ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Technology»
  • Consumer Electronics & Personal Gadgets»
  • Portable Electronics»
  • Tablets

Apple IPad Mini: A Review

Updated on June 22, 2014
Janine Huldie profile image

Janine is a published author in Only Trollops Shave Above the Knees, appears on The Huffington Post and at Confessions of A Mommyaholic.

Source
4.9 out of 5 stars from 7 ratings of Apple iPad Mini

As a tried and true fan of all things Apple, I couldn't help but be interested in the newest member of the Apple family or better known as the iPad Mini. Yes, it is true that I own an Apple MacBook Pro, an iPad 3 (after having previously owned the iPad 2 also) and an iPhone 4 (I call them the Trifecta of Apple products). I love all things Apple and since the iPad Mini was released, of course, I was completely intrigued and needed to know what this device was capable of and if it may be worth adding to my growing Apple device collection.

So here and now, I am going to break down the specs and take a better look at the iPad Mini for anyone else who too may be inquiring about it. And if you are indeed interested in purchasing from the Apple Store, click here.

Source
Source

The Design..

Apple is marketing this product as,"The whole package. In a smaller package." This comes directly from their own website and are making its main selling point that is an iPad in 'every way, shape and form' only smaller. So let's take a better look at the actual design.

Display: 7.9" Screen:

So, the screen is apparently 7.9" compared to iPad 3's screen measuring in at 9.50". Even though it is a a little less than 2" smaller than the traditional iPad, it still affords the user the same capabilities as the iPad 3, by letting you still enjoy the iPad experience of surfing the web on Apple's Safari browser, take and view photos, listen to music in iTunes, purchase Apps from the App Store and still so much more.

Thin and Light Design as Always:

The iPad Mini comes in at 7.2 millimeters versus the iPad 3 that measures 9.4 millimeters in thickness. The iPad mini also weighs in at 0.68 lbs. versus the iPad 3's 1.44 lbs. So, the iPad mini definitely is thinner and lighter in comparison to current iPad 3.

Bottom line it is just like an iPad 3 in design, but on a smaller scale!

Source
Source

Apps...

Right from Apple's site, the App Store alone has over 275,000 apps that can be downloaded on or used on the iPad Mini, as well as any of the other Apple products, such as the iPad 3 or iPod or iPhone, too. It is not just the sheer quantity though that is impressive, it is the graphics and ease of so many of these Apps that let the user do so very much, such as iPhoto, which allows the viewer the ease of taking photos, storing and editing them too all in one place. Also, some other Apps are iBooks, where you can download and read the latest e-books available on the market now; iMovie, that allows the user to shoot 1080p video and then allows the video footage to be edited to possibly even make into a small movie. These are just a few of the Apps to mention that can be purchased and used. Some even come pre-loaded, such as Siri, e-mail and FaceTime, too.

I again own the iPad 3 and have all these Apps and then some. I can tell you this bottom line, you won't here me complain about the App selection, because there is truly something for everyone here, between adults and kids in my house, all are pleased and the only issue is fighting over who will use it first!

Source
Source

Performance...

The iPad Mini's performance has been called 'incredible' and 'mighty' by Apple. It is an Apple product and so that means it has an A5 chip in it that makes for fast and powerful performance of this little device. In plain English, it is supposed to be fast and allow for very smooth operating of any and all Apps that you use on it. My IPad 3 is notorious for being extremely fast and even when downloading Apps or updates has always been super quick. So, from all I have seen here the same can be applied to the iPad Mini, too.

Battery Life:

The battery life is also a huge plus being touted as having a 10 hour battery life. I have the iPad 3 and during Hurricane Sandy, I used my iPad for reading books in iBooks. We were without power for those who know us for 2 days and my battery was still at 95% being the only technical device I used during this time. Pretty impressive if you ask me and from all I am hearing the same can be said for the iPad mini's battery life and then some!

Source
Source

FaceTime and iSight Cameras...

The iPad Mini has two cameras for the price of one, I suppose. The first camera is the front facing FaceTime Camera and the second is the iSight camera on the back.

