ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Technology»
  • Computers & Software»
  • Computer Software

Kodak Play Sport Video Camera Review

Updated on August 25, 2016
Austinstar profile image

Lela earned a B.A. degree in Journalism from Sam Houston University in Huntsville, TX. She has been writing for the online world for years.

Kodak PlaySport Video Camera

Kodak Play Sport Video Camera
Kodak Play Sport Video Camera | Source

About the Kodak PlaySport Video Camera

The Kodak PlaySport is a very compact, yet powerful video recorder and camera. Although the quality is not up to par with professional equipment, this little video camera is easy to carry, simple to use and there are some really nice features.

The PlaySport is recommended for casual adventures where the goal is to have fun as well as capture friends and family activities for scrap books or YouTube. It is not recommended for wedding videography, indoor activities or low light situations. There is a reason it is named a PlaySport.

Teenagers and young adults are the perfect market for a PlaySport. Parents will love it because it is so lightweight and small that they can pull it out of a bag quickly and push two buttons to start a video of their active children. The video camera is perfect for the beach too.

Kodak PlaySport Demo Video

Photo Quality

Fully zoomed 5 MB photo with the Kodak PlaySport
Fully zoomed 5 MB photo with the Kodak PlaySport | Source
Two foot distance shot for detail with the Play Sport
Two foot distance shot for detail with the Play Sport | Source

Features of the Kodak PlaySport

Kodak packs an amazing amount of video and camera features into its 4x2x.5 inch size.

  • Weight of the PlaySport is only four and a half ounces
  • It's about the size of a cell phone and will fit in most cell phone cases
  • Turn it on and start taking videos with only one button
  • Can be set for video capture or camera only
  • Long battery life - about four and a half hours
  • Can be charged with the separate battery charger (included) or charged via the USB to computer cord (included)
  • Front textured grip makes it easy to hold and slip resistant
  • Five video effects for recording more interesting videos
  • It's water resistant to three meters (9.8 feet) with an underwater video correction setting to correct for distortion
  • 4x Digital zoom lens
  • Shock resistant to 5.5 feet or so
  • Dust resistant
  • Full 1080p HD video quality touted, but you need to be a good videographer to get that
  • SD slot for memory card up to 32GB
  • Two inch LCD viewing screen with a setting available for anti-glare
  • Auto focus lens
  • Standard tripod mounting hole on the bottom
  • Share settings - with a separate card
  • Handy wrist strap and well written, easy to follow user guide

Kodak PlaySport Video Editing Software

The first time your PlaySport is hooked up to your computer via the USB to camera cable, the Arc-Soft Media Impressions video editing software will automatically download to your computer.You must follow the prompts presented to successfully install the software, but it is easy and simple to do.

Familiarize yourself with the software by watching the Kodak Playsport 'How-To' Editing video in this hub. The software is easy to use and has most of the features of all video editing software like Window's Live (free) or CyberLink Power Director (about $50.00) or Corel VideoStudio Pro X5 (about $90.00).

Video editing software makes your videos look, feel and sound like professional videos. The Arc-Soft editor will make your videos lively and fun. It also provides a great conversion function to allow uploads to YouTube, FaceBook, and saving your video to your personal computer in a finished format.

The software is embedded into the Kodak PlaySport and will download to any computer you hook it up to. This makes it easy to use while on the go. With a few clicks of a mouse, you will be producing cool videos for your friends and family. Don't forget the funny pet videos!

Kodak Playsport 'How-To' Editing Video

Recommend This Camcorder - Based on the Review, How Many Stars Does it Rate?

5 out of 5 stars from 2 ratings of Kodak PlaySport Video Camera

© 2012 Lela

Comments - Do you do video?

Submit a Comment

  • Austinstar profile image
    Author

    Lela 5 years ago from Somewhere in the universe

    I hope you are writing for HubPages! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a nice comment.

  • viveresperando profile image

    viveresperando 5 years ago from A Place Where Nothing Is Real

    Nice review! I am looking for a camera to do pictures and videos for a blog so found this extremely helpful. :)

  • Austinstar profile image
    Author

    Lela 5 years ago from Somewhere in the universe

    So far, so good today (knocking on wood). This last attack only lasted four days but it was a doozy. I ordered a rolling chair to take to Mexico, but it's just too big and bulky. I can rent a scooter while there for $200, but it's the same problem, too big and bulky for practical use. I'm just going to have to find a place to sit often and take things very slowly.

    I'll stay in the water a lot. I'm a dolphin in the water :-)

    I've committed to having a deck built for my pool! They are starting Monday and I'm getting a hot tub for it in January I hope. Man, I need a hot tub so bad for all my aches and pains.

  • RealHousewife profile image

    Kelly Umphenour 5 years ago from St. Louis, MO

    The girls might like one of those! How cool is that? I've got a thing for cameras and picture taking you know?

    How's the gout? Ima cut your toe off if it hurts in Mexico:) lol

  • Austinstar profile image
    Author

    Lela 5 years ago from Somewhere in the universe

    I hope I get a contest win from this! I'll be trying all month though. Thanks to all for stopping by.

  • Metal Detectorist profile image

    Metal Detectorist 5 years ago

    The Kodak Playsport looks like a brilliant little camera. Thanks for laying out its pros and cons so clearly.

  • smga22 profile image

    smga22 5 years ago from Dhaka, Bangladesh

    Lots of good information in this article. Voted uP!

  • akirchner profile image

    Audrey Kirchner 5 years ago from Washington

    Yep--kinda makes ya crazy trying so hard to not have it work~ I'll probably end up doing the same--I haven't received an email yet either so will probably give it to this afternoon and bag it and go to Youtube.

  • Austinstar profile image
    Author

    Lela 5 years ago from Somewhere in the universe

    No one sent me an email. I give up on uploading to HP. I'll do through YouTube. I know that it is strongly encouraged in the AP program, but if they don't fix the problems with it, I won't use it again.

  • akirchner profile image

    Audrey Kirchner 5 years ago from Washington

    There you go--there is always an excuse for more camera "stuff" right??? But Bob--I have to have it!!! Especially now that there is a grandchild on the way...hmmm....that may work!

    Do you know if the video problem is fixed yet? I haven't had a chance to go try again for the millionth time--later today will try again.

  • Austinstar profile image
    Author

    Lela 5 years ago from Somewhere in the universe

    Well, at least the PlaySport is cheap!

  • akirchner profile image

    Audrey Kirchner 5 years ago from Washington

    Now you're just toying with me aren't you? Camera envy is a thing you know~ Looks awesome---I just seriously need to win the lottery!

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)