ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Mystic Tan Review

Updated on January 5, 2013

Sunless Tanning Lotion

Company Product Description:  Mystic Tan Sunless Tanning Lotion™ Face + Body creates smooth, even color that lasts about a week—no damaging UV rays required!
Company Product Description: Mystic Tan Sunless Tanning Lotion™ Face + Body creates smooth, even color that lasts about a week—no damaging UV rays required!

Product Review

OK, so we all know that there has been a ton of publicity and hype surrounding Mystic Tan sunless tanning lotion. Today I will be taking a closer look at this product to determine whether or not this is actually the Holy Grail of sunless tanners as some users have claimed.

One positive point that I noticed right away in my review was that the product does not contain alcohol like many other self tanners on the market.

Their description of the product is that it easily creates a natural-looking golden brown color. It is a quick to dry formula and has protective antioxidants, hydrators, and nourishing botanical ingredients. OK, so that all sounds good so far but what about the results? They actually compare their product to gliding on "like silk." The company goes on to claim that the lotion sets to a bronzed glow on your skin which lasts and lasts. They do include an application mitt for your hands to protect them from unwanted coloration; that's a nice plus. The mitt also to helps to even out the application process.

The recommended use of the product is just like any other sunless tanning product. Wash, exfoliate, and shave prior to use which will better your results and allow you to apply it more evenly. Avoid too much application to the elbows, knees, and ankles as these areas tend to darken more quickly. Avoid contact with clothes until product dries. The manufacturer recommends the line for all skin types.

While I wasn't completely disappointed with this product, I will say this; getting the application just right was a huge hassle. If you take a moment to watch the application video released by the company below, you will quickly understand where I'm coming from. The other big turn off for me was that the system is very complex, they have enough products to fill an entire bathroom cabinet.

The products are attractively priced but by the time you add them all up, it is an expensive ordeal. I really don't want to have to spend a small fortune to achieve a good result. Personally, I would prefer a system with just one or two products as my already busy schedule does not allow me a great deal of extra time to deal with a bunch of additional products.

Overall, I give the brand 3 stars out of a possible five. Based on the reader comments that have come in, it looks like a pretty evenly split opinion from past users. Please feel free to share your own reviews so we can count your opinion too!

More Customer Reviews

Hollie writes, "For the price of this, I was disappointed in the product! It was just as bad as a $5.00 cheap bottle you'd find at a drug store! I don't know if it was the mitten or what, but I felt uneasy with the application. My feelings were confirmed when I woke up the next morning with streaks, splotches, and an orange color! I'll try it again with gloves, but am not expecting much of a difference! UGH!"

Instructional Video

Mystic Tan Customer Review Poll

Do You Like Mystic Tan?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      cc 

      5 years ago

      Yup I can ho early say it coated me 240 for a mystik unlimited tan mins and a bottle of electric haze and I really feel like a funny smelling carrot as well they keep telling me it will all blend ... And I wasn't Given proper instructions for mystik booth no sticky feet my feet loom tarnished forever .... Kalis!

    • Evita's Fashion profile image

      Evita Andrianni 

      7 years ago from New Zealand

      Haven't tried that one, but there are some tanners out there which are not to bad and you actually can avoid - "funny smelling glowing carrot" effect :-)

    • profile image

      Terri 

      7 years ago

      My girlfriend uses it regularly and looks like a glowing carrot that smells funny. Fabutan Spruce Grove

    • profile image

      Brandy 

      7 years ago

      I turned a nice shade of orange. Hated it. Asked for my money back, and they refused. FU Fabutan Stony Plain.

    • profile image

      Andrea  

      7 years ago

      I wish i could find the Perfection spray (old line) it was so much better!!

    • profile image

      Maria Cole 

      8 years ago

      This "tan" doesn't seem to stay very long and always seems to make my skin just look blotchy. I know it isn't a user error or the salon because I've done it a couple times and I'm never very pleased with the results. I prefer the real dea, the sun, or if that isn't available I'll do indoor tanning with moderation.

    • profile image

      Janet 

      8 years ago

      Mystic Tan is good once you get the hang of it. You have to remember to use the barrier cream on hands, feet, elbows, fingernails, toenails and tops of ears. These areas are the driest. Trying to remember all this is tough sometimes. I like the even coverage of the spray booth but if you don't dry off properly, you will have possible streaks. Lastly, the tan don't last very long. Even using the lotion they recommend don't do the trick in helping the tan last longer. I am going to keep practicing for awhile though. Maybe I will get better at putting this all together. It has possibilites but not perfect yet!

    • profile image

      briana 

      9 years ago

      Mystic tan is absolutely fantastic. My tan was not orange at all it was a beautiful golden brown. Also it was flawlessly even all over my body. I will defianately continue to use mystic tan!!!! =)

    • izettl profile image

      Laura Izett 

      9 years ago from The Great Northwest

      Mystic tan sucks! and I agree completely with Hollie's review.

    • Gin Delloway profile image

      Gin Delloway 

      9 years ago

      nice hub!! =)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)