ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Micromax Canvas A120 Pro HD Review

Updated on April 25, 2013

If rumors are to be believed, we are in for a really huge surprise from Micromax. The successor of the highly acclaimed A116 Canvas HD is going to be up for sales within 2 weeks or so. It is called the Micromax A120 Canvas Pro HD. Many sites have put it up in their mobile listing (as coming soon) but the price is not yet disclosed. So before the phone releases I thought I will do a complete review of its specifications and help you decide whether to buy it or not. All your suggestions and feedback in the form of comments are welcome. The Canvas HD was hugely successful due to its HD display at a very affordable price. The phone was out of stock within 30 minutes of putting it up for sale (2000 units were sold within 30 minutes). We are hoping the Canvas A120 will do the same on a larger scale. So let’s get to the review now.

Canvas A120 Pro HD
Canvas A120 Pro HD

Looks:

According to the images that I’ve got, the Canvas A120 looks stunning. The sleek long body is a sight to behold. At the front there is the earpiece at the top and there are three touch capacitative buttons. Behind we have the camera along with the LED flash and the Micromax logo. The phone looks similar to the Canvas HD but it is bigger and better. All in all I would give the Micromax A120 Pro HD 4.5/5.

Canvas A120 Pro HD Concept
Canvas A120 Pro HD Concept

Hardware:

This is something that shook me all over. The hardware inside this phone is too good to be true. And I keep asking myself whether this is all true. Starting from the processor till the RAM, everything is just too good. I’ll start off with the processor. Canvas Pro HD has a Cortex-A7 quad-core processor clocked at a humongous 2 GHz clock speed. This is sure to give you snappy performance. The processor is from MediaTek. The GPU is supposedly from the PowerVR5 XT series and it is one of the best in this class. It has other features glued to it like hyper threading. I am hoping that the phone will have 8 GB of internal memory which can be expanded up to 64 GB via microSD. And last but not the least, the RAM. It comes with 2 GB of RAM. The phone has all the other features like Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 4.0 and GPS. The configuration of this phone is way more superior to my PC. My PC only has a dual core processor and 2 GB of RAM. It’s kind of funny to think that smartphones will overtake the computers in the years to come.

Rate the phone yourself!!!

5 out of 5 stars from 13 ratings of Micromax Canvas A120 Pro HD

Display:

Another milestone for Micromax is the display of this phone. The Canvas A120 Pro HD comes with a full HD display as seen on the HTC Butterfly. The screen is 5.5 inches big and is similar in size to the Galaxy Note. The resolution is 1920x1080 pixels which means that you will be getting a pixel density of almost 401 pixels per inch. This means that whatever is up on the screen will be bright and crisp, be it videos, games or images.

Camera:

If I say that this is another milestone, you may be thinking that I’m mad. But what else am I supposed to do if Micromax has put in all the best parts into this phone. The Canvas Pro HD has a 13 megapixel shooter behind it. Yes, you heard me right, 13 megapixels. This comes in with dual-LED flash and also the capability of recording full-HD videos at 30 frames per second. At the front we also have a 3.2 megapixel camera which take great quality pictures and can be used for video calling also.

Battery:

The Canvas Pro HD comes with the biggest battery that I’ve heard of. It has a 3000 mAh battery under its hood and I think it is a wise decision by Micromax because this battery is more than sufficient to handle the full-HD display, 2 gigs of RAM and the 13 megapixel shooter.

Verdict:

Do you even need a verdict? I would buy this phone at any time of the day without any questions asked. This is mainly because of the great features that are put into this phone at the price we all want. That is the biggest plus point of Micromax. They put in all this great hardware and their policy is to make it available for the middle-class people. All of us cannot buy and HTC Butterfly, so for us Micromax Canvas A120 Pro HD is surely a winner.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • goodnews11 profile image

      OSBERT JOEL C 

      4 years ago from CHENNAI

      I m planning to buy one...

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      People, Micromax has released Canvas 4. Check out their official website. Even though the specs of the phone are a little inferior compared to this one, it is an awesome phone.

    • profile image

      SHERIAZ 

      5 years ago

      This phone does not need any reivew, just please tell me when it will be available.i am sure micromax is not disclosing this things on his official website because micromax does not want to disturb the sale of A116 HD.

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Thank you sunilkunnoth2012 for the feedback. The price is expected to be below Rs.20,000.

    • sunilkunnoth2012 profile image

      Sunil Kumar Kunnoth 

      5 years ago from Calicut (Kozhikode, South India)

      Dear, what is the price please?

    • john000 profile image

      John R Wilsdon 

      5 years ago from Superior, Arizona

      Oh, I see. I misread. Thanks for the correction. And, it is a phone. So many devices!

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Thanks johnooo. I was not saying that this phone is faster than my PC. I just said that it has a superior configuration.

    • john000 profile image

      John R Wilsdon 

      5 years ago from Superior, Arizona

      I agree that these devices are becoming incredible. I too have a dual core PC. Are you telling me that little tablet can process faster than mine? I guess so. It is great to see a tablet priced reasonably with all of the particulars. I look forward to seeing a tablet of this quality and price in the states. Good review. Voted up.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)