ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Mederma Skin Care for Scars - Review And Possible Side Effects

Updated on June 3, 2013
Mederma Skin Care For Scar Cream
Mederma Skin Care For Scar Cream | Source

Mederma scar removal cream helps fade the look of scars. This scar removal cream by Mederma works on both existing and new scars resulting from injury, surgery, burns, acne and stretch marks.

Directions For Use

For existing scars this cream can be applied 3-4 times a day for 3 - 6 months.

For new scars apply cream 3-4 times a day for 7-9 weeks.

About 2 years ago I got into a car accident and it left one big scar on my chin, I didn't need any stitches but the cut left a scar on my face. I knew about mederma from their T.V commercials so I went to a drugstore a picked one up for 30$. I started using Mederma about 6 months ago. I used it inconsistently for about 2 months and didn't notice any visible changes on the scar, it just got a bit smoother but the scar didn't fade at all. After about 2 months I started to apply the cream regularly 3-4 times a day, after 3 months of using the cream I started noticing the scar getting smoother and lighter. The scar on my chin is a lot lighter and visibly reduced now. But this is no miracle drug, I've been using the cream for about 6 months now, although the scar is smoother and visibly reduced, it hasn't completely gone away. It is less noticeable and much smoother but after a certain point this cream has no effect.

In my personal experience, yes this cream does 'works' but don't buy this thinking that it'll completely remove scars. It only helps to reduce scars making it smoother and visibly lighter.

Before You Buy This Product

Make sure you aren't allergic

Before you buy this cream take a quick look at the contents of mederma and find out if you are allergic to any of them. If you read reviews about this product you can see tons of negative reviews, mainly because so many people are allergic to some of the contents in mederma. So if you think you are allergic don't waste your money

Most common allergic reaction include

· Itchiness

· Redness

· Burning sensation

· Flakiness

· Dry skin

Don't keep using mederma if you are allergic, It won’t fade the scar and can scar nearby regions also.

Ingredients

Water (purified), PEG-4, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, allium cepa (onion) bulb extract, xanthan gum, allantoin, methylparaben, sorbic acid, fragranceregions also.

Follow Usage Instructions

I read a lot of negative comments about this product on different websites, I think most of the negative comments came from people who didn't regularly use the cream or had allergic reactions to it. You won’t notice any visible changes on a scar if you don't use the product regularly. Apply at 3 times a day for at least 3 months to see results.

You will have to Invest in 2 or 3 tubes of Mederma

I don't think one tube will do the job. You will have to buy at least 2 tubes of mederma (I had to buy 3 since my scar was big) because you need to use it for about 3-6 months to get the desired result.

You have to be patient

You have to be patient with this cream. You can’t really see any visible changes on a scar till you use it for 3 months. So be a little patient and keep using the cream regularly to see results.

Side Effects

  • Dry skin
  • Itchiness
  • Flaking
  • Inflammation

Side effects may occur due to allergic reactions also.

In my experience this product 'works' but doesn't do the job completely. The scar on my chin has faded 60 percent but traces of the scar is still visible. And the scar was really itchy during the first 2 weeks.

Yes, I would recommend it to a friend.

My rating 3/5

My Rating

3 stars for Mederma Skin Care for Scars Cream

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • GracieLake profile image

      GracieLake 4 years ago from Arizona

      I've heard good things about this stuff but have switched to NeriumAD. Gets rid of acne scars, stretch marks and wrinkles. Seriously.Before and after pics are available at http://nancyconrad.com

    • profile image

      SweetBoo 2 years ago

      Worst scar treatment ever. Would never recommend to anyone. It worsened my skin. I don't know what to do

    • profile image

      Johnc986 2 years ago

      This is really attentiongrabbing, You're a very professional blogger. I have joined your rss feed and sit up for in search of extra of your fantastic post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks! badgfkddfede

    • profile image

      abha 2 years ago

      Medarma is superb . I m jst 23 year old girl . I had black pimple scar on my cheak . I used medarma 2 tyms in a day . its awsum my pimple black scar gone only in a 1month . No side effect no harm .

      Yes i would recommend it to a friend

    • profile image

      Estella William 2 years ago

      Not pleased with this product at all. It doesn't work. Will order something else. I regret that I wasted my money on this product.

    • profile image

      palak shaikh 2 years ago

      I used ds cream from last fifteen days n it really works on my acne scars..scars almost gone n m soooo happy..

      Thanks maderma n itz team to make such a wonderdul scars treatment.

    • profile image

      syed 2 years ago

      Hey guyz I had pimple scars on ma cheeks can I use medarma advanced scar gel plz help me..

      Thanks....

    • profile image

      Soma Saha 2 years ago

      I have just suffered from chiken pox.Can l use medarma.

    • profile image

      sharmi 2 years ago

      Can I use this for chicken box marks

    Click to Rate This Article