ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Me my elos hair removal system - user review

Updated on August 23, 2017

Me my elos Hair Removal System - User Review

I recently heard about a new hair removal system for home use, called Me my elos, that is IPL (intense pulse light) and RF (radio waves) technology based, which claims to permanently remove unwanted body hair for almost all skin types and hair colors.

as a young woman, who've always been bothered by unwanted hair, I've decided to purchase this system and to write my personal experience with it .

I bought this appliance last week (Feb 2011) and I will do my best to report to you how well it works, and if it really is worth your money, since it is expensive ($849). I will report as much as I can, so maybe you should bookmark this page (or favorite it) and stop by once in a while to read my updates.

As all of you, I really want it to work so I hope it will live to my expectations.

Some facts on Me my elos

Me my elos user review

From the user guide:

  • The me my elos system is powered by elos (Electro Optical Synergy), Syneron's clinically proven, gold standard technology that uses low-energy pulsed light together with radio frequency (RF).

  • The system is intended for immediate and long term hair removal.

  • The system is designed for the removal of hair from all body parts below the neck.

  • Hairs are removed prior to using the system or simultaneously with the shaver or epilator (Which are bought separately).

Why I decided to buy me my elos

Me my elos user review

Well I bought this hair removal system for many reasons. The most important one was that it claims to remove any type of hair, color or no color, and my hairs unfortunately aren't dark enough for laser treatments. The second reason was the comfort of doing the treatments in my own home and in my own time which was really important to me. Plus, the advertised statement of removing 89% of hairs after only 4 treatments was very appealing and to top it all, no pain involved. So it's easy to understand why I bought it, now let's hope it actually works...

Me my elos hair removal review
Me my elos hair removal review

First impression

Me my elos user review

First I'll start by saying that the system looks like a lot of hard work was put into it. Syneron took the time and the effort to make this product safe using a lot of sensors. For example, the applicator won't work if the two RF bars aren't touching the skin and if your fingers aren't touching the grip sensor on both sides of the applicator.

The cradle is made from some kind of silicon and the applicator will stop working only if it is sitting properly in the cradle. I can also say that the system looks like it is made from strong durable materials and the design very eyecatching.

Reading the user guide

Me my elos user review

The user guide is very easy to read and understand and so is the DVD, though I found that important issues are not highlighted or explained.

For example, one of the main reasons for buying this product for me was this system ability to remove any type of hair. Surprisingly, there's no explanation of how it does that anywhere in the guide. That seemed odd to me since this is one of the things that makes this system ground breaking.

I decided to call their customer service about this matter and was explained that light hair should be removed from the root for it to work, since removing in this way causes a tiny Inflammation (red dot) in the hair shaft and then the system can identify it and kill it.

The only thing said about this In the DVD and the user guide is something that goes like this "For optimal result with light hair, use the epilator" which doesn't explain why do it (cause it hurts like hell) and more importantly, don't tell you that if you use the shaver on light hair, the system won't work at all!

First treatment

Scary! Hmmm...not so much :)

I decided to do my first treatment on my underarms and in the future I will do more parts (there's many to choose from :). I shaved the area prior to the treatment with a regular razor (since I didn't buy theirs).

It was quite easy getting the hang of it and making it to flash constantly. The flashes are very bright (like camera flashes).

I'm now a week and a half after my first treatment and to be honest I don't think any hair is missing... All seems as usual and the growing rate of the hairs is as always. I hope the results will start showing in my next treatment. I will update soon...

New Update - Mixed Results

Me my elos user review

Hi guys, I'm really sorry for not updating in quite a while, I had a lot of things going on and couldn't find the time to update. So I'll try to sum up my personal experience so far.

Until now I've done three treatments on my arms and underarms and two treatments on my legs (knee down). I used and epilator to remove the hairs from my arms prior to the treatments (up to 5 minutes prior to each treatment) since I have light hairs in that area. I used a regular razor for my legs and underarms.

I can tell that some areas in my arms seem a bit more hair free, but others seem to grow hairs as usual. Since the hairs in that area are quite light, it's hard to estimate how much is really gone, especially when I have only two weeks between treatments and I use an epilator which causes a much lower growing rate compared to shaving . The real test for me would be a few weeks after my last treatment and than I will be able to say how successful was the hair reduction in that area.