FaceTime:

The front facing FaceTime camera allows the user video call to others who also have FaceTime and can be viewed in realtime by all of those contacts with either the use of Wifi or cellular plans, too. I have used this camera with my husband, so my kids can see him and he can see them during the day when he is at work. Really such a wonderful feature and sounds like it works just as nice on the iPad mini as well. Using FaceTime, one can also use the iSight camera on the back too, because this allows the person you are speaking with to see what you are seeing.

iSight Camera:

The i-Sight camera on the back can also be used to to take 5-megapixel still photos. My husband would kill me for saying this, because he works for Canon and we have a Canon Powershot and a Canon DSLR, which he uses non-stop for pictures, but I will be honest and tell you I use my iPhone and or iPad to take all my photos all the time now. So, I can attest that the Apple camera is a fairly descent camera and is totally worthy of the praise I have seen for it. The iPad mini's camera is on the same level as my iPad 3 and love the pictures I have taken and shared with it. So I don't think you will be disappointed with the camera on this device.

Video Recording:

The iPad Mini also has video recording capability in 1080p HD, when using the iSight camera. It also has what is called automatic video stabilization, which frees one's video recording of bumps and shakes. I have also used the video camera on the iPad 3, which is again similar and have no complaints there either. I have gotten beautiful and awesome video footage of my kids that I will cherish forever, so yet again I think most would be very happy with the video recording capabilities here, as well.


Source
Source

Ultrafast Wireless...

Apple says that it has 'Fast Connection: All Over the World'. So what does this mean?

Just like the iPad 3 and its predecessors, the iPad mini can be used with either WiFi or Cellular capability depending upon if you were to purchase the device that could be hooked up to cellular networks.

WiFi:

As for WiFi, it is twice as fast as any previous generations of iPads. It has a dual-band WiFi with 2.4GHz and 5GHz on top of that can reach up to speeds of 150 Mbps. What in the world does this mean? Seriously I am not a technical person, but for those who are more power to you. For those who are like me and technology challenged, this boils down to the fact that the WiFi capability is fast, very fast. Again, my iPad has always been fast and from what I have seen this is even faster, if one could imagine.

Cellular Network Use:

For those times, when you are unable to use WiFi and would like the option of using cellular or LTE Network Connections which according to Wikipedia is as follows: "LTE an initialism of Long Term Evolution, marketed as 4G LTE, is a standard for wireless communication of high-speed data for mobile phones and data terminals, which is based on the GSM/EDGE and UMTS/HSPA network technologies, increasing the capacity and speed using a different radio interface together with core network improvements." This, by they way, is available in certain models if you choose. I will be honest and tell you the only device that I have this capability is on my iPhone and truly didn't see the need for my iPad, because I only ever use it at home, but if you do want to use outside your home and need to use something other than WiFi than it is nice to know that the option does exist and from all that do use it I hear it is great and also pretty fast.

Source
Source

Siri...

Apple has called this 'Your Intelligent Assistant'. For those who don't know, what is Siri?

Siri is a built-in feature that allows the user to ask the iPad Mini questions and be answered back. You can ask it pretty much anything, "From what is today's weather?" to "Can you find me the most recent book I was reading?". It truly will try it's best to answer and for those who were born before the 21st century like me, I guess the Jetson's were right when they said robots would talk to us! Seriously, though a very cool, neat feature and if you haven't tried it, you should go test run it at your local Apple Store.

IOS and iCloud...

Yes, Apple is known for many things with their products and two more names that one cannot escape in the Apple world is IOS and iCloud. What do these words mean?

