part in the innovative competition Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan ,West Indies, Sri Lanka and East Africa.

They were divided into two groups of four and the semi finals were contested between England and Australia,New Zealand and The West Indies.

Gary Gilmour did the damage for for Ian Chappell's side on a bowlers Headingley wicket to take six wickets for 14 as the much fancied hosts were hurtled out for 93. England fought back and had the Aussies struggling at 39 for six, but Gilmour and Doug Walters brought the team home.

The West Indies had an easier time beating New Zealand by 5wickets.

First Final

The first ever ICC Cricket world cup final took place at Lord's the home of English cricket on June the 21st.

 Australia won the toss and decided to let the West Indies bat first. A mixture of experience and youth,The Windies had a powerful batting lineup with many players able to dominate.However The west Indies lost three quick wickets before their captain Clive Lloyd began to exert himself,he hit a swashbuckling innings of 102 0f 85 balls (12,4's and 2, 6's).Some rapid batting in the tail enabled them to amass 291 for 8.

 The  experienced Aussies knew that this was not an easy run chase and thier captain Ian Chappel led the way with an impressive 62. It was down to some wonderful fielding  from Viv Richards to swing things back in favour of West Indies. He ran out  both the  Chappel  brothers,with the all important wicket of Ian being the best.Good  West Indian bowling then restricted the Australians to 274, with five run outs in the innings. The west Indies had won by 18 runs.

Sothe inaugural cricket world cup and the Prudential Trophy was lifted by Clive Lloyd, the captain of West Indies and the man of the match. The Caribbean cricketers were worthy winners.

Jubliant supporters invade the Lord's pitch
Jubliant supporters invade the Lord's pitch | Source

World Cup Winners

Year    Winner          Runner-up

1975   West Indies   Australia
1979   West Indies   Australia
1983   India             West Indies
1987   Australia        England
1992   Pakistan        England
1996   Sri Lanka      Australia
1999   Australia       Pakistan
2003   Australia       India
2007   Australia       Sri Lanka

Future World Cups

Cricketing rivals Australia and New Zealand will host the 2015 Cricket World Cup.

The 2019 Cricket World Cup will be hosted by England,and the fifth time it has been held in England


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • SpiffyD profile image

      SpiffyD 6 years ago from The Caribbean

      Nice way to recapture a special moment for West Indies supporters and an interesting period in cricket. The one-day game sure has changed since.