ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Foundation Review

Updated on September 13, 2012
Revlon Colorstay Whipped  Creme Foundation
Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Foundation

Will this makeup help minimize my oily skin?

For those of you who have previously read my makeup reviews you know I am a big fan of Revlon Colorstay Makeup for oily skin. I have EXTREMELY oily skin and nothing, I mean nothing, has worked as well as Revlon Colorstay Makeup. This liquid foundation is the ONLY makeup that stays in place when I'm busy working, running errands, or even swimming in the pool! Revlon Colorstay Makeup lasts for at least 16 hours and minimizes shine the entire time.

So, when I heard Revlon had made a whipped creme version of the same makeup I immediately began researching the product. I read beauty blogs, watched tutorials on YouTube and tried samples at the store. After my research I had one concern, the whipped creme did not come in a separate line made specifically for oily/combo skin like the liquid version. However, Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme received glowing reviews and many people with oily skin insisted this makeup kept their skin matte for most of the day. I was sold.

I went out to Walmart and purchased Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme in natural tan (370) for the beautiful price of $11. This makeup comes in about 12 different shades, from ivory for light skin tones to caramel for deep skin tones. As I have stated before, check the packaging before you purchase the makeup. Many people love to test the products before purchasing causing the makeup to spoil. Make sure the lid is sealed properly.


The Application

I went home and prepared to apply Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme foundation. The makeup comes in a glass jar and Revlon recommends using your fingers to apply the makeup. I washed my hands with soap and water, which is a must if you dip your fingers into any product, and I eagerly scooped out a small amount, about the size of a dime, onto my palm. The texture is hard to describe. It feels a little thick, not quite as "whipped" as I expected. However, it is lighter than traditional liquid foundations. I placed small dabs of the product onto the different sections of my face-cheeks, chin, forehead and the nose area. Using my fingertips, I used soft sweeping movements to apply the makeup. Here are my observations:

  • Applies easily
  • Makes skin feel soft and velvety
  • Covers acne scars
  • Covers brown spots
  • Buildable coverage
  • Looks natural
  • Matte finish
  • Color looks dark in the jar, but matches my beige skin tone perfectly
  • No unpleasant smell

How long did it last?

My biggest concern with any makeup product is how well can it withstand my oily skin. Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme is absolutely WONDERFUL. It actually feels better than the liquid foundation in this same line and creates a long lasting matte finish. After 16 hours I noticed only a slight shine on my nose and forehead. Even better, it looks more natural than the liquid version. Perhaps the "whipped" consistency helps create the natural look. The color did not change after a few hours like other products and it looks incredibly natural in any light, even the unforgiving sunlight. When I was driving around town I kept looking in my rear view mirror to check my makeup and I couldn't help but smile at my shine-free complexion.

Some makeup will cause my sensitive skin to breakout. Not this one. The Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme controls my oily skin and helps my pores stay clean. I no longer walk around with oil sitting on my face all day. This makeup whisks the oil away, so much in fact I rarely use my oil blotting paper anymore. I just have to be mindful when it comes to washing my face in the evening. Do not rush. Make sure you take the time to remove all traces of makeup. If you do not clean your face properly then you will breakout, but that's true with any makeup.I found the whipped creme washes away a little easier than the liquid foundation.

More Useful Information About Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme

  • Affordable
  • No SPF
  • Withstands heat and humidity
  • Time release formula balances skin
  • Blend the product outward

Any Cons?

  • Packaging is very heavy. More glass than product.
  • Wish I didn't have to stick my fingers into the product.


As you can see, my only concerns are with the packaging, not the makeup itself. Perhaps using a foundation brush or beauty blender sponge will help minimize the risk of contaminating the product. However, if you wash your hands before applying the product there should be no problems.


5 stars for Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme

Revlon Colorstay Whipped Foundation Review Video

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      arora 

      2 years ago

      hii,, i have gone through the video of revlon colourstray cream . happty and want to use. i have oily skin n for my marriage i am taking special facial.. please tell me. if i will use these cream after marriage then no side effects wont be there please tell me truely

    • Faith A Mullen profile image

      Faith A Mullen 

      5 years ago

      Good to know! I love Revlon's PhotoReady products. Might have to give this a try next time instead to see how it compares. Voted up :)

    • TeachableMoments profile imageAUTHOR

      TeachableMoments 

      5 years ago from California

      Sgbrown, I am glad you found the review useful. Thanks for stopping by and for always leaving such nice comments. Thanks for voting up as well. =) Let me know how this foundation works for you.

    • sgbrown profile image

      Sheila Brown 

      5 years ago from Southern Oklahoma

      I am really glad to find this as I have been thinking about trying it. The foundation I have been using doesn't last very long and is rather expensive. I am about out of it and ready to this one. Great review! Voted up and useful! :)

    • TeachableMoments profile imageAUTHOR

      TeachableMoments 

      5 years ago from California

      Rtalloni, thanks for taking the time to read my hub and for posting a comment. This makeup comes in a small glass jar with a nice wide opening, it could probably be used for something else once the makeup runs out. Hope the makeup works for you. Let me know how it goes.

    • RTalloni profile image

      RTalloni 

      5 years ago from the short journey

      Thanks bunches for this review. I'm in the market for make up and wanted a jar with a wide opening, but would have hesitated at the whipped consistency. I'll be trying Colorstay out thanks to this post.

    • TeachableMoments profile imageAUTHOR

      TeachableMoments 

      5 years ago from California

      Thanks Teaches for stopping by. Revlon Colorstay Makeup is often overlooked as quality makeup because it is so cheap. Many people assume the makeup is low quality. I took a chance and discovered how well it works. Hopefully it works well for others. Thanks for leaving a comment.

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 

      5 years ago

      I am going to look this up next time I am in need of make up. It certainly lasts a long time and that would make it worth the cost.

    • TeachableMoments profile imageAUTHOR

      TeachableMoments 

      5 years ago from California

      Christine, the Revlon Colorstay collection is amazing. I highly recommend any product from the Colorstay makeup line. It's affordable and it works. Thanks for stopping by and voting up.

    • Christine Miranda profile image

      Christine Miranda 

      5 years ago from My office.

      Good info. I have combo skin and have yet to find a foundation that lasts more than a few hours. I am going to have to try this one out. Thanks for the tip! Voted up.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)