ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Genie Bra Review : As Seen On T.V.

Updated on June 22, 2015
donotfear profile image

Annette Sharp holds a BAAS in Behavioral Science from Texas A&M. She is a counselor and motivator with an empathetic heart.

Source

A Bra That Works!

I finally broke down and purchased the Genie bra 6 weeks ago. I was shopping at Beall's during one of those 'Coupon Days' when you can shop all day and get 20% off the entire purchase. I'd been seeing those infamous commercials for months "As seen on TV!.....the Genie Bra!". I decided now was a good time to take advantage of it while I had the savings.

I looked at the size chart and decided I should wear a Medium. I'm one of those "in-between" sizes sometimes, so I proceeded with caution. Not wanting to take any chances on returning it later, I asked the clerk if I could try it on. I walked briskly to the dressing room and eagerly tore into the box to, (at last), sigh in comfort after putting on the Genie bra.

It's A Good Thing I Tried It On In The Store....

First, I had to insert the pad into the bra cup; it only comes with one pad already in place for display purposes. I struggled a bit with it, but finally had it in place. So, I slip it on over my head and attempt to pull it down with much difficulty. Once in place, I felt a bit cinched-in. I looked in the mirror, and to my amazement, saw puffs of skin hanging over the edge. Eee-gads!! It was too small!

I looked at the size chart again: 35-37 bust size - Medium. Looking under the Large section on the chart, I noticed that my size, 36A, was listed with the 37-40 inch bust (as always, me and my "in-between" size)! Fine then, so I'm a Large.

After slipping it on, it fit just right, not too tight, not too loose, but like Goldilocks: "just right".

Why I Like The Genie Bra

Now that I've had the bra for 6 weeks, I can truly say it's about as comfortable as you can get. I'd always bought the Victoria's Secret bras for true smooth comfort, though I can't stand those lacy things around the edge on some of the cheaper brands. They drive me nuts, itching and stinging! Plus, the cheaper brands never seemed to fit me "just right", so I was pretty much sold on the Victoria's Secret bras. But I have to say, this Genie Bra is more comfortable than any other well constructed bra.

It's smooth, doesn't bind, and it gives a natual look with no fake looking "push ups". My daughter described the look as "perky". Ha! I feel that it gives much better support than the standard bra.

Source

Pros & Cons of the Genie Bra

Pros: Inexpensive, easy to care for, versatile, variety of colors, good support, easy to find in stores, can be used as camisole, the straps don't fall, great looking under any clothing.

Cons: In really hot, humid weather it was not as "free feeling" as my Victoria's Secret bra. Also, after reading many customer reviews, it appears that it may not be the best choice for some women; especially very large breasted women or women with odd shapes. It seems to work best for women with very small to large breasts. It just depends on the size and shape of the woman.

If you are one of those women who wear the really low-cut tops, you probably don't want this bra. It's not exactly "plunging", you can see the fabric of the bra above your shirt.

My best advice is to buy one size larger, which is what I did. The only sure way to know if it fits is to try it on in the store first.

Now You Have It....

Now that I've announced my bra size to the world, I'd like to say that I'm pleased with my purchase of the Genie Bra and plan to buy more. You can find them anywhere: Walmart, Bealls, major department stores, Ebay.......and you know the rest. Seriously, you need to at least try it on and see for yourself.

Have You Tried the Genie Bra? How Do You Like Yours?

4.8 out of 5 stars from 4 ratings of Genie Bra

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Beth37 

      5 years ago

      Interesting.

    • donotfear profile imageAUTHOR

      Annette Thomas 

      5 years ago from Northeast Texas

      Beth, it comes with pads that are not in the bra. You have to put them in place.

    • profile image

      Beth37 

      5 years ago

      What did you mean "insert the pad in the cup"?

      It comes with pads?

    • George Greene Jr. profile image

      George Greene Jr. 

      6 years ago from California PA

      not just the low cut dresses but in the early fall, we still are sporting the spaghetti strap tops! some bras look good if the strap isn't overbearing on the look(taking away from the top itself ). the dream for me would be a bra for us falsies users for the one sleeve dresses. I am sure that other women with the real ones would also applaud such an invention.

    • donotfear profile imageAUTHOR

      Annette Thomas 

      6 years ago from Northeast Texas

      moonlake: Thank you and please do try this bra!!! Very comfy.

      George:

      You are right, with the really wildly low cut dresses, it will show. But it's sooooo good, otherwise!! Thanks!

    • George Greene Jr. profile image

      George Greene Jr. 

      6 years ago from California PA

      Being a crossdresser, this hub enlightened me a lot! I know now that if I want something to work with my falsies , this would not work under certain garments. Ty for your post!

    • moonlake profile image

      moonlake 

      6 years ago from America

      I was just watching this on tv and wondering if it would work for me. After ready your hub I think I will try one. I can't wear Victoria's Secret's bra at all. Thanks so much for this hub. Voted up.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)