ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

August Steiner Watches: Quality, Reviews & Information

Updated on March 5, 2013

If you have landed on this lens then there is a good chance that you have found an August Steiner watch on Amazon, eBay, Overstock, a similar such online marketplace, or indeed seen one on a shopping channel. The watch looks beautiful and an RRP of several hundred dollars is being claimed. Now you want to know whether August Steiner watches are really fantastic high-end watches and you are missing out on an excellent bargain, or whether you are being duped into believing that your $50 watch really does regularly sell for $300. My answer is going to be the one that you perhaps expect, your August Steiner watch is not worth several hundred dollars and it is not some prestigious Swiss watch brand with hundreds of years of fine watchmaking history. It is in fact a brand new brand which creates watches which look very expensive but are sold very cheap, but this isn't going to be an article which slates August Steiner but rather actually praises the brand.

August Steiner Watch Prices

Type in 'August Steiner' in Amazon and you will likely be presented with dozens of great-looking watches on sale for $50 to $75, each of those watches will have a high list price (e.g. $345) to create the illusion of a fantastic bargain. I actually see that strategy as a desperate marketing technique to get ahead in a saturated market which is full of reputable and established brands. I'm not angry about it though, I'd only be angry if they were actually selling their watches for several hundred dollars, and the reason that I am not angry about it because the prices that they generally ask for their watches represent Good Value For Money. I've actually purchased two August Steiner watches, the first out of curiosity, and the second because the first proved to be good value. In fact, my August Steiner watch kept better time than my Rolex, and it really did look like an expensive timepiece from the outside.

I am of course naturally wary of a brand which seeks to exploit the slightly-gullible into believing that their $50 timepiece is worth $395, it certainly isn't a marketing strategy that I would condone or use myself, but the most important thing from my point of view is that your $50 timepiece is going to be well worth $50 and probably at least a little bit more. That is a mitigating factor. Neither can you claim that their marketing strategy isn't effective, because it is probably their high list prices which have tempted you to search for and find this article.

August Steiner Watches Quality

August Steiner watches are similar in quality to any other mainstream mass-market watch in a sub-$100 price bracket. They use standard Chinese made automatic movements, of decent quality, sometimes with the use of Swiss quartz. This is another marketing strategy, they get to use the word 'Swiss' in their lingo by placing a small piece of Swiss quartz into a Chinese-made movement. There is nothing wrong with Chinese movements, in fact you will find Chinese made movements in pretty much every mass-market watch for the price. If you were spending over $150 and there was no other mitigating factor (a diamond in the dial for example), I would be telling you to look for a watch with a Swiss or Japanese movement. Most importantly though, my two August Steiner watches are still working with fantastic accuracy over one year after purchase, and both have proven to be hard-wearing and resilient watches.

The watch that you can see pictured to the right is one of the two that I myself have purchased, it is the August Steiner ASA826SS 'Mother of Pearl' bracelet watch and it is sold for around $75 including shipping on Amazon It has a list price of $395. Is it worth $395? Not in a million years. Is it worth $75? Most definitely, it's a good quality affordable watch which is comparable in quality with anything that I have purchased new with a $100 budget in the past. All of the August Steiner watches linked immediately below are worth the asking price.

August Steiner Watch Reviews

I've perused dozens of August Steiner watches to find genuine reviews from customers, and the majority of them are happy and agree with my conclusions that while these watches could never justify a price of much over $100, they are good value for the money and are relatively well-made. There are one or two timepieces which have had less favorable reviews and for that reason it is important that you do your own due-diligence before purchasing a watch. It is usual for most watch brands to have one or two less well rated watches in their range though, and that is particularly true for fashion brands. For me the question is not whether August Steiner watches are worth the money, it is whether you can spend the same amount of money for a watch which you will enjoy more, and that depends a lot on your own personal taste, consider checking out my article dedicated to the best watches for men under $100 for a general idea of what else you could be buying in this price range.

August Steiner Diamond Watches

If I were shopping on a budget of $100 for a new timepiece now I probably wouldn't invest in an August Steiner, instead choosing one of the watches on my page showcasing the best men's watches under $100, that is at least unless I was in the market for a diamond watch under $100, in which case this beautiful leather strapped gold-color timepiece by August Steiner would be a serious contender. This elegant dress tastefully uses two small diamonds at the twelve o'clock marker, and that real leather strap is very high quality. This watch actually makes my selection of the best diamond watches for men under $100, such is the high esteem that I hold it in. August Steiner haven't used diamonds extensively in their designs to be honest, but they do have a few other diamond men's watches including the two linked immediately below. This watch will cost you a little over $70 including shipping charges.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Okie 

      12 months ago

      I purchased an August Steiner watch 2015 in less than 2 years the band turned from Cooper to silver looking. The Jomashop company that sold it to me could not help me with the band turning color. I was highly upset. They market this watch to be so upscale. NOT!

    • profile image

      KRISTEN 

      2 years ago

      I got a huge rash from my gold watch, and it turned my wrist green. What crap.

    • profile image

      WAKAS TARAR 

      2 years ago

      Do not buy August stainer

      Watch I buyed two just rubbish material and fake movement

    • profile image

      Eric 

      2 years ago

      I can agree with Hannah. I purchased one from Groupon. It was suppose to be Gun Metal Grey but the plating wore off and turns your wrist green. Overall the watch does look like a high end watch but having the green wrist at the end of a day is not worth it. I might try and repurpose the watch and replate it since most of the plating has already worn off.

    • profile image

      Marilyn Childe 

      3 years ago

      i bought an August Steiner watch and it is really cheap rubbish. I have only worn it to go out in and already the gold has rubbed off and the knobs have come out. Do not buy one of these watches.

    • profile image

      husam assi 

      3 years ago

      How can I contact you I have problem with your product I bought silver watch and now is bronze I thing yiu have problem but I need sovling to my problem

    • profile image

      lala904 

      3 years ago

      Ordered the watch from an online major department store outlet for $75 and am not impressed. I paid that price because I thought I was getting a deal on a quality watch. I might as well pay $20 for a similar watch from a mall store 21 year olds (hint hint). I will be returning it tomorrow.

    • profile image

      Kia 

      3 years ago

      Wendy Williams offers August Steiner watches on her Trendy at Wendy segment. The watch is on sale for 52 dollars and I wanted to check the reviews to see what I would be getting for my money.

    • profile image

      Anna 

      3 years ago

      Just bought one from the Wendy show so I hope I like it!!!!

    • profile image

      Mike 

      3 years ago

      Sounds like Hannah got one of the knock-offs. I've purchased 5 August Steiner watches. Two simultaneously and the remaining 3 on separate occasions. One I thought looked strange because it looked very lightly different than the others. I wore it, and it happened to storm. Hours later the watch stopped ticking. Days later I noticed a white powdery substance on it and some of the color had rubbed off. I was led to believe THAT was a fake, whereas my other 4 were true August Steiner watches. So just watch out for that. Aside from that, I totally agree with the author.

    • profile image

      Hannah 

      3 years ago

      They promise the watch would be waterproof. I bought one on groupon for my husband. The first day he wore it, his wrist was green. So much for the silver.. He never kept his watch on while using water and yet it's full of water. Waterproof my ass. So instead of a nice silver waterproof watch. I have a partially bronze, plastic-like watch filler with water. That's not even worth 10 dollars.

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      5 years ago

      nice lens

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)