I can say that I am disappointed with the results in my underarms. I really don't see any significant difference there. Although I would say that the results could be different for different people for many reasons and that can affect the results. Nevertheless, I did expect an area like that to have a high success rate, like it has in laser treatments, so this is very disappointing for me.

The good news: my legs!

I think the real difference I'm seeing is in this area and I'm only a week after my second treatment. My legs seem to have a lot of hair free patches and they look significantly smoother compared to a week without shaving. I would say it looks like 40% of the hairs are missing, so I'm really excited to see what will happen in the next two treatments.

Just to mention - the me my elos head ran out in my last treatment, so overall it managed to do three arm treatments, three underarm treatments and and two leg treatments.

Final Results

Me my elos review

My final conclusion is disappointment. I have finished all four treatments in my legs, arms and underarms. I noticed about 30% decrease in hair density in my legs and underarms. I did not see any results in my arms which was the only area that had relatively light hair and therefor I used an epilator prior to the treatments. All the hairs kept coming back as usual.

For me, this was a waist of money. I thought I would finally be able to get rid of all the hairs that were bugging me, in the privacy of my home and in my own time, but unfortunately this was not the case.

I probably won't continue with the treatments, since I don't believe I will see satisfying results in the near future. I know that there are good reviews on this machine and it's probably since different people respond differently to the treatments for all kind of reasons. I believe I was a great candidate - very light skin and dark hair, so I can't tell why it hasn't worked for me.

I would not recommend buying this machine. I do recommend trying it if you can at the store, even twice and see if you can tell the difference or to buy it with a friend or a sister and share it (you can buy separate heads) to save money if it doesn't work for you.

I hope my review was helpful and would love to hear about your experience with the me my elos system, so please write your review here and help others get a clearer picture about the success rate with this machine.

Share your experience

Please provide as many details as you can - skin color, hair color, treated areas and anything else you think is important.

Would you recommend buying me my elos?

Leave a comment - Or ask a question. I will gladly answer :)

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Dkristina 3 years ago

      Hi Guys! You can use it evrywhere you want (some places are not recommended, but i used it anyway and nothing happened) Just be careful. You can buy it www.iskinproducts.com Well at least i ordered it from there and it arrived quickly. Really helpful staff on their website.

    • profile image

      Shafs444 3 years ago

      Where can I purchase it in South Africa ?

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Where can buy it in Singapore?

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Hi,,i am interesting in this product ! i wanna know if its permanent for ever or not ,,and if i can use it for a vagina area or not???? plz reply

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Hi! I haven't bought "Me My Elos" as I was searching for more information about the treatment results. Your information about the "Me My Elos" treatment results where fantastic! I have tried Alexandrite (IPL), I have had 7 treatments in a professional beauty salon between in the bikini aerea and it was 0% successful for me, Elos treatments in professional beauty salon one year after succed 90% reduction and I only had 5 treatments. That's why I was thinking to buy "Me My Elos". As I read your comments I realise that in the machine manual is written that in 4 treatments the hair will be completely removed, but in my professional beauty salon doctor told me that for the (1) bikini aerea there has to be over 7 treatments, (2) armpit aerea has to be more than 10 sessions, (3) the legs aerea has to be more than 10 sessions only in the correct time and that it is quiet possible that I had to continue the treatments for even 1 or 2 years for a 100% reduction(if that can be possible)! So I wonder how is that possible that a home machine can have better/faster results than a professional one! My skin is white and I have dark hair, they did never use an epil for me but they saved the aereas with a razor that saves over 1mm hair height and also told me that not any aerea is the same in human body. For the face and the armpits are ormone depended aereas and I had to do more than 10 treatments! Also the treatments where too painful for me so I had to use an anesthetik cream called "EMLA" before the treatments.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Hi Girls, does someone know the new version of Elos - the quartz one.

      And do you know if the new lamp (100.000 impulses) can be used on the previous version of Me?

      Please could you answer these two questions??? i'm in Italy and the 2.0 is just arrived on the market so there is not experience (and the official support doesn't want to unswer clearly. Thanks a lot!