IOS:

Apple calls it 'The World's Most Advanced Operating System'. Quite simply this is the system that allows your device to operate everything on it, including all your lovely Apps. Right now, the most updated IOS is IOS 6 and from Apple's website, the iPad Mini comes already pre-loaded with IOS 6 all ready to use when you open the box. Having owned previous editions of iPads, I can tell you that setup is usually fairly easy and straightforward. Just take it out of the box, turn on, charge and follow the prompts to indeed setup. And then begin enjoying!

iCloud:

Again this comes pre-loaded on the iPad mini and can tell you (as I stated earlier) from owning all three with the iPad 3, iPhone and MacBook, I use this system daily. For instance, if I take a picture with my iPhone, it will be stored of course on the phone, but is clouded into my iPad photo library and my MacBook photo library, too. So very easy and quite convenient, as well. This is also the case if you download and begin reading on a book on your iPad and then want to read it on your iPhone later or music, too. It will be ready and waiting on your other devices right where you left off. I admit I love this feature and has saved me so much time and headaches also.

Source

AirPlay...

AirPlay requires AppleTV, which I will be honest, I do not own. So, what I know about this feature is from their website and what I have seen in the store, as well. With AirPlay, you can play music and/or video on your iPad mini and watch it on your HDTV again barring that you also own AppleTV.

AirPrint also is a part of this and that I do have access to, because I stated earlier my husband works for Canon and we own a Canon printer capable of this feature. AirPrint allows one to print over your WiFi connection on your AirPrint capable printer without having to plug anything in and does this all wirelessly. I have done this now time and time again and truly love the ease of it. I can be upstairs and hit print on my iPad and find the document printed and waiting downstairs on the printer for me. What could be easier than that?

Source
Source

Smart Cover...

This Smart Cover is so very similar to the original sized iPad Smart Cover and is just smaller. How the cover works is you attach it magnetically to your iPad and cover the iPad with it to put it into sleep mode and open the cover it to wake your iPad up again. Also, can be used to stand the ipad up while in use. Truly ingenious and works perfectly, because I have the pink one (yes pink is my favorite color even at 35 years old!) on my iPad. It also comes in many colors, too. Fits perfectly and doesn't even add any bulk to the iPad Mini when in use.

Source
Source

Lightning Connector...

The Lightning Connector is an ultra-slim connector and is needed because the iPad mini is so very slim and light. Normally, the original iPad have used a 30-pin connector, but again the iPad Mini is smaller and thus the need for the lightning connector. So what is a lightning connector? It is a charger that allows the user to re-charge the iPad Mini. After reading up on it, the one thing that does sound better than the original iPad's charger is the fact that anyway you choose to connect the charger it will plug in, because it is reversible. Anyone that has the original iPad knows that the charger has to be connected one way only and is not reversible, meaning that in the dark you could be fumbling to figure out how to connect and charge your device. Take it from someone who knows, who just went through having two days without power from Hurricane Sandy (not that I could charge it in this power outage, but hoped that the power would indeed come back and left it on the charger at night hoping to find power back in the morning) that tried fumbling to connect the iPad charger in the dark, it was not easy. So, this new feature is definitely a plus.

Source

Bottom Line...

The bottom line here is that the iPad mini sounds like a wonderful addition to the Apple family, but I think if you already own an iPad 3 (like we do), then you may just be Ok for the time being. Although, if you want to own an iPad that is a bit on the smaller scale and you don't already own any other iPad, this may work out very nicely for you.

My husband and I are truly playing around with buying this for our kids for a joint Christmas gift, who fight over our iPad 3's. Figuring it is a bit more moderately priced and this would be their one big gift.

Yes, I left out price up until now to sum up for those who may be interested. Here now is the pricing information for all models (WiFi and WiFi/Cellular):

Wi‑Fi Models:

16GB $329
32GB $429
64GB $529

Wi‑Fi + Cellular Models:

16GB $459
32GB $559

64GB $659

Happy shopping!!!

Source
Source

About the Author...

Janine is a freelance writer and mom of two. She is known for being a stay at home mom to two beautiful little girls right now. Life can totally get hectic and has learned to perfect and improvise all day and night too, because of this. You can checkout her profile and more of her family related articles here.

Are you interested in writing for Hubpages? You can sign up today and publish your first article!

© 2012 Janine Huldie

Source

Watch All About the iPad Mini Here...

