ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Technology»
  • Computers & Software»
  • Computer Buying Guides

HP G62 234DX Laptop Review

Updated on April 26, 2016

A few months ago I was looking for a new laptop to replace my Dell laptop which is about 5 years old. I wanted a PC that was mid range, around $500, something that would not be too expensive, yet not become outdated any time soon. After doing weeks of research online and trying out many different models in the stores, I decided on the HP G62-234DX laptop.

It was $499 at Best Buy and came with an Intel Core i3 processor and 4 gigs of memory. At $499 this is a great deal. You will be hard pressed to find a laptop with these stats for under $500 anywhere let alone a brand name computer with a high quality build. This must have been a promotional price because the day after I purchased the laptop, the price jumped up $200 to $699. In this review I will go over the hardware, performance, and usability of this model.

First Impressions

The HP G62-234DX comes in a nice black box with the HP logo. Inside, the materials are pretty minimal. You have the laptop, cables, and some basic instructions. Absent are a full user guide and documents as well as any discs for installed programs. Note that it does not come with a system restore disc, but it gives you instructions on how to create your own by using DVD-R's. The only other contents included are some advertisements for HP and related products.

Taking the laptop out, it appears fairly high quality. Slip the battery in, plug it in, and it is ready to go. The outside has a patterned "biscotti" color which is like a silver gold color. I like that the finish and keys are not glossy like so many other laptops out there these days. The screen however is glossy and shows reflections easily with dark colors. This took some getting used to since I came from a laptop that had a matte screen finish. Also I noticed that although this screen is 15.6 inches, the same size as my last laptop, it is considerably shorter and wider. I don't think this is an advantage given the fact that most web pages and content scroll vertically.

The keys have a boxy look and are arranged with function keys around the outside. The touch pad is integrated with the finish and the mouse buttons are a 1 button rocker style. There are plenty of outputs and inputs around the edges on the left and right sides of the base. So how does this hardware perform?

Setup and Start up

I turned on the HP G62 laptop and followed the on screen instructions. They are pretty basic and easy to follow. I did however run into some problems right off the bat. The setup froze about 10 minutes in and I had to do a ctrl-alt-delete to restart it. Not a good first impression, but after the restart, it was back on track. The performance right away was very slow and delayed. This was very discouraging, but I kept working with it. After taking care of all the basic setups and doing some tweaks to get better performance, the speed of the computer improved significantly. The sound of the fan is very quiet and the model does not get too hot.

Using the HP G62

I found Windows 7 to be fairly easy to use and customize to get the desired settings and performance from this laptop. The keys feel a bit cramped and putting the function buttons around the edges was not a good choice because it is easy to hit them accidentally when you are trying to get a shift or a backspace. The touch pad is nice and responsive. It has a scroll feature and can be turned on and off.

The sound quality is good for a mid range level laptop. The speakers themselves are not great, so you will probably want to use headphones or external speakers for music.  For the display, I found the screen to be rather short.  It does not display as much of the content as I would want when using programs like web browsers. The resolution can be set to 1366 X 768 but it would be nice to get the content smaller than this setting so more can be displayed.

One of the features I was most pleased with was the integrated web cam. It comes with a program that allows many features such as recording, taking pictures, and adding live effects. It even has surveillance features and automatic zoom and face track features. I spent about an hour just having fun with the different settings.

After using the laptop for about a week, I am satisfied with it but not blown away. The speed is pretty quick for most programs, but there are delays at times. Windows 7 makes it simple to find what you are looking for and get the most out of your computer. A few features need to be explained better both in the software and the hardware. I had to look online to figure out how to do some things.

Conclusion

If you are looking for a mid range laptop and you can find this model for $500, I would recommend it. It has one of the better looking hardware cases and actually looks similar to a Macbook Pro. It is easy to set up, but it will definitely help if you are good with computers and know how to delete pre-loaded programs and trial offers. Also, you will want to customize the settings on the computer in order to get better performance. This has been a review of the HP G62 234DX laptop.


Update: 8-4-13

I have been using the hp laptop every day for the past 2 years and it is still running strong. It still seems new. The only issue I have with it right now is the volume change function can be a little buggy when watching flash video such as Youtube. I have my browsers and flash up to date so I think it is an HP driver issue. Other than that, I have been very pleased with this computer.

Update: 7-26-15

5 years later and the laptop is still running well! I will probably keep it for a while longer and possibly upgrade when the next Windows comes out. Overall I have been pretty satisfied with the HP G62 laptop.

Update: 4-26-16

Lately the fan on the HP G62 has been running too high. I tried cleaning out the dust but the only way to do a good clean is by dissembling the whole computer which is much too difficult. I also looked for other solutions online, but it seems there is not much else that can be done. Overall the laptop is still good but I may have to look for an upgrade soon.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Alex 6 years ago

      Stay away from this model, or any other HP models.

      They will overheat, become as loud as freakin airplanes. NOT COOL!

      Call it personal experience -.-

      Pay 100 quid mode get a proper 17 inch Samsung! THAts quality!

    • sb1 profile image
      Author

      sb1 7 years ago

      I think it is enabled by default, but if not, I found this link which shows how to enable it or disable it in the bios: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=us&...

    • profile image

      Bray 7 years ago

      How do you the lock Function key(FN) key?

    • sb1 profile image
      Author

      sb1 7 years ago

      No bluetooth on this exact model, but similar models may have it.

    • profile image

      zainab 7 years ago

      is it having a bluetooth facility or not????

    • profile image

      ESHA 7 years ago

      3 MONTHS BACK WE PURCHASED DIS LAPTOP. ITS WORKING VERY NICE. WE R SATISFIED.

    • sb1 profile image
      Author

      sb1 7 years ago

      I have not noticed the fan being too loud or making too much noise. I would email hp and ask if a laptop cooler would help, or if they have any other ideas.

    • profile image

      salih1 7 years ago

      Well i have Bought My Hp g62laptop for about 2 weeks

      now and the worst problem is the Fan On the side It blows alot of air out and is too loud Will a Hp g62 laptop cooler help me

    • sb1 profile image
      Author

      sb1 7 years ago

      That would be nice if manufacturers sold computers with just the basic software you need. Unfortunately most of them come with trials and extra programs that are unnecessary.

    • profile image

      GLJ 7 years ago

      Why isn't there a one touch BS remove for the junk software and features a real PC user doesn't need.

    • sb1 profile image
      Author

      sb1 7 years ago

      Go to the Control Panel. Go to Programs and Features. From there, you can click on programs and uninstall them.

    • profile image

      king 7 years ago

      How do you delete the pre-loaded programs and trial offers?

    • profile image

      nbbatt.com 7 years ago from bear, de, 19701

      another useful info. by chance, I am looking for all product reviews. comparing all products.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)