      I can share with you my experience with laser treatment with medical instruments done by a doctor: I had real results after 1 year (one treatment every month): a complete smooth skin but after some years hairs came out again. Laser treatment is not reallly 'for ever' and i suppose with an instrument made to be used at home you need to be very patient. Sure it is less powerful than theone used by the doctor.

      Bye bye and thank you very much,

      Mari

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Been using the Canadian version for four months. No pain and about 35% reduction. At this rate I should be hair free in 12 months. Total cost at end of 1 year should be below $1000.00

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: UPDATE: August 2012 Now on my 25th treatment on face. Little sign of improvement. I am sooo disappointed as I really believed this machine was the ONE! Feel sick to the stomach of having paid so much for the unit which to me is a total rip-off and I believe none of the positive responses by other users. Probably have not any hair growth in the first place.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I am not too happy with this product. I purchased it about 6 months back and I am into my 11th session with very little results. My reduction on my face is only about 30% and 50% on my arms. And today while doing my 10th session the razor cartridge just snapped into two leaving small pieces of plastic on my bed. I was quite shocked and totally disappointed. Obviously the plastic used in the cartridge is cheap and the hair removal results are not as stated on the product. Considering the price I paid this product is not up to the standard advertised. I wrote a comment on the elos facebook page to warn others but my post was deleted soon after. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      You know, it can take up to 2 years for all of your hair follicles to go through a complete cycle. The majority of the time, they're "dormant". The part of the hair cycle where the IPL and RF is a very small percentage. That's why you need to repeat it (just like laser), because most of the time it's not effective, so you just have to keep trying enough times until you catch each follicle in the right phase.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Thank you very much for sharing! It has been very helpful as I had thought about bying it, but it doesn't really seem to provide sufficient value for money, so I will opt out :-)

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I purchased this machine during 2011 mainly for facial hair, which are light and some are darker. The Elos appeared to be the best for facial hair after reading reviews etc. ( although not sure if comments made by some users like "fantastic results after one use" can be believed!). The instructions say to pluck hair (even facial) before using the Elos, but when I had it done professionally a few years ago, they always stressed to shave/trim hairs only and never pluck or use creams. So far, I have had 13 treatments on my face, the last two I did not pluck, but trim only. This is an awful long time and one would expect some sort of success. But ZILCH! It has made no difference whatsoever and if I could get my £400 back, I would gladly do so. Not surprisingly, I would not recommending this product.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: I'm a laser technician in a clinic and there must be hair in the follicle for the laser part of it and the RF part to work. If you aren't getting results stop epilating the hair and it will work.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Hi, I noticed some people asking about a money back guarantee...well I contacted Syneron and after about five or six days, they replied to me. I specifically asked if they could tell me if this machince came with a money back guarantee, however it's like they didn't even read my email and just looked at where my location was. All they replied back with was " Hi, thankyou for your enquiry. The Me is currently not available in Australia however we are hoping it will be released there soon". This machine is about $700AUD so it isn't cheap- I contacted a seller on Ebay who is selling the machines and they told me the 1 year warrantly only covered technological faults in the machine. I think for the amount of money they are charging that there should at least be a money back guarantee- it makes me suspicious that so far, there appears not to be. The Viss comes with a 60 day money back guarantee, the E-One (or E-Swin in Europe and the UK) comes with a 6 month money back guarantee(which is okay considering the very expensive price tag) and the Lumi IPL machine comes with a 30 day money back guarantee. I recently heard that the Tanda Me (looks exactly the same as Me My Elos, manufactured by the same company, Syneron) is available only in Canada, is about $395CAD and comes with a 60 day money back guarantee. I also emailed Tanda Me about it possibly being released outside of Canada. That was six days ago and so far yet they haven't replied.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I don't know why this has an epilator. Everything I've read say for IPL to work the hair needs to be shaved but in place at the root.

