ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Alfa AWUS036NH Long Range USB Wifi Adapter Review

Updated on February 2, 2013
Alfa AWUS036NH 2000mW 2W 802.11g/n High Gain USB Wireless G / N Long-Range WiFi Network Adapter with 5dBi Screw-On Swivel Rubber Antenna and 7dBi Panel Antenna
Alfa AWUS036NH 2000mW 2W 802.11g/n High Gain USB Wireless G / N Long-Range WiFi Network Adapter with 5dBi Screw-On Swivel Rubber Antenna and 7dBi Panel Antenna

I recently purchased an Alfa AWUS036NH long range high gain wifi adapter to boost my internet connection speed. I live in a remote area and there are no telephone lines, and so I am dependant on mobile wifi provided by a telecommunications mast situated about a mile from my home.

The signal is not great, so I hoped that by buying a wifi signal booster adapter with a long range would be sufficient to increase my internet connection speed to somewhere to somewhere nearer to what I am actually paying for each month.

I chose the Alfa AWUS035NH model, because it has the strongest power output at 2000mW which is a massive 2 watts of power. This wifi adapter is advertised as being the most powerful on the market today, with the longest reach available.

I also like the fact that it has a RP-SMA connector should you wish to add a long range wifi external antenna to further boost the signal.

All the Alfa 802.11 wifi adapters are B, G and N compatible, which gives you a wider range of networking capabilities.

It duly arrived in the post from Amazon, and I opened up the packaging and made sure everything was there.

There was the wifi adaptor itself which is light as a feather and smaller than a pack of cards.

Also bundled with it was the USB cable to connect it to the laptop, in my case, but of course it is designed to fit any computer with an available USB port.

They also included two on board antennas, one a 4" 5dBi screw-on swivel rubber antenna, and a separate 7dBi multi-directional flat panel antenna for even greater reception.

I connected the adapter to the computer, and was still faffling about with the packaging for the mini-driver disk when Windows 7 found the device driver and automatically installed it.

That was a relief, because quite a few reviewers on Amazon has stated that they found that the Alfa wifi adaptor was not compatible with Windows 7, 64-bit, which is my set up. Yet the sellers had quite clearly stated that it was Windows 7 compatible, as well as Windows 2000, XP 32/64, Vista 32/64, Linux (2.4.x/2.6.x),and Mac (10.4.x/10.5.x).

However, I installed the disk too which was mainly instructions on how to set it up in XP which is totally useless for anyone on a newer OS, as the networking look and interface has changed so much since then.

The Alfa AWUS036NH 2000mW with 7dbi flat panel antenna
The Alfa AWUS036NH 2000mW with 7dbi flat panel antenna
The Alfa AWUS036NH showing the RP-SMA connector for antennas, both internal and external
The Alfa AWUS036NH showing the RP-SMA connector for antennas, both internal and external

There is a software program that comes with the Alfa AWUS036NH high gain adapter, but it is is not especially user friendly or intuitive to someone like me, brand new to networking.

I spent part of the day looking up search engines to find out what WMM or WPS and things are, but am still none the wiser.

What I did manage to do was connect the device to my own internet connection and I can certainly say I saw a huge difference right away.

My signal strength was always good because my mini mobile wifi router sits right next to me, but my download speed showed a 50% increase which is phenomenal.

My Windows wireless connection interface always showed one of two of my neighbors' internet connections but with 1 bar. Now they showed 2 or 3.

I unscrewed the stick antenna and screwed in the more powerful flat antenna, and took my laptop to the window where the wifi adaptop and antenna could see the village closest to me, about a mile away.

Suddenly the screen filled up with networks, most of which were encryted, but one or two of which were open. However, the signal strength was not great.

I then took the laptop outside and pointed the antenna is the other direction, and suddenly there was not just one or two neighbors' networks showing, but dozens, and all at 4 or 5 bars, which would mean an excellent connection speed if I knew their encryption codes, which I don't, and don't intend to try finding out.

My Review of the Alfa AWUS036NH Wifi Adapter

What I would like to do next is to buy an external wall-mounted parabolic wifi antenna, which with some lengths of cabling can be connected to my Alfa AWUS036NH adapter, which will not only bring me a perfect reception for the Town Hall's free wifi, but could possibly increase my own connection speed up to the 3G that I pay for.

Overall, I am delighted with this high gain wifi adaptor which really does what it says on the box. I would strongly advise anyone with internet connection problems to look at this superb device to solve their signal problems.

5 stars for Alfa AWUS036NH Wifi Adapter

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • IzzyM profile imageAUTHOR

      IzzyM 

      2 years ago from UK

      It needs a USB input. Would probably work through an adaptor.

    • profile image

      cabobob1@yahoo.com 

      2 years ago

      Will this work on my samsung galaxy s4 cell phone and my galaxy notebook?

    • IzzyM profile imageAUTHOR

      IzzyM 

      4 years ago from UK

      I've moved house (and countries) since I got mine. I still use it, because the house router can't pass through an especially thick wall to my bedroom, but the wifi adapter can!

    • DATALOAD profile image

      DATALOAD 

      4 years ago from Michigan

      I have one of these and I must say they are amazing. They've gotten cheaper since I purchased mine.

    • IzzyM profile imageAUTHOR

      IzzyM 

      6 years ago from UK

      The Alfa adapter is perfect for travel being so small and light and it will bring an awful lot more hotspots into range wherever you stop.

    • HikeGuy profile image

      Bryce 

      6 years ago from Northern California Coast

      Excellent review. Thanks for including the size and the degree of improvement you experienced with the product. I want an adapter for a fail-safe at home and for travel.

    • BABYCHICOSREVEIWS profile image

      BABYCHICOSREVEIWS 

      6 years ago from Fort Pierce Florida

      Very nice review great detail

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)