ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

One Person's Review of UGG Boots

Updated on January 6, 2015

Ugg Australia Trademark

My Ugg boots...several years old btw
My Ugg boots...several years old btw | Source

There was a time when I heard people refer to "Uggs" boots I thought they just meant those boots were ugly. Obviously I was very, very wrong. Everyone loves them. Apparently Australia and New Zealand claim that Uggs boots started there. According to Wikipedia;

"...sheepskin boots were manufactured in Australia in 1933 by Blue Mountains Ugg Boots of New South Wales.
Frank Mortel of Mortels Sheepskin Factory has stated that he began manufacturing the boots in the late 1950s, and named his company's sheepskin boots "ugg boots" in 1958 after his wife commented that the first pair he made were "ugly."
Lifelong surfer Shane Stedman of Australia has stated in interviews that he invented the ugg boot in 1971.Stedman registered the trademark "UGH-BOOTS" in Australia in 1971, and in 1982 registered a logo containing a stylised Sun with the words "UGG AUSTRALIA". Perth sheepskin boot manufacturers Bruce and Bronwyn McDougall of Uggs and Rugs have manufactured the boots since the late 1970s."


So what seems quite clear is it isn't clear how these boots really started but they are thriving now and by the way, the original Uggs boots are really UGG not UGGS but to make it easy I will refer to them as Uggs throughout this hub.

UGG Owners or Interested Readers

5 out of 5 stars from 1 rating of UGG Boots

Uggs first came to the United States in the 1970s. It seems a gentleman named "Brian Smith registered US trademark for these Boots. Smith once said he called his boots uggs before there was even a trademark in America.

Well in spite of or because of their history they are now American as well. Let's leave the history behind and take a look at the boots themselves. The boots are made of sheepskin. The inside is the soft, fleecy part of the sheep, and the outside is the tanned skin of the sheep, ie leather. The amazing thing about Uggs (I'll use that name to keep it simple) is the sheepskin. The sheepskin has a thermostatic quality - that means it automatically responds to temperature change. That's why you see girls wearing them in the summer....sheepskin lined boots when its ninety degrees. I still find that hard to understand and so do my feet, they sweat if I wear my them in warm weather.

Uggs rolled down or left all the way up.
Uggs rolled down or left all the way up.
Outside the pant leg or tucked in.
Outside the pant leg or tucked in. | Source

Hollywood stars have been seen wearing Uggs everywhere, and with the comfort they provide its no wonder. They're pretty versatile though I don't think I'd wear them with an evening gown. You can wear them with the tops straight up or turned down. You can wear them with your pant leg tucked inside so you can see the whole boot, or you can wear them with the pant leg outside covering the boot.

Uggs are not waterproof so it is not advisable to wear them in wet weather. You can buy products to spray on that will protect them somewhat but not from deep puddles or really wet weather. Also, most people wear them without socks because they are so comfortable.

They are now being made in other materials such as corduroy, wool blend knits, and side lacing...that is for women. They come in different colors, heights and styles. Men's Uggs have pretty much stayed the same with just the color choices available. Yes, there is a babies and kids collection (I knew you were thinking about it).

Speaking of men, Uggs has recruited Patriot's quarterback Tom Brady to do ads to get try to convince men its okay to wear them. Part of the reason for this campaign is to show men that they make men's shoes and not just women's boots. Of course having a football player wear them makes them macho....but I must admit, this is one good looking young football player that will have lots of girls buying Uggs for their man!

Doctor's are finding women who wear Uggs on a regular basis are developing foot problems.One of the reasons the Uggs are so comfortable is they are roomy and don't constrict your foot. This lack of constriction is also a lack of support. While walking in Uggs your foot has the ability to slide around and may cause your arch to fall. It may also cause heel and foot pain.

Remember 'thermostatic'? Well, your foot can still sweat and prolonged wear with your foot sweating can cause skin problems.

Good
Bad
Comments
Comfortable
 
No heels, no edges to cut your feet
Different colors
 
There are many colors to choose from to match your outfits
No need to wear socks
 
Lining keeps feet warm
Long lasting
 
If cared for you can have them for years
 
Made of sheepskin
Animals used to make Uggs
 
Flat and 'sloppy'
Feet move around in boot causing foor to 'splay' and other foot problems
 
Not performance wear
Not meant for hiking or long walks

So what's the bottom line? Common sense. Uggs are comfortable, now fashionable and just easy to wear. Like anything else, however, moderation is key. Wear them one day and wear sneakers or other shoes the next. Wear them around the house but not out shopping....use your head and keep your Uggs.

My ultimate opinion is I love my Uggs and wouldn't trade them for anything. How do you feel? Why not add your comment below so we can see what the general consensus is on the UGG boot.

Do's and Don'ts of Ugg Boots

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • tillsontitan profile imageAUTHOR

      Mary Craig 

      3 years ago from New York

      TT you're right, they are ugly but oh so comfortable. Thanks for reading.

    • TIMETRAVELER2 profile image

      Sondra Rochelle 

      3 years ago from USA

      There must be something wrong with me because I think these boots are really UGGly! Great article, though!

    • tillsontitan profile imageAUTHOR

      Mary Craig 

      3 years ago from New York

      Meg I'm sure you're right.

      Doris, I hope she at least rotates wearing them. I hate to think of all these girls doing so much damage to their feet because they're comfortable. I just got my second pair in brown. My first pair is five years old and still going, another reason to love Uggs.