    • shush lm profile image
      Author

      shush lm 5 years ago

      @anonymous: They claim that the epilator creates a little inflimation in the hair follicle that their machine can identify. I didn't see any improvement with light hair, only with dark (which I shaved)

    • shush lm profile image
      Author

      shush lm 5 years ago

      @anonymous: I would not advise you to buy it. I didn't try to return it, maybe it was a mistake, but I know they would probably tell me that the result differ from one people to the next and there are a lot of reasons why it wouldn't work on every one so I didn't bother. The cartridge last for about 4 leg treatments (below the knee).

    • shush lm profile image
      Author

      shush lm 5 years ago

      @anonymous: After treatments you should not expose your skin to sun since it may cause pigmentation, also I think if the skin becomes dark, the treatment is less effective since there's less contrast. However, as I said before, the result are really poor, so I would advise you not to buy it...

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Has anyone returned this product because the results weren't as promised? And if so, was their guarantee what is promised, or was it a hard time with a huge run around? Please let me know. These results aren't promising. I work too hard for B.S adds. If this a good machine, I may purchase it. How long will a cartridge last?

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      To be honest, I feel that this machine does work, just not in 4 treatments. Advertisers will always exaggarate. I am thinking of buying it but I would not expect it to permanently remove all hairs in 4 treatments.

      I had done IPL treatments for my underarms at professional salons and spent a bomb on the treatments. I only managed to successfully achieve a permanent state of hair removal after 18 times! By then, I had already spent nearly $4000!

      To be able to even see results in just 4 treatments (though only 20%-30% reduction), doing the treatments at your own time and own privacy, I think spending less than $1,000 on this machine is still worth your money at the end of the day.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      How does going in the sun during the process affect things? can you still go in the sun and use a factor 30 lotion? if not how long after treatment is it ok to go in the sun? how often do you treat the same area, as I understand the hair growth has to be at a certain stage to get best results, is it weekly, monthly?

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      @anonymous: Mate, go get IPL treatment or use something like this Elos thing. Don't bother with epilators, shaving or waxing as they'll just make it worse as the hair grows back thicker. I've been getting IPL on & off for the last few years (after years of immensely painful waxing) and gone from a chest/stomach full of thick black hair you could barely see through to virtually hair-free and any hair that IS left is thin & whispy. Also been zapping my shoulders with the same results. Definitely changed my life so an absolute advocate of IPL. I've been checking out the Elos to do what hair I have left myself at home, but undecided based on the few reviews I've managed to find so far...

    • shush lm profile image
      Author

      shush lm 6 years ago

      @anonymous: Hi Jamall,

      Syneron claims that me my elos can remove any type of hair. The way they claim it can remove blond hair is by removing it from the root first, then me my elos detects the little inflammation (little red dot) the pulling caused to the hair follicle and destroys it. From my experience it didn't detect anything nor destroyed.

      Hope my answer helped :)

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      >I did not see any results in my arms which was the only area that had relatively light hair and therefor I used an epilator prior to the treatments.

      How did you expect to heat and kill hair follicle when there was no hair in it? I don't understand why they put epilator in it. Further treatments needed.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I just tried it for the first time today. I recently worked at a Medi-spa that uses the Syneron machines. I've noticed all the clients had amazing results. I hope the home system does, too. With the clients at the Medi-spa, the hair usually fell out around the 2-2 1/2 week period after the treatment.

      I also don't understand why the my Elos couldn't be used on the face. If it's not tan, the settings would be the same everywhere on the body, according to the toleration of the way it feels. With all other syneron machines, the same range of settings was used for every part of the face, neck, and body.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      Hi i'm 30 yo guy,

      i'm Bleaching the hair on my sholders and the higher part of my arms since i was 18.

      now the hairs are long and it looks awful and i can't hide it anymore, so i'm cutting the hair to keep it short and bleaching to keep it very light. i'm so Embarrassed about it, but i can't find any solution. i'm afriad that if i'll use the epilator the hair will grow darker and thicker.

      would love to read your updates and see it really works before i buy it. it will change my life...

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      Hi! Thank you so much for sharing! I have also been thinking about buying this, as it claims to remove light hairs. The problem is that i have very light hairs, everywhere, and i am worried that the treatment won't work on them. I look foreward to more updates, hopefully you can tell us how it went with your light hairs? Thank you!

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      Thanks for sharing!