Source

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 2 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks again Stargrrl and I know we love our iPad Mini here, too. So, happy I could share with you on this.

    • profile image

      Stargrrl 2 years ago

      I own an iPod mini, and I absolutely love it. Good hub.

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 3 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks Alphadogg16 and my girls also are wanting me to get them for Christmas for them. So, I am glad I did my research for when we were thinking of them for ourselves, too.

    • Alphadogg16 profile image

      Kevin W 3 years ago from Texas

      Great hub Janine Huldie, my daughter wants the iPad mini for her birthday & this gave really good insight. Thumbs up.

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 3 years ago from New York, New York

      Thank you and truly my pleasure.

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 3 years ago from New York, New York

      Totally my pleasure and we are now thinking of getting the minis for our girls, too for Christmas here, because they love ours. So definitely sold myself on it, too!

    • DealForALiving profile image

      Sam Deal 3 years ago from Earth

      This was a good read. Thanks for the hub!

    • vocalcoach profile image

      Audrey Hunt 3 years ago from Nashville Tn.

      Thanks for this excellent review on the IPad-Mini. I have a regular size IPad that is practically new. Still learning how to use it. :)

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 3 years ago from New York, New York

      My pleasure and thank you for your kind words about my article, too.

    • Rehan Ahmad profile image

      Rehan Ahmad 3 years ago from United States

      Thanks for such insight of ipad. I'm samsung tab2 user. Your articles is very helpful for someone who is considering to choose one the similar device

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 3 years ago from New York, New York

      Thank you for saying that about my Hub and writing. I must admit, I just love Apple products. I do understand they are a bit more pricy, but as much as I know Samsung is the in thing right now and will not concede that their newest phones and tablets are truly impressive, I will always be an Apple girl at heart.

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 4 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks and I also have the iPad 3 and love it. Use it all the time and was happy to do this review to help those out thinking of making this purchase.

    • JPSO138 profile image

      JPSO138 4 years ago from Cebu, Philippines, International

      Great review. I also have an ipad 3 and in fact, I am using it right now to do my comments here. I also use it to deliver presentations by connecting it to the projector. Great hub..

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks so very much Vellur for reading and your comment, too!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks so much Myz for the comment and share, too!!

    • Vellur profile image

      Nithya Venkat 5 years ago from Dubai

      Another cool and sleek gadget form Apple - great review.

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      I love this super cool Ipad!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      My pleasure Ignugent17 and glad to help out. Thank for your kid words and for the votes, too!!

    • profile image

      ignugent17 5 years ago

      Thanks for the information Janine. It is always nice to know the product before buying.

      Voted up and useful! :-)

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Audra, thank you so very much for your kind words, share and votes, too. I truly appreciate that and do hope your boyfriend does enjoy this article if and when you share it with him :) :)

    • profile image

      AudraLeigh 5 years ago

      Janine, you are a very good writer! You are very organized and provide great details to this product review. My boyfriend is a total mac/apple freak! He will love this! Great article..voting up and sharing!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thank you so much FSlovnec, totally appreciate the read and comment, too!!

    • FSlovenec profile image

      Frank Slovenec 5 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      Very thorough well written review...thank you!!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks Joseph and so happy to see you here. Totally appreciate your kind words :) :)

    • Lord De Cross profile image

      Joseph De Cross 5 years ago

      A thorough review that could be added to the Apple brochure. Technicalities were reduced to the minimum for better consumer appeal. Seems like Steve Jobs left his empire in good hands!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks so much Mel and trust me I used to not care either way, but I bought my first apple product (my MacBook)and have never turned back. Seriously, love their products and glad to share some information for you and everyone else. Appreciate all your kind words here :)

    • MelChi profile image

      Melanie Chisnall 5 years ago from Cape Town, South Africa

      I'll admit, I wasn't much of an IPad fan, I didn't see what the big deal was, but after reading your article I'm having second thoughts. You did a fantastic job here!! Well done! :)

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks Kelly and I know the argument of who gets the iPad over the iPhone all too well around here and that is just between a 3 year old and 2 year old. No joke, these kids crack me up. That said so happy to share and give you a possible gift purchase for your kids :) :)

    • RealHousewife profile image

      Kelly Umphenour 5 years ago from St. Louis, MO

      I just got the iPad 3 - my husband gifted it to me about 2 days before they released 4! I love it though and I think you are right - I can survive with my iPad and wait a bit for the mini. It looks great and I tell you - I couldn't LIVE without my iPad...!

