ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Winter Cycling Gear Review: Gore Bike Wear Paclite Ultra Pant

Updated on June 2, 2011
Winter Cycling
Winter Cycling | Source

Winter Cycling Woes

If you have read my winter bike gear reviews for Gore-Tex's cycling gloves and cycling overshoes, you'll already know that I am a pretty big fan of the Gore Bike Wear line by Gore-Tex.

As I mentioned in these reviews, living in Florida I was accustomed to being able to cycle year-round without too much worry of winter cycling apparel. Maybe in January I would break out my long-sleeve Livestrong cycling jersey. And come mid-February, I would really be bundled up with my Canari Microlyte Shell over top of the long-sleeve jersey.

Oh, my cycling life was good. Care-free and simple. Day after day. Like an endless summer.

Then, late one summer, I moved to Maryland. Goodbye endless summer, as soon it was fall. And shortly thereafter, as often happens, winter came.

They say that you often don't appreciate something until it is taken away from you. Oh, how I appreciated those 75-degree winter days in Florida.

 

It's All In the Pants

Thankfully, prior to winter's arrival, in late October, I was at an expo for a century ride and I came across a pair of Gore-Tex winter cycling pants. My rides were already starting to get chilly, and so I said to myself, "I'll bet you I'm going to need something like this come winter."

Sometimes, on a rare occasion here and there, I surprise myself with my wisdom. This was one of those times

Even at 50 percent off, they still seemed pretty pricey for a pair of biking pants, but something told me to go ahead and get them. Knowing what I know now, if I had paid full price, it still would have been the best money I ever spent on any piece of cycling gear.

Gore Bike Wear Paclite Shell Cycling Pants
Gore Bike Wear Paclite Shell Cycling Pants | Source

Can I Sleep In Them?

Gore Bike Wear's Paclite Ultra Pants are, in a word, phenomenal. I can't think of any other bike gear, or anything else I own for that matter, that I feel I get more value out of than these cycling pants.

The coldest ride I've been on while wearing them has been a 40-miler with a temperature of 22 degrees Fahreneit and light winds of about 10-15 mph. The only thing I wore during the ride (below the waist, these pants aren't so amazing that you can ride bare-chested, unless you are really hardcore) were the Gore-Tex pants, which can't weigh more than a few ounces, my biking shorts, and a pair of Patagonia lightweight long underwear.

I didn't feel the slightest chill below the waist at any time during the ride. I almost wanted the winds to pick up because I felt so invincible with these pants on. I don't know how much colder of a day these pants can take, but I would say considerably colder. Absolutely no wind gets in and your body heat doesn't escape, keeping your legs warm and comfortable. It's as if you are back in Florida for a nice summer ride. Well, almost.

Winter Triathlon Madness

Features

Bottom line, I really am amazed every time I go out for a ride with these pants. Some of the features include a very large, mesh zip-pocket in the back, drawstring waist, reflective stripes and logos, seat reinforcement, and terrific Velcro ankle and calf adjusters to keep the legs wrapped tight and your right pant leg protected from the chain.

Whether you are training for a century ride, a springtime sprint triathlon, a summertime Half-Ironman, or you're just trying to maintain and keep any extra pounds from building up over the winter months, the Gore-Tex Paclite Shell Ultra Pant will enable you to keep up with your training all winter long.

Happy Trails!

And don't forget that your body burns more calories when exercising in the cold to keep itself warm. Give yourself a great-tasting protein shake following those hard workouts, and start your winter mornings off right with a delicious fruit and vegetable smoothie.

For information on Bento Boxes, check out this hub.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Mike's Corner profile imageAUTHOR

      Mike's Corner 

      6 years ago from Maryland

      Glad to hear the Gore cycling pants worked for you John! I agree with you -- very comfortable.

    • profile image

      John Hayls 

      6 years ago

      It was the expo for a country when I was bought the pair of Gore-Tex winter cycling pants. These are very comfortable pants I am very satisfied of these pants.

    • CyclingFitness profile image

      Liam Hallam 

      6 years ago from Nottingham UK

      Interesting hub, I've never had the need to ride in such an item- I find my Assos Airblock Bib Tights are the ultimate for winter protection below freezing. How do you find them for breathability?> I've tried riding in goretex stuff before and found it gets pretty clammy

    • Mike's Corner profile imageAUTHOR

      Mike's Corner 

      7 years ago from Maryland

      Wow, how cool, a HubNugget nomination! Thanks for the congrats, RippleMaker!

    • ripplemaker profile image

      Michelle Simtoco 

      7 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      Congratulations on your Hubnuggets nomination! Please visit this link and see your nomination in the Sports and Recreation category! http://bit.ly/f8XToN Happy cycling during winter and wearing the perfect clothes too!

    • Mike's Corner profile imageAUTHOR

      Mike's Corner 

      7 years ago from Maryland

      Thanks, Micky Dee. That's a lot of layers for NC . . . tough winter all around! I'll bet you have some nice hills down there . . . we could use some of them over here on the Eastern Shore. Keep on truckin' :)

    • Micky Dee profile image

      Micky Dee 

      7 years ago

      Great review Mike. I don't wear the GT anymore but I've used it before. Here in NC the weather has been cold enough to drag it back out. I've had to wear about 6 layers for a ride. Great post!

    • Mike's Corner profile imageAUTHOR

      Mike's Corner 

      7 years ago from Maryland

      Thanks, Website Examiner. It's so true that being cold can ruin a ride fast . . . with these pants and the cycling booties I've had no problems. Happy riding!

    • profile image

      Website Examiner 

      7 years ago

      I ride, and I'm well familiar with the huge difference the right-versus-wrong clothing can make. Inadequately dressed, and the whole attention goes toward the miserable feeling. This hub is a real eye-opener for me. I should do some more research. Supposedly, there are also good solutions for footwear and upper body wear. I use something that is pretty good for winter, but nothing comparable to this. Great hub!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)