    • Doris Dancy profile image

      Doris H. Dancy 

      3 years ago from Yorktown, Virginia

      I have never owned a pair of UGGS, but my daughter swears by them. I think she owns about eight pairs in a variety of colors. I guess she's one of the ones who needs to heed your warnings, but I'm sure she won't. She LOVES her UGGs. Thanks for the info. Voted up

    • profile image

      Meg 

      4 years ago

      Disturbed that I have these boots n had no idea they were made out of sheepskin, n the sick process these people do to the sheep to get the skin.. It's very in humane

    • tillsontitan profile imageAUTHOR

      Mary Craig 

      5 years ago from New York

      They'll keep you warm Deborah!

    • DeborahNeyens profile image

      Deborah Neyens 

      5 years ago from Iowa

      Great review. Perhaps I need to put a pair on my Christmas list!

    • tillsontitan profile imageAUTHOR

      Mary Craig 

      5 years ago from New York

      Ardie, how can you be sooo right about Uggs and not own a pair? Girl you need to do some serious shopping (insert smile here).

    • Ardie profile image

      Sondra 

      5 years ago from Neverland

      Who wouldn't want a pair of Uggs?! They're like slippers you can wear outside! And I am all for wearing my slippers outdoors. On a serious note, I don't have a pair of Uggs =( Im thinking I might need to treat myself soon. Loved your review.

    • tillsontitan profile imageAUTHOR

      Mary Craig 

      5 years ago from New York

      Funny, my husband always complains because I wear so much black and my daughter gave me my UGG's as a gift! So sorry to hear you fell....yes, the soles are pretty straight with no real traction. I've had mine for about four years and they're still going! Glad you enjoyed my hub!

    • profile image

      AudraLeigh 

      5 years ago

      Hi Mary! I chose to read your hub because it is the first review I have seen in Uggs. My sister gave them to me as a gift. I got a black pair because I wear everything black. I find them very comfy and they look nice and casual. The only issues I have is that they are not sleep resistant. I fell last year and hurt my shoulder...ouch!...and...they are made of sheep's skin...don't like that :) / I will have to say they wear well and never smell after I wear them./ I really liked this hub! Voted up!!!

    • tillsontitan profile imageAUTHOR

      Mary Craig 

      5 years ago from New York

      GF you're the best, bar none!!

    • fpherj48 profile image

      Paula 

      5 years ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

      psst! Tillie!....shhhh....we're not supposed to pimp our hubs in the comment section...but you always get upset when you don't know I have a new one.....I'm whispering.

    • tillsontitan profile imageAUTHOR

      Mary Craig 

      5 years ago from New York

      You're welcome Eddy, I had to look the history up but thought it might be interesting. Glad you enjoyed. Your vote and share is appreciated.

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 

      5 years ago from Wales

      Thank you so much tillsontitan ;I love UGG boots but knew nothing of the history!!Thank you so much for this brilliant review andI have to vote up and share.

      Eddy.

    • tillsontitan profile imageAUTHOR

      Mary Craig 

      5 years ago from New York

      Funny Bill, when I was writing this hub I thought Billy might need a trivial pursuit answer about UGG boots ... great minds think alike ;) Seriously, thanks for reading.

      I know Janine they really are so great...just slip your foot in and go...no socks!

    • Janine Huldie profile image

      Janine Huldie 

      5 years ago from New York, New York

      I love my Uggs boots and own 4 pairs in different colors. I agree with they are just so comfortable comment and mentality. Although I agree that once the warm weather hit they go back in the closet and out come my flip-flops, but for this time of year they are truly perfect. Awesome review and have voted up, shared and tweeted :)

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      5 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Mary, I have heard of them but had no clue what they were or what they looked like. I'm still laughing at Paula's comment by the way. :) Great information; I wouldn't buy any but now I'm armed with information in case they show up in a Trivial Pursuit game. :)

    • tillsontitan profile imageAUTHOR

      Mary Craig 

      5 years ago from New York

      I love them teaches but I don't know about hiking, they don't offer much support but they are warm. Glad you enjoyed my review.

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 

      5 years ago

      A friend of mine bought a pair to take to Colorado during the ski season. She said they were the perfect thing for the snowy walks and mountain hikes. I would like to see the laced pair for women, bet those are really nice and comfortable. Good review and voted up!

    • tillsontitan profile imageAUTHOR

      Mary Craig 

      5 years ago from New York

      Oh GF, my problem is in the other part of my foot (Morton's neuroma's) but that's another hub ;) I knew they were ugly but they feel good! Thanks for your support GF!

    • fpherj48 profile image

      Paula 

      5 years ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

      Til...I find the entire story (background, etc) very interesting. You've included everything anyone would need or want to know about this very popular boot.

      I'm sorry to say this (because you HAVE a pair)...but the very first time I saw a pair of Uggs, was on my DIL......and I said, "WHAT kind of boots are those?" To which she defensively replied...."You don't like my Uggs?" Of course, first thing I did was burst into laughter....and said, "No, I don't, but the name is good....Ugg.....Lee?"

      It's cool. My DIL and I get along very well. Everyone accepts me for being a point blank old lady.

      I DO know that those who have Uggs...(.LOTS of people.)....love them. They claim warmth and comfort. This is the purpose of a winter boot, after all.

      Bottom line, gf....even if I liked them, I couldn't wear them. I have to have a wedge heel on every shoe I wear, due to a heel problem.....(explanation being that the wedge takes enough pressure off my heel, for more comfort when I walk.) Great Hub = Tillie wrote it! UP++

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)