      Maybe I will get my girls a mini too! Thats a great idea - one of them has my old iPad and they kind of argue about who gets to use it.

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks Mike for stopping by here and commenting too. Glad to help and We have the regular iPad, but have seen the mini and think you will be very happy with your purchase :) :)

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Glimmer Twin Fan, thank you so very much and we are also an Apple household, but totally understand having one too many things on your plate, because we too have our fair share, too.

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Michelle, seriously as always thank you so very much for the comment and for always sharing, too. I know what you mean up the price consideration and believe me can totally understand!!

    • Mike Robbers profile image

      Mike Robbers 5 years ago from London

      I've certainly been hearing a lot of talk about the iPad Mini, although I've never even used even a "regular" iPad.

      I'm going to try an iPad mini quite soon though and possibly buy as well,, I definitely need it :)

    • Glimmer Twin Fan profile image

      Glimmer Twin Fan 5 years ago

      Voted up and useful! You really did a lot of research here Janine! We are an Apple household, but I think we'll skip on this. We have too many other things on our plates right now.

    • midget38 profile image

      Michelle Liew 5 years ago from Singapore

      Saw it in the shops the other day and was pretty tempted to upgrade...but because of cost considerations, I'll leave it for now! Thanks for sharing, Janine. I share too!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks Lipnancy for your kind words here and so glad to help in your decision :)

    • Lipnancy profile image

      Nancy Yager 5 years ago from Hamburg, New York

      I would have never considered buying one until I read your review. Thanks for the education.

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thank you Richard and seriously missing seeing you the last few days. I am happy though to see you back around these parts and glad you enjoyed. Also thank you for the many votes, too!!!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Becky, so happy to share and give you a bit of a basis for this product. Thanks you so very much for stopping by and commenting, too!!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Mary, thank you so much again and thought just like you before I owned an iPad, now I don't know how I ever lived without the darn thing!! Seriously that you so much :) :)

    • rcrumple profile image

      Rich 5 years ago from Kentucky

      Janine - Since when do I not get notices of your releases on HP's? I can't believe I missed this! Not that I will ever buy one of these (until I have to because they stop making laptops), but at least I'd like to read about what they offer! Guess it's time for me and HP to talk about notices again! Seriously, great job and extremely informative! Up & Useful & Interesting!

    • shiningirisheyes profile image

      Shining Irish Eyes 5 years ago from Upstate, New York

      Janie - As someone who is a bit "backward" with regards to the latest gadgets hitting the market, I wanted to let you know you are my first source for understanding these products.

      I thank you so many good reviews.

    • mary615 profile image

      Mary Hyatt 5 years ago from Florida

      What a wonderful review for the IPad. I hope you entered this Hub in the contest for reviews because it is excellent!

      As frugal as I am, I would never spend this kind of money, but I know a lot of people will and you have given those people a good review of this product.

      I voted this Hub UP, etc.

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks Ruchira and I think Siri is a huge hit for many kids and takes the place of asking us 'why' all the time, lol!! Seriously, thank you so very much :)

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks Docmo. I love that you too have the trifecta of Apple products too and agree about if you have the iPad 3 that the mini may not be worth it, but I think does have its niche and place for many others though. Thank you so much again for everything :)

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks Michelle and no worries we truly have a ton on our plates lately and just thank you for always being so kind and wonderful of a friend to me!!!

    • Ruchira profile image

      Ruchira 5 years ago from United States

      Great review, Janine.

      Siri is a big hit for my kid. He loves asking her questions and I find her answers quite amusing.

