ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Can You Really Check Who Is Viewing Your Facebook Profile? Facebook Scams & Hoaxes

Updated on June 24, 2013
Facebook Profile Viewer Scam: Rogue Application
Facebook Profile Viewer Scam: Rogue Application

Facebook Private Profile Viewer Scam

The internet is full of scams and tricks to gain access to your private information. Facebook is not immune.

One of the most common scams on Facebook is called 'Facebook Profile Viewer'.

It is a scam.

Be aware of a rogue application on Facebook which is claiming to allow you to be able to see exactly who has viewed your profile.

You may have noticed messages appearing in your news feed with wording similar to this:

"...I can't believe it's real.....we can now see who's viewing our profile"

"...Check Who's Viewing Your Profile..."

There a few other variations doing the rounds however the main point that needs to be made clear is that these messages, and any suggestion that you can see who has viewed your Facebook profile is completely fake!

What is a rogue application?

Typically a rogue application is entirely suspicious in nature. They are set up to link to a website or promotion that could be anything from a money making scheme or something purely designed to capture your private and secure information.

All of which are not Facebook related in anyway.

What happens if I click on the link accidentally?

For those who are intrigued by the Facebook Profile Viewer and opt to click on the link, or those purely doing it in error, will be presented with a 'request for permission' screen, which is essentially requesting access to your profile.

These requests are typical of most apps on Facebook, including the safe and legitimate ones. Such requests ask for access for basic information, photos, and data.

By clicking the 'Allow' button you are practically handing your personal profile over to the scammers behind this application.

Facebook Profile Viewer - HOAX - Request For Permission
Facebook Profile Viewer - HOAX - Request For Permission

You may also be presented with a sample of those who have actually viewed your profile to date, coupled with the amount of times. Be aware that this is completely made up and designed to capture you immediately.

Fake list of people who have supposedly viewed your profile on Facebook
Fake list of people who have supposedly viewed your profile on Facebook

What you do not see however is that simultaneously, the same message that you saw, which prompted you to proceed down this path, is now appearing on your own Facebook profile wall; and so the cycle continues.

Another Recent Privacy Scare
Another Recent Privacy Scare | Source

How to undo this and remove access to the Facebook Profile Viewer

If you have clicked on the link, do not worry, you can very quickly and easily undo any potential damage.

First of all, go to your Facebook timeline, and remove the message or notification of this event to prevent anyone else from falling victim.

You may also want to warn your friends or anyone else if you this on their wall by advising them that not only is this a hoax but potentially malicious.

Secondly, you must revoke access to the app from your settings of your account.

At the top of your Facebook page, click Home and 'Account Settings'.

Select apps on the left hand side and it will display a detailed list of all the applications that you have authorised to interact with your Facebook account.

Find the Facebook Viewer Profile app in the list. It may have a variety of names, but if it is the most recent app that you have granted access to, it will be listed right at the top.

Select the x next to the word edit and you will be prompted with a message 'Remove........' Are you sure you want to. Make sure you select the tick box to ensure all activity is removed, then press remove and once confirmed it will be all done.

That is it.

Facebook Profile Viewer App Removal Instructions
Facebook Profile Viewer App Removal Instructions

Unfortunately there are far too many of these type of scams and hoax messages that hit our news feed regularly, and innocent people click on them, opening themselves up to potential infiltration.

Facebook security is tight, there is no doubt about that but I am sure these types of rogue apps get created faster than they can close them down.

Rogue applications can be used to scoop up personal information, or spread spam and scams rapidly across the social network. If you mistakenly installed a rogue app, you now know how to remove it and revoke all access to your private account.

And don't forget - Facebook does not give you any way to find out who has been viewing your profile. Any application or link which claims it can, is completely untrue.

Whilst these instructions are focused on this particular app, they can equally apply to removing and revoking access to any other app that you have previously granted access too. So use and reuse the simple three step process. You may also want to do a regular cleanup of the games or general 'safe and legitimate' apps that you have granted access to over your time on Facebook. There may be some that you do not even use anymore or have forgotten about all together. Regular account settings checking is a clever and simple way to keep privacy on track.

All Hubs are Original Material by 'Work At Home Mums' ©

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Cameron Conner profile image

      Cameron Conner 4 years ago from Cornelius, North Carolina

      Very useful. I haven't seen this yet but if I do you will have saved me. Thank you and I will try to pass along the info to my friends and family.

    • WorkAtHomeMums profile image
      Author

      WorkAtHomeMums 4 years ago from Australia

      Thank you. Let's hope you never see it or any of its rogue cousins.

    • galleryofgrace profile image

      galleryofgrace 4 years ago from Virginia

      Great info. I just got 2 requests in FB for this. I'll go now and delete the posts before someone clicks on them.

      Thanks a bunch.

    • Vitallani profile image

      Bryony Harrison 4 years ago from UK

      Thanks for the warning.

    • mperrottet profile image

      Margaret Perrottet 4 years ago from Pennsauken, NJ

      I came across this, and figured it was a scam. This is a good warning, and also has good information on how to undo things if you made the mistake of clicking. Voted up and useful.

    • Marchi profile image

      Marchi 4 years ago from Australia

      Very useful read, indeed and will be sharing on several platforms. Thanking you....

    • snigdha.s profile image

      snigdha.s 4 years ago from India,mumbai

      I came across this and fell for this scam. In fact earlier the link would not work and took very long to load. It would ask permission to access your FB account and if you would skip it then they would keep you waiting for more than 20 minutes. twice it did show the list of visitors although after reading your hub I doubt their credibility. Fortunately the application was not installed. Thanks for sharing.

    Click to Rate This Article