ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Fashion and Beauty»
  • Skin Care

Neutrogena Build-a-Tan Review

Updated on January 14, 2013

A Review of Neutrogena Build-a-Tan

Does the name Neutrogena sound familiar? It should. Neutrogena is one of the best known skin care manufacturers in the world. Not only do they help you improve your skin's appearance but they also work with the American Cancer Society to help prevent skin cancer.

Here is a little background information about Build-a-Tan and a detailed product description. It is a gradual self tanner that allows you to control the shade of you tan to better suit you. Like many of their products, it doesn't clog pores and moisturizes the skin as it works. It has SPF 15 to help protect you from the sun, and for all you fans of American made products out there, they make it in the United States.

The average cost of Build-a-Tan is around $10-12 and shipping depends on the delivery area. They complement their product with a 30 day return policy so you can make sure that Build-a-Tan is right for you. However, do take note that the conditions for a return include that the product be unused, damaged, defective, or falls under the 100% guarantee for makeup. A postage fee of $4.99 does apply for all returns.

I recently tried Neutrogena Build-a-Tan for the first time but I do regularly use Neutrogena face washes. I have found that for me, they work very well and represent a good value for the price.

One of the pluses of this product is that Neutrogena gives you an application process that is fast and easy. They are generally known for making products that are very easy to use, fresh, and highly effective.

The application process states that you must first, like any other sunless tanner, wash, exfoliate, and for best results; shave prior to use. Start by applying the product to your skin as you would any daily moisturizer and be sure to wash your hands with soap immediately after use. Try to avoid any contact with clothing until your product has dried. In their ad it states that the product dries in 5 minutes. In my experience, it does dry quickly but you will want to wait the full five minutes so you can avoid damage to your clothes. Wait at least 1 hour before bathing or swimming to allow the color to develop. You can always reapply the product to maintain or deepen you color but for best results, wait at least 8 hours between applications.

Here is a hint. In my experience with products that stain, if you lather the area of skin that you do not want color to appear on with hair shampoo and then rinse, the product will wash out more easily. It works with hair color as well. I color my hair dark once in a while and trust me, this process does work.

Neutrogena Build-a-Tan Customer Reviews

Here are some real customer reviews and opinions on this Neutrogena product. These are some actual user's comments. You may view them and find more on the Drugstore.com web site.

Erin G in New York, NY writes:

"I had a terrible allergic reaction to the chemicals in this product. I am not allergic to anything, but my face developed a red itchy rash around my mouth and the next morning my eyes were puffy. I've always loved Neutrogena products, but beware of the strong chemicals that stay in your face to produce this effect; I'll never use a self tanner again! I give it no stars, but zero is not an option here."

Boosmom in Tennessee writes:

"I have used this product for years. I love it. My only issues are the same as previous comments about the smell and the color not showing up quick enough. I changed the way I use it and have a much better experience. I use it at night (though you're really not supposed to use anything with SPF in it at night) before I go to bed, and in the morning when I take a shower the smell is washed away and I have a glow. To enhance it I use a tinted moisturizer after my shower so I only need to apply the tanner at night."

If you are like Erin above and have allergy concerns, consider trying the Adonia Bronzing Serum which is an all natural self tanner. Personally it is one of my favorites. It is a little more expensive than others because the manufacturer blends it with organic ingredients but the color is great and it is a good choice if you have allergy concerns.

Add Your Neutrogena Build-a-Tan Review

What is your opinion on Build-a-Tan

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Hazel Evans 6 years ago

      I used Neutrogena sunless tanning lotion in september last year to get a little colour for my sons wedding.What a mistake I was fine for 2days on the third day I came out in a very very bad red itchy rash as if I had been burnt....The docter put me on antibiotics and steroid..The rash got a lot worse coming out in places i had not put cream on....Eight month on my skin is still not right and have 2 completely cover up when ever I go out in sun as what ever sun cream I put on I come out in a rash....Not happy just don't know what 2 do....

    • profile image

      julie t 6 years ago

      I have been suffering for just over 2 weeks now with a horrible rash as well. I stopped use as soon as I became itchy 2-3 days into use. I have tried 2 types of allergy pills, aveeno soak, silver solution, peroxide, aloe vera gel and now have been on a steroid prescribed from the ER 3 days ago and still nothing helps :( I have used many self tanners before and never encountered this type of problem nor do I feel there has been a counter reaction as I am not on any type of medication. So very frustrating when the horrible burning itch cannot be controlled. Very disappointed. Personally I would not take the chance on this product as by the time you realize you are allergic it is too late. I just hope it ceases soon.

    • profile image

      Kristin 7 years ago

      I am suffering from a terrible allergic reaction. I used this product on my arms. For the first 24 hours I was fine. Then, I broke out in a horrible rash, that is warm to the touch, the skin is flaming red and raised and I have tons of tiny blisters everywhere. Frankly, I'm worried I am goin to have scarring because of this product. It is miserable. Painful and itching at the same time. I've had the rash for three days now and it doesn't show any signs of abating.

    • profile image

      Amy 7 years ago

      I used it once and for 2 days was great, but then on day 3 I broke out in a rash and it won't go away! It's been 4 days now I guess I'll have to wait until it wears off to go away but OMG I'm so itchy!!!

    • lender3212000 profile image
      Author

      lender3212000 7 years ago from Beverly Hills, CA

      Dill, there's a product called Complexion Control by Adonia Organics that I use and have been very happy with. It's natural and doesn't contain any acids so it won't dry out your skin.

    • profile image

      Dill 7 years ago

      what can i use to clear my acne, but not have my skin dry out?

    • profile image

      cynthia 7 years ago

      can Neutrogene good for a fair and light skin person

    • profile image

      Maria Cole 8 years ago

      I've never heard of Build-a-Tan before. I will take a look at at this product.

    • habee profile image

      Holle Abee 8 years ago from Georgia

      Great hub. I really like the Neutrogena lotion, but not the foam.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)