    • Docmo profile image

      Mohan Kumar 5 years ago from UK

      A great review... like you I am a proud owner of an iMac, ipad3 and iphone4s trifecta.. ipad Mini looks cute but comes across as an essentially an ipad offspring... love the fact they managed to cram all the power and functionality in a cuter mini model. up/awesome.

    • midget38 profile image

      Michelle Liew 5 years ago from Singapore

      A wonderful review, Janine. Just saw it and am thinking of upgrading, so I will keep the article for the ins and outs. Sorry to be late in commenting... didn't know that you'd posted! Sharing now!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thank you so much Eddy and happy to share and glad you got a bit of introduction to the iPad mini here. Thanks again and hope you too are having a wonderful day!!

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 5 years ago from Wales

      Brilliant Janine I know nothing about these or at least I didn't until I read this. A wonderful article which I vote up and share.

      Take care and enjoy your day.

      Eddy.

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks Nell for the comment and votes up too. So happy to share and do hope it helps you out if you decide to chose one!!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks Crissytsu!!!

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 5 years ago from England

      Great review Janine, I just have my old laptop at the moment but what to upgrade to something else, so this is great, voted up! nell

    • crissytsu profile image

      crissytsu 5 years ago from Texas

      Oh it's cute!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Traslochimilano, thank for stopping by and commenting too!!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks Emily and appreciate you reading, commenting and kind words too :)

    • traslochimilano profile image

      traslochimilano 5 years ago from USA

      Apple Ipad ! Just Rocking

    • emilybee profile image

      emilybee 5 years ago

      Awesome and very comprehensive hub! Love the dividers, too!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Oh so happy to help and hope you your hubby loves it if you get it for him :)

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 5 years ago

      Thanks, Janine. This does help. Very interested in this as a possible Christmas gift for hubby!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thank you so much Dianna. I have the same cover for my IPad 3 and have to tell you it truly doesn't weigh much, but googled it for you and found out on Apple's site that the cover weighs 4.9 ozs. Hope this helps and if you have anymore questions, ask away and will try to help :)

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 5 years ago

      You have sold me on this. What I like is the larger screen. I find my iphone adequate, but my big fingers need more space! Also, do you know if the cover adds weight to the pad? My friend's cover is heavy, adding additional bulk to her tote.

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      I know Linda and love that it comes in all sizes now!! As for us as I said, I think if we get one it would be more for the kids to use, so that they don't keep trying to use our iPads. but see your point and thanks you so much for reading and commenting, too!!

    • Sunshine625 profile image

      Linda Bilyeu 5 years ago from Orlando, FL

      Small, medium and large BFF's! Haha! I considered buying one, but I doubt it...overpriced. Thank you for the fabulous review!!! ;)

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Duffsmom, can totally understand your issue of the iPad 3 being a bit bulky when you are reading and happy to share this with another Apple fan. Thank you so much for your comment and kind words, too!!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Point2make, thank you so much too for all your kind words and votes too. Glad you enjoyed and hope you can get an iPad mini very soon!!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thanks JPMC, very much appreciate it!!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Audrey, so glad this review helped you out a bit and do hope Santa brings you one. Thank you so much for everything, including the votes and share, too!!

    • duffsmom profile image

      P. Thorpe Christiansen 5 years ago from Pacific Northwest, USA

      This is on my Christmas list. I lover my iPad 3, but it is a little heavy to comfortable hold for reading. Like you, I am a devote Apple fan. I think there technology is second to none. Thanks for the great informative review.

    • point2make profile image

      point2make 5 years ago

      Thank-you for such a complete and helpful review. I am in the market for a tablet and the iPad mini is certainly on my radar. I appreciate the effort and time you put into this hub. You did an excellent job.....voted up.

    • jpcmc profile image

      JP Carlos 5 years ago from Quezon CIty, Phlippines

      What a great review. Tablets are becoming more popular today.

    • vocalcoach profile image

      Audrey Hunt 5 years ago from Nashville Tn.

