ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Going paperless: A Review of the Doxie Go X2 Portable Rechargeable Scanner

Updated on March 13, 2015
Matthew Meyer profile image

Matt has more than 20 years experience in IT, support, development, training, and digital art.

Going paperless

Going paperless has become a common mantra for people who quest to reduce clutter in their lives. There are even services that have you forward all your mail to them, they then open, scan, and forward each letter as a digital document to their customers. That is a bit extreme and expensive for my purposes, but there is a middle ground.

Until recently, I tried to keep up with documents using a flatbed scanner, Dropbox, and Evernote, but this resulted in piles of paper waiting for me to scan, as it takes a long time to scan, edit, combine, and save documents in the desired format. The idea with a simple sheet-feed scanner like the Doxie Go X2 is that it takes less time and therefore you are more likely to use it and avoid paper overtaking your desk.

Before considering the Doxie Go X2, I had looked at much more expensive alternatives like the Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500, which retails for around $400 and the more comparable and affordable Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300i ($250 Amazon). When I bought my Doxie Go a year ago it was normally $200 ($188 at Amazon), but I found a sale online for $150 and took the plunge!

Since then Doxie has introduced two new models. The Doxie Go Plus and the Doxie Go Wi-Fi. The Go Plus ($178.48) is an updated version of the Doxie Go and scans faster and has longer battery life (3x) among a few upgraded features. The Doxie Go Wi-Fi ($225) ads integrated Wi-Fi so you no longer need a Wi-fi equipped SD card like the EyeFi.

Doxie Go - Rechargeable Mobile Document Scanner
Doxie Go - Rechargeable Mobile Document Scanner

Portable and battery operated. A scanner made to be mobile!

 
Boxie in a Box
Boxie in a Box | Source
The un-packed scanner
The un-packed scanner | Source

What you get with the Doxie Go X2

The Doxie Go X2 is a touted as a totally stand-alone scanner. That is somewhat true after the initial setup.

Realistically, you do need a computer in order to organize, group, combine, export, and perform OCR on documents using the Doxie software for Windows or OS X.

The unit contains a rechargeable battery, so you can scan on the road. This is potentially great for a business traveler or someone who works from different locations during the week.

It then saves the scanned documents in JPEG or other formats to an SD card or USB thumbdrive that you provide.

In the box

  • Doxie Go X2 portable sheetfeed scanner
  • USB cable for connecting the scanner to a computer
  • AC Adapter for charging the scanner
  • cheap microfiber sleeve to protect the scanner on the go
  • different AC adapter tips for other countries
  • scanner cleaning tool
  • photo scanning sleeve

Doxie unboxie

The Doxie Software

Doxie software showing an image being imported
Doxie software showing an image being imported | Source
Send options
Send options | Source
Save options
Save options | Source

How it works.

The process is relatively simple once the Doxie Go is charged.

To scan a document

  • Hold down the power button to turn on the device.
  • Place a document face up, level, and flat against the left side of the scanner.
  • The scanner will then make a noise and begin moving to feed the document through to be scanned.
  • The document will be pulled through and an image file will be created from the scan on the SD or flash drive you insert.
  • Once you are done, you can then plug the Doxie Go into a computer via the included USB cable or load the images from the memory card you provided.
  • Open the Doxie software and click the "Import" button at the top left.
  • A dialog will show it importing images from the device.

After import you can then

  • Edit the name of each scan.
  • Rotate scans for the best orientation.
  • Combine scans via the "staple" function. This lets you scan multiple pages and make one document.
  • After the scan is the correct orientation and document have been combined, you can then export to a PDF with OCR, a PNG and a few other formats.
  • You can also send the document to services such as Evernote, Google Drive, and Dropbox as well as to image editing applications on your computer like Photoshop and Paint.net for further editing.

Scanning is fast

Tips for using the Doxie Go

  • In order to reduce diagonal drift while scanning, you can use your right hand as a guide or the adjustable plastic tab on the scanner.
  • Sometimes it grabs a document and pulls it unevenly. In these cases, just try the scan again and you can delete the bad one.
  • For documents with bent edges, trimming one edge of the document can provide better results when scanning. I scanned an old cookbook from 1984 and cut off the binding side of the page so that each would scan better.
  • The Doxie Go can only scan one side of a page at a time, so it is not dull duplex. You can, however, simply feed the page through again on the other side.

Results

Scanned with Doxie Go X2
Scanned with Doxie Go X2 | Source
Scanned with Doxie Go X2
Scanned with Doxie Go X2 | Source
Scanned with Doxie Go X2
Scanned with Doxie Go X2 | Source

The good and the bad

Pros

  • Small
  • Portable
  • Lightweight
  • Much faster than scanning many documents on a flat-bed scanner
  • Works with a variety of sizes and shapes of documents. I tried receipts (even very long ones), business cards, letter size paper, cardstock, greeting cards, checks, and notebook paper of varying sizes. They all scanned well.
  • Exports to Evernote, Dropbox, Google Drive, and other services.

Cons

  • Has problems with documents with uneven edges.
  • Sometimes stutters and produces scans with smeared images.
  • The Doxie software is a bit too basic for me, but this is a matter of taste.
  • Problems with thick documents like construction paper.
  • Wifi integration via Eye-Fi is very basic and pretty cludgy as it does not actually integrate with the Eye-Fi and instead operates the same way a digital camera would.
  • Not the best for photographs. Results may be better with the included sleeve and settings to 600dpi. I'll stick with my flatbed scanner for photos for now.
  • It isn't extremely large, but the length results in a large chunk you need to Tetris into your backpack or laptop bag.
  • The scanner requires a power adapter to charge. It would be more convenient if you could charge over USB.

