SidKemp profile image 90

American Football Rules: What happens when there's a fumble during an extra-point kick?


I watch football occasionally, and I thought I knew the rules well enough. But I saw two things in yesterdays Browns vs. Ravens game that got me puzzled. One was a fumble during an extra-point kick. The Ravens had just scored a touchdown, making the score 6-0. In receiving the football, the guy who holds the ball for the kicker (does he have a title, by the way), dropped the ball and fumbled it. The Ravens recovered. Does this just count as a missed kick, or are there other consequences? If the defense had recovered, could they have run with the ball?

 

sort by best latest

junkseller profile image85

Best Answer junkseller says

You can help the HubPages community highlight top quality content by ranking this answer up or down.

5 years ago
 |  Comment
rfmoran profile image90

Russ Moran (rfmoran) says

You can help the HubPages community highlight top quality content by ranking this answer up or down.

5 years ago
 |  Comment
hockey8mn profile image83

hockey8mn says

You can help the HubPages community highlight top quality content by ranking this answer up or down.

5 years ago
 |  Comment
  • SidKemp profile image

    Sid Kemp (SidKemp) 5 years ago

    Thanks again, Hockey. Running all the way down the field for just one point! Hmmm.


  • See all 2 comments