      Oh boy do I ever want one of these! You've totally sold me. What a marvelous review. So well written. I love the features and will put this on my list to Santa:) Voted up and more and sharing.

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      So are you Mike and will back link your IPhone 5 Hub article here too. Thank you so much again and you too have a wonderful night!!!

    • CloudExplorer profile image

      Mike Pugh 5 years ago from New York City

      You are too cool Janine, you deserve all the best, I hope you Win first place. Have a wonderful hubbing night, and I will also link your hub here to my iPhone 5 hub. Awesome, awesome, awesome!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Nightnight, thank you too for all your kind words and very much appreciate it!!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Michael, what can I say that we haven't already said? But thank you from the bottom of my heart for all your help and feedback. You truly have helped me more than you will ever know and I just can't say how much I truly do appreciate that. Thank you, thank you seriously over and over again!!!

    • nightnight profile image

      nightnight 5 years ago from UK

      Awesome review! I think you might have just won the review contest :)

    • CloudExplorer profile image

      Mike Pugh 5 years ago from New York City

      Wow! I won't let others in on the cool FB sharing we just got done doing, that would ruin all the fun hehe (:

      This hub review on the iPad mini to me truly is the best review I 've had the pleasure of reading thus far here on hubpages, because it covers everything I could ever question. Not that I know of what to ask about Apple products, because I love Microsoft, and Google's products, but this hub makes me wanna try out that cool iPad mini, and loads more of Apple's juicy looking and sounding, as well as functioning gadgets.

      You my dear may have yourself a winner here in terms of the hubpages review contest, I am going to vote for it in every way I can. This hub was very well written, extremely useful to me, awesomely visual, and I'm sure many others will feel the same or even better then I do after reading it all.

      Powerful stuff Janine, thanks for sharing your info with us all, amazing! Oh and I really loved the page breaks, and images. Bravo!

      Thumbs way up and getting shared everywhere I can.

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Cyndi, I love my Apple products and truly don't know how I lived so long without them, lol!! Seriously thanks for reading and commenting, too!!

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Julie, thank you so very much and tried my best to give all real life examples, because I know I don't want to read a review from someone that has no clue or connection to the actual product. Thanks again :)

    • cclitgirl profile image

      Cynthia Sageleaf 5 years ago from Western NC

      Good review. One of these days I'll get my apple stuff. One of these days. :)

    • Jools99 profile image

      Jools99 5 years ago from North-East UK

      Janine, excellent review and all the better because you were able to use real-life examples of its battery life (in your recent unfortunate circumstances). The formatting is wonderful too with great screen shots and photos.

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Kelley, thank you so very much for saying such lovely things about my review and appreciate your good wishes, too. Thanks you so very much :)

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Mary, I am so happy that I helped you with your decision with looking into an iPad and hope that you do indeed get one. If you do, please let me know what you think. Thank you so much for your kind words here and for your votes and share too. Can't say thank you enough :)

    • profile image

      kelleyward 5 years ago

      Wow Janine! This review looks like a winner to me! You put so much time and effort into this hub! Voted up and useful! Good luck with the contest! Take care, Kelley

    • tillsontitan profile image

      Mary Craig 5 years ago from New York

      This is an awesome review! You've provided all the information anyone could possibly want or need about the new Mini. I've always been a PC person but since seeing the iPAD, want one! Now that I've read your hub I'm thinking the Mini might be for me. It has all the options I need according to what I've read here!

      Voted up, useful, awesome, and interesting. I shared this for people like me to read and learn ;)

    • Janine Huldie profile image
      Author

      Janine Huldie 5 years ago from New York, New York

      Thank you so much Bill for being my first comment. I was glad to share and really needed to do the research to decide for my own kids, so I figured I could kill two birds with one stone so to speak here. I appreciate you reading and being so kind. And was happy actually have some time to write a HP article finally again :)

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 5 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Useful information about this product, Janine! It's not something I would ever buy but you have done a good job of pointing out its features. Good job my friend!