Conclusion

The Doxie Go X2 is a good portable scanner for reducing paper clutter in your home or office. It is reasonably priced and very easy to use. I recommend this for most scanning, except for thick documents, irregular shaped documents, or photographs.


The verdict

4 stars for Doxie Go X2

Specs

Item
Details
Resolution
300 and 600dpi selectable
Document size
3.5"x2" to 8.5x15”
File formats
PDF, JPEG, and PNG
Dimensions
0.5" x 1.7" x 2.2" (26.7 cm x 4.35 cm x 5.6 cm)
Weight
14.2 oz (403g)
Storage
Built-in for 450 pages + expansion
Battery
Lithium-ion (100 scans per charge, recharges in about 2 hours)
External Memory
SD card slot; USB flash drive port
Sourced from Doxie site. http://www.getdoxie.com/product/doxie-go/techspecs.html

Long term use update

I have had the Doxie Go x2 for a year now and I have to say, I like it even more than I did after I first began using it! The software has been updated a few times and is now more stable than a year ago.

The main thing (that is hard to say enough) is that it just makes it far easier to scan many small notes, documents, cards and such. It has been helpful to de-clutter my desk and drawers of miscellaneous notes on scraps of paper, receipts, and even scrapbook items.

Turn it on, scan the thing, dispose of the thing.

You can then organize and file the resulting images once or more often a week.

A program like Evernote is a great companion as well as Dropbox or other cloud sync services.

© 2014 zebtron

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Matthew Meyer profile imageAUTHOR

      zebtron 

      2 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      There is a Cyber Monday deal for Doxie scanners today 11/30/2015 http://www.getdoxie.com/store/index.php?utm_source...

    • Matthew Meyer profile imageAUTHOR

      zebtron 

      2 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      I really dig the model I have and the flatbed version likely fixes the one draw back with the other models, that they are not ideal for photos.

    • Glenn Stok profile image

      Glenn Stok 

      2 years ago from Long Island, NY

      This is a really cool device Matt. Doxie is great for people who need a portable scanner they can take anywhere. I looked at their various models on Amazon and I see that they have a flatbed scanner now that's also portable.

    • Matthew Meyer profile imageAUTHOR

      zebtron 

      3 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      The recipe pages I shared are pretty old and beat up (it was printed in 1984). A flatbed will work better with torn and wrinkled pages though as it doesn't have to feed the document through rollers. I have a flatbed scanner too. I pretty much only use it to scan super small things that you can't feed into the Doxie or photos and artwork as the Canon scanner I have does a better job with images. A flatbed isn't necessary for saving paper letters and receipts as you get them. I still do really like the Doxie and use it every few days!

    • TimArends profile image

      Timothy Arends 

      3 years ago from Chicago Region

      Nice thorough review. In the sample scans you show, it looks like the Doxie doesn't quite smooth out the various little wrinkles and puckers in the paper the way a flatbed (at least mine) does.

    • Raine Law Yuen profile image

      Raine Law Yuen 

      3 years ago from Cape Town

      Thanks for this wonderful review Matthew. I will keep this in mind.

    • MariaMontgomery profile image

      MariaMontgomery 

      3 years ago from Central Florida, USA

      Hi Matthew, I have been wanting a portable scanner for years. Don't know why I haven't bought one. You have provided some great information. Thanks.

    • Easy Exercise profile image

      Kelly A Burnett 

      3 years ago from United States

      Matthew,

      Great hub - wow even used the chart capsule to its fullest! Five stars!

    • Matthew Meyer profile imageAUTHOR

      zebtron 

      3 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      Just updated this Hub with current pricing and new models!

    • humzayunas profile image

      Malik humza 

      3 years ago from multan, Pakistan

      This scanner has really nice features.

    • Matthew Meyer profile imageAUTHOR

      zebtron 

      3 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      Glad to help! 9 month running with at least weekly use and it is still working like a champ!

    • TheWritingnag profile image

      Writing Nag 

      3 years ago from Colorado Springs, Colorado

      Thanks for this I've been looking for a small portable scanner and I appreciate the review.

    • Matthew Meyer profile imageAUTHOR

      zebtron 

      4 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      I just used this this morning as I do several times a week. It definitely helps keep paper clutter down. Get something new? Scan it and shred or recycle it!

      I scan everything to the device and then periodically offload all the images to my desktop. Then I rotate and combine them, then send it to Evernote.

      You can set it up to go directly to Evernote, but the resulting images may still need to be rotated and it is easier to do in the Doxie software than in Evernote.

    • EZ Swim Fitness profile image

      Kelly Kline Burnett 

      4 years ago from Southern Wisconsin

      Matthew,

      Oh, I am at war on the paper on my desk - can I ever use this! Was wondering about it. Great information! Thank you! Curious - do you email the EverNote over to your desktop for central filing?

    • Matthew Meyer profile imageAUTHOR

      zebtron 

      4 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      Thanks! It is a good scanner, just not ideal for photos. The good news is I don't have piles of paper that accumulate for me to scan!

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      4 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

      This is a very useful review, Matthew. I like the sound of this scanner, even though it's not perfect. Reducing paper clutter in my home is definitely something that I need to work on!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)