ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports»
  • Baseball

1990s World Series Winners

Updated on December 31, 2016

Joe Carter winning the 1993 World Series

Braves pitcher Tom Glavine

1999-New York Yankees 4, Atlanta 0-The Yankees were flying high, as this was their second straight championship, third in the last four years, and 25th overall in the team's history. As had become common for the Braves, their solid pitching staff of Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and John Smoltz didn't have enough gas to last through the World Series. The Yankees had their own strong staff of Andy Pettite, Roger Clemens, David Cone and Orlando Hernandez, as well as a "hammer" in their bullpen, Mariano Rivera. Rivera. Rivera was named Series MVP as he posted two saves, including closing out the Braves in the clinching Game 4. MVP: P Mariano Rivera, New York

1998-New York Yankees 4, San Diego 0-The Yankees continued a winning tradition by sweeping a series in which their latest installment of a "Murderer's Row" lineup rolled over the upstart San Diego Padres. It was the Yanks' 24th championship overall and second in the past three seasons. With a lineup that boasted stars such as Derek Jeter, Tino Martinez, Paul O'Neill and Bernie Williams, it was third baseman Scott Brosius who took home the MVP by hitting .417 in the series with two critical Game 3 homers that swung momentum in favor of New York for good. MVP: 3B Scott Brosius, New York

1997-Florida 4, Cleveland 3-In one of the most exciting World Series in recent memory, the Wild Card Marlins upset the powerful Cleveland Indians with a stunning Game 7 victory. The Marlins became the first Wild Card team to win a title, and did so in only their fifth season of existence. As for the Indians, they battled hard in their second World Series appearance in three seasons, but again came up just short of the team's first Series title since 1948. The teams swapped wins throughout the Series, but in the end it was Marlins shortstop Edgar Renteria capping a come-from-behind win with a single off of Indians P Charles Nagy's glove and into center field to drive home the winning run. Marlins P Livan Hernandez won the MVP with two wins in the series. MVP: P Livan Hernandez, Florida

1996-New York Yankees 4, Atlanta 2-The Yankees won their first championship in nearly 20 years, beating a heavily favored Braves team that was looking for back-to-back titles. After taking a 2-0 series lead in New York, the Braves were thinking sweep as they headed back to Atlanta to play the last games ever at Atlanta Fulton County Stadium. But the Yankees found their rhythm when they came from behind in a pivotal Game 4, winning 8-6 after trailing 6-0, then by winning two one-run games to clinch it. Yanks closer John Wettleland won the Series MVP by notching four saves, one in each of his teams' wins. MVP: P John Wetteland, New York

1995-Atlanta 4, Cleveland 2-The Braves, thought by many to be the most dominant team of the nineties, were making their third Series appearance in five years, having lost to Minnesota in 1991 and to Toronto in 1992. This time the Braves and their vaunted pitching staff of Greg Maddux, John Smoltz, Tom Glavine and Steve Avery were facing an Indians team that boasted a powerful lineup which hit over .300 as a team during the regular season. But in the end good pitching beat good hitting, as MVP Tom Glavine notched his second win of the series with a 1-0 decision in the clinching Game 6, allowing Cleveland only one hit over eight innings. MVP: P Tom Glavine, Atlanta

1994-This season will forever be remember as a "black eye" on the game, because commissioner Bud Selig decided to cancel the World Series on September 14 after a players strike disrupted most of the second half of the season. It was the first time in 90 years that the Series was not played. The strike was not resolved until early in 1995, as teams wound up playing a shortened season. Many fans lost interest in the game and were disgusted with the greed that prompted the strike, but over the next several years most of those fans returned to follow the nation's pastime.

1993-Toronto 4, Philadelphia 2-It was the second straight year that World Series games were played outside of the United States, and the second straight year that the Blue Jays won it all. This series will be remembered most for Blue Jays' OF Joe Carter belting a walk-off three-run home run in the bottom of the ninth inning of Game 6 off Phillies closer Mitch Williams. The homer came as Philadelphia was clinging to a 6-5 lead and hoping to tie the series. Toronto 3B-DH Paul Molitor won the MVP by hitting .500 for the series with 2 home runs, 8 RBI and 10 runs scored. MVP: 3B/DH Paul Molitor, Toronto

1992-Toronto 4, Atlanta 2-The Braves were making their second straight Series appearance after many years of futility, and Toronto was the first Canadian team to reach and eventually win the World Series. P Jimmy Key won two games for the Jays, including the clinching Game 6 and C Pat Borders won the MVP by hitting .450 with a home run and 3 RBI. The Series featured Blue Jays P Jack Morris, who won his third championship, including the previous year with Minnesota; and two-sport star Deion Sanders, who hit .533 for Atlanta in the Series. MVP: C Pat Borders, Toronto

1991-Minnesota 4, Atlanta 3-Many believe that this was the greatest World Series ever played, because five of the seven games were decided by two or fewer runs, and three of those games went into extra innings. Highlights were a marathon 12-innning game in which Twins manager Tom Kelly ran out of pitchers and the historic Game 7, in which Twins P and Series MVP Jack Morris notched his second win of the series by pitching 10 innings of shutout baseball. Twins DH-1B Gene Larkin drove home the winning run in the bottom of the tenth inning with a bloop single, giving Minnesota its second title in five seasons. MVP: P Jack Morris, Minnesota

1990-Cincinnati 4, Oakland 0-In a rematch of the 1972 Series, the underdog Reds swept the Athletics, who had won the championship the previous year over the Giants. Though Reds OF Billy Hatcher hit .750 in the series, including seven straight hits at one point, it was Cincinnati P Jose Rijo who took home the MVP award by winning two games, including the clinching Game 4 by a 2-1 score. MVP: P Jose Rijo, Cincinnati


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      iowa 7 years ago

      did you know that every team won with four points?!lol